This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dabis Guest Farm
Dabis Guest Farm

Reviews of Dabis Guest Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dabis Guest Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D & Mrs M
UK

"Dabis Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"No longer run by Steve and Jenny, who moved away from the property around 18 months ago, Steve's brother Jorg and his wife Michelle provided a warm welcome and good food.

The farm drive was interesting, although we had been under the impression that the cost was included with the accommodation so were slightly surprised when charged N$130pp - not a huge amount and not a problem, maybe we had misunderstood the arrangement." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Excellent hosts on a most interesting farm"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"It was a farm but did not disappoint either in interest, facilities or friendliness" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J C
London

"A highlight of my trip"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2012
"My stay here was one of the real highlights of my trip.

The owners were charming and the food was delicious. However, what really made it special was the enormous enthusiasm with which Jorg Gaugler told me about the area and his work in making his farming and other projects sustainable.

I found this absolutely fascinating." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The M Family
London

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2011
"We received an exceptionally friendly welcome from Joerg and Michelle (and by Nala the Rhodesian Ridegback) and we immediately felt part of the family. Joerg is clearly one of the world's enthusiasts and while we were unable to arrive in time for the farm tour, he showed us around and gave us some fascinating insights into his innovative approaches to farming, especially into breeding sheep suited to the terrain.

(By the way they mentioned in passing that they had been delighted with the people who had come to them via Expert Africa but had been having some - unspecified - problems with your local agents)." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"We chose this guest farm based on feedback from other customers and they were not wrong. This was genuinely one of the highlights of our trip to Namibia!

We travelled to Dabis from Desert Horse Inn via the D707 and Duwisib Castle. This made for a scenic and interesting day.

Jörg and Michelle made us feel very welcome. After tea and cake, Jörg took us on a tour of the farm and explained his approach to sustainable farming in the semi-desert region. It was fascinating to hear about the challenges and opportunities of living in this part of Namibia. We had a generous dinner of various dishes that had been cooked in their solar oven and a delicious breakfast including produce from their farm and other local farms in the area.

This was a very personal experience and made a welcome change from several nights in resorts favoured by coach parties. I'd recommend that anyone travelling in this part of Namibia take the time to spend a night here." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Wales

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"The farm is run by Jora and Michelle. We were welcomed by Michelle & stayed in room 2 which was more than adequate, Simply firnished but very clean with an area to sit outside & relax. There were no other guests staying at the time we were there.

The gardens are lovely to walk around & there is also a swimming pool & tennis court. We had an afternoon tea with the family & then went on a game drive with Jora which was extremely interesting. Michelle does all the cooking herself & the food was excellent. One of the best meals we had throughout our entire trip.

Learnng about their way of life was extremely interesting & as hosts you could not fault them." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Nottingham

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2011
"This was another unforgettable experience for us - to actually spend a little time with a Namibian family who were very welcoming and informative. We didn't arrive at the farm until about 4pm so we missed the usual afternoon coffee and cake (our fault not theirs) but there was still time for Stefan to take us on a drive around the farm n the back of his truck before the sun went down.

After a welcome hot shower (the temperature having dropped considerably once the sun disappeared although Stefan did look after us with warm blankets in the truck) we went over to the family house where we were served a delicious and hearty meal and then spent an enjoyable hour or two chatting to Stefan about growing up in Namibia and their life on the farm. Jenny was busy elsewhere coping with the two young children (c 3yrs and 18 months and another expected in September).

Our room was basic but very clean and comfy with extra blankets and hot water bottles available.

We wish Stefan and Jenny the best of luck for the future." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"An informative and homely stay"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"We learnt so much about farming in this hostile environment and their wonderful initiatives for a sustainable future. The rooms were simple and clean and our hosts most accomodating.

Food was virtually all from the farm and nicely cooked. We would recommend a stay over here as "must do" to learn more about life in this wonderful country." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"Really enjoyed our night here - great to see round a real working farm. We would have enjoyed a day going round with Stefan to see more.

Stefan and Jenny were very welcoming and their two children made us feel at home! Stefan's enthusiasm and passion for his farm are infectious - we loved hearing about his land and animal management plans." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mr B
UK

"Working Sheep farm"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"The Dabis Guest Farm accommodation is average but the surrounding and hospitality of the our hosts, Stefan and Jenny had more then enough to make up for it.

Stefan gave us a tour of their four generation farm with useful information about the farming in unhospital environment. They are almost self sufficient so everything on our dinner plates were from their free range and organic farm. The food was honest and of higher quality so no fancy cooking was need.

A very enjoy one night stop-over place." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 25
94%
25 reviews of Dabis Guest Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa