This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge


24°5’26.6"S 17°38’47.5"E

Reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Red Dunes and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Red Dunes.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wildebeest

94% success

Eland

86% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

73% success

Giraffe

71% success

Meerkat

55% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R & V
ASCOT

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2020
"This is a nice lodge with large, rustic rooms overlooking a water hole which encourages some resident wildlife to make an appearance, plenty of bird life too. The rooms really are large, ours had 2 inside showers AND an outside one too ! Very comfortable with aircon which is essential given the large glass windows.

We did the Trans-Kalahari trek. This sounds a grand affair but its really a Trek around the (10,000 acre) property in a kind of zigzag direction to make the mileage. It does give you a nice insight into the terrain and we did see some wildlife. Our guide, Phillomon (Sp ?) was very good in pointing out all sorts of desert flora and insects etc. There were many yellow flowers out too and it was nice to walk in the cool of the morning, though this does give way to extreme heat approaching the middle of the day.

We did +/- 18 km, it finished at the bush camp, which is very comfortable, even with a plunge pool which is v cold. The guide and a cook put together a really nice braai and it was fabulous to eat out in this way. Both guys talked about the bush and Namibia and we all enjoyed their company.

The rooms were very comfortable, but they were very, very hot ! the blanket/duvet is completely unnecessary, only really needs a cotton sheet. There isn't aircon or a ceiling fan, I opened some windows slightly to encourage a draught, but it was only any good when I cracked open the door a bit, which the next morning I learned I should NOT have done, as some insects/reptiles may want to come in and join us ! SO this IS a problem here. It was too hot for us to sleep properly, despite being tired after our trek. If you can't open the door and / or windows (later in the night I killed 3 or 4 mozzies so that was frustrating too) the camp owners need to consider how to make this work more efficiently. The windows need a fine gauze to allow a draught but to keep out even the smallest of insects. Not sure about how to modify the doors, but they need a large gauze panel with perhaps a drop down flap secured by velcro, again to keep out unwanted insects and reptiles but to allow the lovely breeze in, that does indeed blow at night and would have transformed our experience. Its all doo-able, Ive seen it in other camps. Kulala do it well in the Namib in their rooms.

In short, we loved the whole thing except the hot room. If we did it again, we'd just stay in our nice cool room ( # 5 Springbok) and get up early for an early morning walk and forget the sleep over in the bush camp. BUT, if they made the mods, this would be even better and quite special, please consider it Red Dune Lodge owners.......

I put 'Good' on the room grade which really doesn't take into account our pretty much sleepless night in the bush camp.
Food was ok, no choice, and no vegetarian option, given the increasing amount of people moving away from meat, this should be
a consideration, even if the dish is the same, just without the meat !" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Great stop over to end our adventure"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2020
"A surprising accommodation out in the dessert - lovely and comfortable. We loved having the option of the outdoor shower.

There were plenty of animals that visited the waterhole, it was wonderful to see them from our room/the dining area/pool etcetera. We enjoyed the friendly service and delicious meals. When my husband said that he was not keen on duck, the staff offered game meat. When I heard that it was oryx, I inquired whether I could have that also, they were very obliging. The food was excellent - well presented and tasty. The portions were great - not too large.

It was handy having the Curio shop there for those last minute souvenirs." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Greg's group
Regina

"Great Staff!! Thank you! "

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"This is a beautiful place. Our rooms were unique, attractive, comfortable and well laid out. We enjoyed the friendly staff, and took a sundowner drive for wildlife viewing and a beautiful sunset location. Dinner and breakfast were very good, and the wait staff did well with our individual particular selections.

** We had vehicle issues on our way to the airport and the Mgment send a vehicle and driver to rescue us - enabling us to get to the airport without missing our flights. A Huge thank you to Chaimberlain, and to the Management at Red Dunes - we very much appreciate the extra efforts provided to us, and will highly recommend the lodge for such great customer service!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Pleasant for a stop-over"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Chalets are very comfortable, particularly as we were upgraded to the "honeymoon suite". This comes with its own private pool, which caused us some angst considering the prevalent drought conditions, but not enough to stop us enjoying it. The chalets are well spaced, which gives good privacy, but be prepared for quite a long walk to the central dining area.

When we arrived we were told that the evening drives were already full. This wasn't really an issue for us, but corroborates EA comments on the site. Instead, we chose to follow the 1 hour ("Red Dam") walk, where we saw Wildebeest, Zebra and Oryx at the dam. In places the trail was not well marked, and we ended up navigating by dead reckoning.

The staff are very pleasant, but slightly less personal than at some of the smaller lodges we stayed at later. Food was very good, with a good wine list. Overall, a pleasant place to spend a night, but with a rather artificial feel, not a lodge that we would want to stay longer at." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"Amazing room.

The restaurant was average but adequate. Generally good service" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

4 sightings

Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"A nice stop "

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Nice individual chalet with an outdoor sitting place. comfortable and well run." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Mr L
Leicestershire

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"Wonderful place, luxurious rooms and amenities." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs C.
Blauzac

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2019
"Excellent and spacious room, like all the lodges we stayed in the lighting in the bathroom was very poor.

Good food with the fire lit in the evening. We arrived just 10 mins prior to the departure of the sundowner, but we were able to join.

Our gluten free diet was respected." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Great stay and Trans Kalahari Walk "

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"A very enjoyable stay with very comfortable accommodation in a private reserve with many antelope. The 16 km walk feels like an achievement across the desert and is worth it for the lovely Dunes camp overnight but the game viewing on the walk is modest.

We did see our first Aardwolf on the evening drive! Like many Namibian lodges, the main course tends to be red meat/ game and there is no choice. We asked for an alternative but didn’t get a response at the table, so beware, you need to request the dinner menu at check in." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs E & family
UK

"Beautiful lodges and friendly staff"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"We were blown away by the tented lodges at Kalahari Red Dunes lodge.

The attention to detail was evident. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

The free mountain bikes and trails were much enjoyed by my husband and kids." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 40
93%
40 reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
13
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa