This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kalahari Bush Breaks
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks


22°20’10.0"S 19°45’8.2"E

Reviews of Kalahari Bush Breaks

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Bush Breaks and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Lovely homely feel"

1 night Arrived 30 Dec 2017
"Although the owner was away, our host made us most welcome, was friendly & eager to please.

We had a beautifully designed room with a lovely verandah where we could sit & watch the game very close by & enjoy a sundowner.

The grounds were attractively maintained with lovely flowers & water features - a very pretty place.

The reception & open plan dining area with lovely wood tables was a delight to sit in. " See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"Good stopover prior to dropping car off

" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Kalahari Bush Breaks : genuine and friendly"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2013
"We reached KBB just after lunch time, directly from Maun, Botswana. We had planned to re-fuel our car still in Botswana (€0,40 / litre less), but the Charles Hill Engen garage just before the Mamuno border was out of petrol. Obviously everyone does it!. So, on future trips we may re-fuel at the newer Shell station, just after the A3/A2 turnoff, which apparently was full of petrol but no cars!

After checking in, Mrs. Barnard was very kind in arranging us some homemade biltong sandwiches , which tasted marvelously. At the end we even bought from her some homemade biltong.

The Lodge/ Guesthouse, is on a tranquil spot, and the service was attentive and friendly." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Dorking

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"Ideal for last night - clean and comfortable." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr DS
Surrey

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"A relaxing place to spend our last night - wonderful for star-gazing!

No activities as such were offered, but the dogs were entertaining (T-bone accompanied us on a short bush walk!), and nothing at all to complain about." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"ok for an overnight stop would not want any longer here. room was a bit tired and in need of upgrade. food was good. staff friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2011
"The lodge was easy to find and access and the owners and staff very welcoming. We were the only patrons.

The lodge and rooms are superb. The food was very good and there were soome good animal and bird sightings around. (Warthog, kudu and impala at the water hole) Impala outside the room window in the morning. It was sad we only had one night there." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Great overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Well run family establishment with two ,labrador dogs. We had a comfortable semi-detached chalet with bath. One of our best dinners with a whole kudu fillet and similar oryx cooked medium rare on braai before slicing.

Activities limited to viewing various antelope and zebra from 4WD or walking on well mapped and waymarked paths (which suited us). An excellent overnight stop on the B6 road. Not enough activities for two nights but perhaps worth arriving early or staying late the next morning." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
5 friends
Amsterdam

"Mixed feelings about Kalahari Bush Breaks"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"The room was beautifully furnished, but tea facilities would have been nice. The service was mostly polite, sometimes friendly, but sometimes rude. It seemed like the owner's experience with some previous guests influenced her reactions to current ones. Perhaps that's the consequence of people never staying for more than one night, so she never gets to know her guests properly.

We would have appreciated knowing beforehand that it is a game farm. This was the only game drive we went on where the animals ran off quickly when they spotted the jeep!

It was a very different 'food experience' to any of the previous lodges. It was also the only one that didn't serve bread or an hors d'oeuvre. They would have preferred it if we hadn't wanted a second helping from the buffet. And they got rather annoyed when it turned out that we wanted breakfast at a different time to what she thought we had said the day before. So our punishment was yoghurts over the use-by date in our packed lunch for on the way to the airport!

Although it was in pleasant surroundings, we may have enjoyed an overnight stay in Windhoek just as much. After all, the distance from Ghanzi to Windhoek wasn't all that long." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Very pleasant intermediate stop-off"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Overall an agreeable lodge.We appreciated the private patio at the rear of the chalet, which also allowed a very personal viewing of animals visiting the waterhole. The food was first class although, as a vegetarian, I was disappointed that there was no alternative to the chicken dinner on the second night.

On the game drive,we were rather discontented that, in the rear of the vehicle, we were unable to hear the driver's comments. We were fortunate that the other passengers, a Dutch couple, relayed the dialogue to us.

We both felt that the owner, Barney,(?) really did not want to be involved with the guests." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 16
83%
16 reviews of Kalahari Bush Breaks by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
9
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa