This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dabis Guest Farm
Dabis Guest Farm

Reviews of Dabis Guest Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dabis Guest Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Lancs

"excellent"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2017
"ex stay
made us very welcome
farm tour was excellent
dinner was from all food produced on farm and ex
didn't use pool as it looked a little murky" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Dabis Guest farm"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2017
"We were disappointed that we could only stay one night here since we would have liked to see more of the farm.

However the owner was very enthusiastic and did his best in the short time available to describe the various projects operating.
As farmers we were fascinated by the farming venture.

Good food, delightful family." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Dr N
King's Lynn

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"The drive round the farm with Jorge was one of our highlights.

A fascinating man with interesting ideas on sustainable farming." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Phil
London

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"very informative, enthusiastic hosts. we have an interest in sustainability and so their ideas were especially relevant to us. The rooms were relatively basic - no fan, air con and we had a problem with the toilet (which was dealt with quickly but not completely). Limited choice for vegetarians - emphasis was on eating meat they had produced.

Good they had a pool and tennis court. Sunchairs could be better." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"A very enjoyable different experience"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2015
"We stayed only one night as a stopover en route to Fish River which was a pity because there are walking trails which had we the time we would have tried.

Jorge & Michelle were excellent hosts: Jorge's description of his farming and stock breeding and farm tour were exceptional. He is a an articulate enthusiast for farming in this area of Namibia and its flora and fauna.

Accommodation good and comfortable. Home cooked food was excellent.

If we are in Namibia again we hope to pass this way for a return visit and experience some walking." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"A Unique Opportunity"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"Most guest farms in Namibia are wholly involved in tourism but Dabis is very much a working farm with tourists as a sideline. They only take one group of guests at a time and that 'group' might be one person or twenty-four. This ensures very personal attention.

The absolute highlight is the two-hour farm tour offered by owner Jorg who shares his obvious passion for farming in tune with nature and explains how it is possible to succeed even in the face of the aridity of this harsh and beautiful land. Accommodation is simple and clean though we did struggle without even a fan in the room (day temperatures were approaching 40 degrees and the night was still hot) and somehow the flying insects got through the mesh on the windows.

Food was simple country cooking. Free wi-fi is an unexpected bonus in such a remote location. The unique opportunity to meet and learn from working Namibians such as Jorg and Michelle is the Dabis trump card and the reason to visit." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Great place, great people. Highly recommended"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2013
"A great surprise. The owners are a very friendly familiy. They showed us the farm, and how they manage to survive there.

Beautiful and interesting experience (it will be even better with less religious parafernalia... but nothing is perfect)." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
JBB
Surrey

"Dabis Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2013
"We had a problem finding Dabis Guest Farm & ended up driving many miles further than necessary & finally telephoning the owners for directions. We were very lucky there was a mobile signal and felt that with better instructions it need never have happened. Although the sign marking the farm is quite small the entrance is located between two bridges......one a single bridge and the second a double one which is a great landmark on an otherwise 'unmarked' road. We do strongly suggest Expert Africa tell future clients about these bridges.

The other point we felt worth emphasizing is the need to get there as early as possible in order to take full advantage of the tour of the farm. Because we spent a short while investigating the wild horses it was dusk by the time we eventually arrived & so far too late to be introduced to the farm. We were only able to have a very short 'farm visit' early the following morning which was a shame because it was so interesting.

We were the only guests at Dabis & as my friend felt unwell I ate dinner alone with the family which was very pleasant and I was most interested to have an in depth conversation about farming under arid conditions.

It is very difficult when grading somewhere like Dabis Guest Farm because whereas it clearly does not have the comforts of the Nest Hotel it is perfectly adequate, comfortable and clean & what it perhaps lacks in star quality accommodation it makes up for with its fantastic scenery & interesting farming.

I have given the 'Location' an 'excellent' rating because once you have found it...........it is!!!!!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Beautiful Farm but Awkward Experience"

1 night Arrived 14 Dec 2012
"As part of our road trip through Namibia we arrived at Dabis Farm at around 5:00 pm. The owner came out of the house and said "you are late" before even proceeding to greet us.

We were a bit taken back by the comment about being late since we were not aware that we had to be there at a certain time. After that initial, however the owner became quite friendly and took us on an interesting tour of his farm followed by a delicious home cooked dinner. Our room was comfortable and clean. We were well impressed and pleasantly surprise about his environmental stewardship.

One major criticism we have about Dabis, was that during the farm tour we stopped for a sundowner. The owner pulled a cooler with beverages from his vehicle and asked us what we would like to drink. Later before dinner, he asked us if we would like any wine since he was going to drink some himself. The following morning while we were checking out the owner's wife emerges from the kitchen with a list of the beverages we consumed and a final amount owed for them. It was a surprise to us since neither of them ever let us know the price for drinks beforehand.

The bill was for N$115 and we paid with a N$200 note which was all we had. She was very frustrated and asked us several times "are you sure you don't have any change". She then made a point of calling her husband on the telephone and told us she had to break into the kids piggy bank to give us our change. We felt that the way it was handled was very petty since she had a N$100 dollar note. She went through a lot of hassle and made us feel unwelcome (since she asked us several times to look in our pockets) so she could collect another N$15 (< USD$ 2). Our lodging was not inexpensive and it left a bad taste our mouths to have to leave the guest farm on that sour note." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"A real highlight of the trip"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2012
"Just found this experience so fascinating. It was a real pleasure to learn so much from Jorg about the environment, living in Namibia and hear all their plans for farming in this country - what works in his environment with relation to plants, people, weather etc.

Michelle is a wonderful cook, the food was all presented so beautifully, the children, dog, cats, chickens etc just injected a bit of real life into our holiday and it was just great to talk to them both about life." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 25
94%
25 reviews of Dabis Guest Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa