This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

193 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

39% success

Oryx

79% success

Eland

72% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Giraffe

50% success

White Rhino

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Meerkat

32% success

Aardvark

16% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 193
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G & Ms B
Hove

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2022
"We only stayed one night here, but could have happily stayed another night.

The desert chalet we had was well designed with a lovely view.

The game drive was decent enough but it was made by seeing the cheetahs close up at the end." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2022
"You know you’re in Africa when you arrive in the car park and there’s an ostrich there!

We were in a dune chalet which had lovely comfy chairs on the decking where we could sit and watch the wildlife both at the water hole it overlooked and the kudu wandering past eating the bushes.

The main building has one of the best shops we came across with plenty of variety of both souvenirs and more practical items such as hats for sun protection.
There was a barbecue the night we stayed with a good variety including 3 different meats which were all very tasty.

We did the cheetah feeding which is you in the back of a truck watching the guides get out and feed the cheetahs (who cannot be released into the wild) & it was both informative and a good way to see these beautiful animals up close." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2022
"The room we had here was lovely, but overall the ranch was a bit of a theme park.

Concern for the welfare of the oryx with cropped horns who was in the car park when we arrived." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr P.
Vienna

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2022
"This was meant to be just a convenient stop-over between Aus and Windhoek, but turned out to be a very positive surprise!

Our chalet (Desert Dune One) was superb, spacious and with all amenities you could imagine, including even a deep claw-foot bath tub with a view over the bush and a waterhole. The main building was large too and there were animals: an oryx, a kudu and some springbok that came right into the premises by the swimming pool! Dinner was three-course and quite formal, but very nice indeed; though it was very busy with every seat occupied (including some people wildly coughing away behind us), so we relocated to the lounge area with our desert as soon as it arrived.

We didn’t have any activities pre-booked but were lucky to get two places on the cheetah-feeding and sundowner tour. This was really excellent, again better than expected and a very nice final wildlife activity before our last stop in Windhoek.

Glad we had this place included – it certainly is much more than a “Bagatelle” (something trivial). Here we thought we could have had an extra night – and pre-booked extra activities. Maybe next time." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Herne Bay

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2022
"We arrived in the dark at Bagatelle Game Ranch due to delays getting through immigration at the airport, but we were warmly welcomed and went into the dining room for a delicious three course dinner.

All the staff at Bagatelle were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We booked a morning game drive for the next morning which was excellent.

We would have liked to spend an extra night here." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Jonathan
Toulouse

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"We had rooms near the pool but there were other rooms further from the hotel reception with probably better views of the game reserve.

Nice pool, great bar, very friendly staff, great location set in its own little game reserve with plenty of animals walking around. Evening meal was superb and a good breakfast. Quite a long drive from the main road. One room had no window but the other had a view out into the reserve." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Meerkat

10 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Mrs C
Barbados

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2022
"Excellent stay - far better facilities than expected - large tent with A/C, kettle hairdryer bath etc a/c was in our case was needed on “warm” and was a welcome surprise when we arrived at sunset in the cool winter evening.

Golf buggie with luggage up to room and dune chalet worth the extra as the view was spectacular.

Dinner was excellent too …. Wished we had stayed two nights" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Sightings Report

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mr and Mrs J
Ludlow

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2022
"Our very first experience of hospitality in Namibia. Everything went well.

The standard was good. Everybody was charming. The room was lovely.

We only stayed one night and didn’t see any wildlife, but we saw our first African sunset. So colourful!" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr J.
Makati

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2022
"Too commercial and impersonal. Few animals off in distance only.

Pet, trained rhino seemed sad. Cheetah "show" also sad. Nice scenery only." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr and Mrs G
London

"More than just a stopover"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2022
"Bagatelle makes an obvious stopover destination when travelling south of WIndhoek and one night is probably enough, but it really beat expectations.

The staff were superb, the game drive exceeded expectations, as did the dinner. There is decent game viewing here, including two white rhino, although these are habituated to people to the point of being tame rather than wild." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 193
90%
193 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
116
63
11
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (60 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A good stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon, Kalahari Red Dunes is set around a dry lake on a private reserve, with excellent walking opportunities.


93% (40 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (40 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


88% (13 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


88% (8 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


90% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (2 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa