This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Namtib Desert Lodge
Namtib Desert Lodge
Namtib Desert Lodge

Reviews of Namtib Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Namtib Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Namtib Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Namtib Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"A good place for a stop over

Somewhat authoritarian
eg You will start dinner when we are all ready as a single group" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

A and A
Cossington

"Intimate friendly lodge"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"Namtib Desert lodge is in a good location on a clockwise tour from fish River heading north.

There's a very warm welcome, a sundowner spot, and a friendly dinner and breakfast.

The stand out element of the typical lodge 'package' was the dinner around a single big table with our hosts." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
D & P
Lavenham

"A delightfully shelled and friendly place"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"Super spot for one night. Lizards, butterflies, biirds. A large and friendly pig!

Great for walks.

Quite remote, Without a 4 wheel drive, we would have have had to retrace our steps for quite a long way.

Nice family atmosphere!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Surrey

"A farm without animals !"

1 night Arrived 16 Apr 2017
"In the middle of nowhere ! The drive to & from is as scenic as the guide books say - well worth the effort of getting here !

Run by Namibian couple - should be a farm - but they sold all their animals in 2014 because just not enough rain to sustain them. Now all they have is a few oryx. A very isolated existence. It was nice having the communal meal (just 5 other guests) - to chat to the other guests & learn about the life from our hosts - very good food too.

Rooms adequate - although lack of fans & A/C could be an issue when really hot. Lots of scope for hiking - tho we arrived late & had to leave fairly early for Luderitz as at this point we had no spare tyre - due to major blow-out - so had to take it really slowly (finally got new tyre in Keetmansloop - some 500 kilometres later - quite an anxious time!!)" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Miss A
Okehampton

"Candlelit dinner at Namtib"

1 night Arrived 21 Feb 2017
"A great place for a night's stop- and a memorable, candlelit dinner with delightful hosts.

A small bar area up in a rocky outcrop is perfect for a sundowner... very relaxing." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
P & S
Pickering

"Namtib Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Dec 2016
"The lodge could be described as a wilderness lodge! quite a way from Aus the nearest town. We had a lovely welcome, dinner was excellent, very friendly and helpful hosts.

From C13 junction the D707 is quite poor with sandy patches north of Nantib access track. I recommend that a backtrack to C13 is advised.

No activities." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Namtib Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Although a difficult place to reach on very sandy roads in and out, this Lodge is very much worth the visit. The family who owns it are very knowledgable and helpful They have built self guided nature walks to allow you to explore their huge ranch with an extensive printed guide to help you get the most out of it.

The setting is beautiful and they try to run this as greenly as possible. The candlelit family-style dinner was wonderful, with the whole family mingling in several languages with all the guests. the rooms are very comfortable and provide all that is needed.

They did not offer any game drives as we were led to believe but for an overnight stay the walks were enough." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr H
Michigan

"Namtib Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Namtib Desert Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2014
"They say they are an Eco lodge but when we were there they had no game drives in operation. The only activity available was a self guided botanical walking trail, which was interesting, but not necessarily what we expected. We arrived just after 1pm and we weren't asked whether we had eaten any lunch which I thought was a bit off.

Apparently there are lots of interesting animals around, they just don't seem to do anything that allows there guests to see them, which we found very strange given that they brand themselves as an Eco lodge. The food is ok but nothing special and compares poorly to some of the other lodges we stayed on our trip. On the plus side when we arrived we had had a puncture on the drive up to the lodge and they were very helpful and made a couple of phone calls for us which we appreciated. Do be aware that the rooms are pretty basic with no fans or air con.

You have to walk through an outdoor courtyard to get to the bathroom, which can be a bit off putting if you need to use the loo in the middle of the night." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr B
Suffolk

"Namtib Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"We arrived in a thunderstorm and the owners had to help with a fire on the neighbouring land but the hospitality was barely compromised.The weather conditions meant we could not explore the environs as much as we would have liked but it was very interesting to stay on a working farm and learn a little of what goes on. It is a beautiful spot with a nice atmosphere.

The well marked botanical walk was a joy to follow in the morning before a wholesome breakfast. The homely dinner was both delicious and nutritious. In view of the weather the unattached bathroom (with an uncovered courtyard in between it and the bedroom) was a bit impracital!

We would be very happy to stay again and see and do more. The owners are friendly and enthusiastic" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 11
87%
11 reviews of Namtib Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa