This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Cornwall

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

A fantastic adventure

Namibia between 30 Oct 2014 and 17 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is a beautiful country which deserves to be visited by more British tourists.

Our trip exceeded our high expectations and Expert Africa were extremely helpful when we were fine tuning our itinerary and were very professional in the way they dealt with a problem we had at Hoodia. We hope that you will take our comments about Sinclair Guest Farm on board.

Thank you for helping to make our trip so memorable."

Galton House

Galton House

"Perfect stopover"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"Whilst not luxurious Galton House was good value and provided everything that we needed for our first and last nights in Namibia.

The staff were helpful and professional and were flexible providing us with a light evening meal on arrival and the sandwiches we fancied on our last night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"An unexpected gem"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"We loved this lodge in a beautiful location, the sundowner walk, an excellent dinner under the stars and the early morning walk with Petros."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Gateway to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2014
"This camp met our needs to explore Etosha and whilst perfectly nice didn't light our fire.

Our tip would be not to bother with a guide because Etosha is totally accessible by self drive and the guide can't take you anywhere that you can't go yourself."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Beautiful camp in beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"A remote yet fantastic location right in the bush. Watching a female white rhino and her calf at the waterhole whilst having dinner was a magical experience only topped by watching a pride of ten lions including a lioness feeding her four cubs.

This camp ticked all our boxes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Sleeping under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"Doro Nawas was a revelation. Being able to wheel our huge bed out onto the balcony and sleep under the stars was an incredible experience not to be missed.

The excursion down the dry riverbed in a four wheel drive landrover was an adventure in itself and finding elephants was the icing on the cake. We would have liked another night here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"We knew this accommodation was going to be basic however the location on the Skeleton Coast made it all worthwhile. Our trip here fulfilled a long held childhood dream.

The drive from Damaraland to Terrace Bay was spectacular as was the subsequent drive to Swakopmund along the Skeleton Coast and we are so pleased we included it in our itinerary. Cape Cross to see the seals is a must."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Seaside Comfort"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"This comfortable guest house is ideally situated to explore Swakopmund on foot.

The owners were very helpful and managed to book tables at The Jetty and The Tug restaurants even though it was the weekend. Tip if you want to shop avoid the weekend as most shops close by Saturday lunchtime. The museum is worth a visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Lovely lodge in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"A stylish lodge in a beautiful location. We took the guided trip to Sossusvlei which was amazing.

Our charming guide was very knowledgeable about the unusual wildlife and holding the web of a white lady spider that he had dug up from the sand was incredible. A visit to the largest sand dunes in the world and the dead vlei is not to be missed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A big disappointment"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2014
"The quality of this accommodation was a real disappointment and the worst we had during our eighteen days in Namibia. The room looked as if it hadn't been upgraded since the sixties and was very basic. We didn't receive much of a welcome when we arrived and dinner was poor.

We felt that the owner had lost interest and was just going through the motions. We had coffee at the small hotel in Helmeringhausen and wished we had used that as an overnight stop on our way to Fish River Canyon"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Lodge in breathtaking location"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"This lodge is in a stunning location that takes your breath away and was one of the highlights of our trip.

We chose not to do the guided tour having spent the previous day in the car and did one of the recommended walks around the rim of the canyon and are so pleased that we did."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"We had a dune room which was beautiful and in a stunning location.

However we felt this was the most commercial of the places that we had stayed in and the attitude of some of the staff was noticeably worse than we had come to expect during our trip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2014
"As before [Ed: see below]"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team