This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Reviews of Kalahari Anib Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Anib Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Anib Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Meerkat

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Greeted by ostrich and eland as we parked!"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"We arrived early but were well taken care of. Able to have a drink while waiting for our room then later on we were helped with taking our luggage to the room. The room was clean and spacious and comfortable and had a great view of one of the watering holes where we saw oryx feeding the next morning. How exciting!

We enjoyed the walking trails on the property which were easy to follow. Our first sundowner drive was marvelous, seeing wildlife along the way and ending with drinks and snacks while watching the sun set.

The buffet meals offered good variety of choices.

Lovely gift shop." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

4 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Peter
Stockton

"Great overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"We spent one night at Kalahari Anib Lodge on our drive from Windhoek to the Fish River Lodge. It was welcoming and fun.

Our room was small, but clean and artfully decorated. Grounds were well kept, including pool, and wildlife have free run of the grounds, which is really enjoyable. Our room had outdoor seating with a view of the grounds and pool.

We enjoyed the evening game drive and sundowner. We saw lots of animals, some we had never seen before. The Kalahari was in bloom and beautiful at the time of our visit near the end of September. We enjoyed lunch and dinner on the patio and enjoyed the campfire after dinner.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr D & Prof H
UK

"Excellent - much better than expected!"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"As this is a relatively large lodge we were expecting to see lots of large groups and to feel fairly anonymous. This wasn't the case at all.

The lodge has a nice, pleasant atmosphere and recent refurbishments have given it a stylish air. The restaurant is particularly well designed and the food was very good.

We went on a sundowner game drive which was excellent value for money. The reception was efficient and the shop was very well stocked with some high quality items.

We'd definitely return." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Nice stopover"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"Nice, spacious chalet with a lovely view of the surrounding bush.

Service was very friendly, nice with the kids as well. Good food." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Far better than anticipated"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2017
"I had the idea that we'd be going to a roadside hotel, comfortable enough, but unremarkable. ...Actually it was much better than that. It's a couple of kilometres off the road and through the bush (with some game). Reception is smart and airy. Someone deals with the suitcases. Externally the rooms form an unexciting block, but each one is well planned with a comfortable, shaded outside area in which to lounge. The swimming pool is close-by.

The restaurant seems well run - and whilst there is a buffet, it is of a very good and fresh quality, both for dinner and breakfast. Service is good.

The whole place seemed well run and made for a good stop-over.." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Very good last stop "

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"Very good location on the edge of the Kalahari but close to a main road to Windhoek for the flight home.

Large camp with good facilities, clean, comfortable and large rooms. Ours had a view of the waterhole thanks to an unexplained upgrade. Lovely sunset behind the small group of Eland.

The buffet meals were excellent, using produce sourced from the lodge's sister organisation's farm." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Australia

"Great overnight stop at Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Apr 2017
"Very nice comfortable lodge with a walking track, good restaurant, lovely shop, room was quiet and spacious, slept really well." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Surrey

"Large modern lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2017
"We had been warned that this was a large lodge which could be filled with groups but were pleasantly surprised. It was busy but seemed large enough to cope. Some rooms were around the main pool , others (where we were) were a little further away and overlooked a (now dry) waterhole. 2 pools - but slightly too cool for us to swim ! The room was spacious tho lacked tables to put stuff & easy chairs !

The food, tho the usual buffet, was good and nicely labelled so we knew what we were eating ! On the 2nd night we were slightly unwell so didn't want the full buffet - the staff were kind to serve us a large dish of piping hot soup instead.

Good activities on offer - we didn't do the sunrise or sunset safaris but chose the dune walk. Shimi our guide was full of information - really good. We did walk for about an hour in the desert & learnt a lot about the different plants.The rest of the 4 hours was spent driving around - we saw many animals (a HUGE herd of galloping oryx) & many birds - excellent !" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms V & Mr C
Belgium

"Nice location in the desert"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"The Kalahari Anib lodge was our first campsite on our way to the southern part of Namibia.

The location of the lodge and campsite was very nice. It is situated only a few kilometres from the main road, but the environment was totally different. The campsite was decent (not the best we've had), they are situated a short walk from the main buildings and from one another.

We joined the dinner buffet, which was excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Good stop on way down South"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"Exceeded expectations as a place to stop heading down to the Rish River canyon area. ooms were very clean and comfortable and staff were attentive. Meals were also good. There is a nice pool area to sit around. It is a large resort so not much character. It is a bit further off the main B1 south than some other accomodation in the Mariental area.

The game drive into the Kalahari had a lot of people on the vehicle and the guide wasn't very attentive to photographers. And then the vehicles all went to the same location for the sundowner drinks so there were too many people present and we drove pretty much in convoy to the location." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 36
91%
36 reviews of Kalahari Anib Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
14
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa