This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge


24°5’26.6"S 17°38’47.5"E

Reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Red Dunes and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Red Dunes.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wildebeest

85% success

Zebra

69% success

Eland

67% success

Giraffe

58% success

Oryx

58% success

Meerkat

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
MarVil
South Africa

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2024
"Can’t praise this lodge enough!

Might be our favorite of the trip! From the staff to the luxury accommodation to the best food and service - we felt so welcomed and it was truly top tier in every way!

Saw lots of annimals too!

Our only regret it that we didn’t stay here longer!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

M and D
France

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2024
"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodges was both a convenient and pleasant stop on our way from Windhoek to Sesriem.

Staff is welcoming, enthusiastic, attentive.

Our bedroom was very spacious, clean comfortable and nicely furnished. Decoration is made in an attentive manner, however sometimes in a bit of a surprising manner.
Food is good and well presented, with some strange associations of ingredients.

We did 2 of the self-guided walks suggested by the lodge. Both were very well sign-posted. We however found that the walks lacked interest - little wildlife to be seen, and not much from the landscapes. We did not take part in other activities (fat bike tours, driving tour, etc)." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs N
Cheshire

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2024
"Amazing service.

Exceeded our expectations completely, highlight was giraffes wondering past our hut to the watering hole." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Apr 2024
"On the road: Amazing new(?) shopping mall outside Rehoboth with supermarket, bottle store and clothes shops

Upsides:
Lovely room, very spacious. We were put in a standard room and then moved shortly afterwards to a Superior Suite (their mistake I think, rather than an upgrade!)

Downsides: not really a downside but the staff do like to spend a long time going through the registration/orientation process. The more lodges we stayed at the more we realised this is standard practice (and often for your safety) so you have to be patient as a Westerner in a hurry, and just go with it and not expect to be in your room within 5 minutes of arrival like you would be in a European hotel

Lots of funky lighting in the bedroom but all very dim. Again we realised that this was standard practice and bright lighting is not desirable for lots of reasons. However, one bright reading light next to an armchair would be really appreciated. Often the one bright light was by the bed - not helpful for reading the map!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Flying Dutchmen
NL

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2024
"In 2019 this was our first stop after Windhoek. The chalets have had a major upgrade since on the inside; much more a 'safari' feeling (e.g. canvas walls). Very good bed, nice decorations and interior.

Food during diner was a bit disappointing. My fish took ages to prepare and when it finally was served it was awful: cold and even a bit frozen. Terrible." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr and Mrs M
Scotland

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2023
"Easily accessed a few kilometres of the main B2 road. The rooms were fairly recently built with high quality finishes which felt quite opulent.

The food here was outstanding - dinner was presented gourmet style and staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The walking trails around the lodge allowed us to get close to zebras, wildebeest and giraffes.

excellent two night stay here - would highly recommend" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Jane U
London

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2023
"This is a beautiful lodge, rooms spacious and luxuriously appointed, and very comfortable. Air conditioning was not powerful enough, though, and that was a problem in the December heat. The staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful, but not particularly knowledgeable or, I felt, very well trained. As an example, although the lodge was virtually empty in early December I was asked to move all my things out of my room, and to move my car, while I went off for a 24-hour guided hike (run by the lodge), only to move back into the same room a day later. A different person on front-of-house told me later that I should not have bothered packing my things - but I had been asked to. Some aspects of the design of the accommodation were a little odd, such as the fact that the bathroom window was directly opposite reception and, I was told, visible from reception... which made me wonder why it had been built like that. I felt that this lodge needed to be managed." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr N
United Kingdom

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2023
"Good.

Again, we had a bat in our room on the last night, which was annoying!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs W
Bath

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2023
"We stopped over here one night on the way back to Windhoek. It was very acceptable stop.

The rooms were spacious with a bedroom and adjacent living area. A nice bonus was the mini bar whose contents were included in the room rate. Some of the design choices were a little incongruous and seemed out of place in an African lodge e.g. the navy velvet and gold crescent sofa, the black and gold tiles in the bathroom (which also had appallingly dim lighting). Also, we didn’t understand the purpose of the outdoor shower which had no privacy.

There are attractive communal areas although again some of the furnishing choices seem out of place. The restaurant menu was very ambitious with a menu of 5 courses, including amuse bouche and a palate cleanser, but I think they managed to pull it off and we enjoyed the food. Lots of very well price wine on offer." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs A
Kent

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2023
"Slightly corporate feel. The room was luxurious and exceptionally comfortable. We had a marvellous view out of the picture windows. We liked being able to walk along the trails." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 52
91%
52 reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (198 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (69 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (60 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


90% (48 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


89% (14 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


86% (10 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


88% (5 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa