This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Mr B from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Enjoyable trip

Namibia between 5 Sep 2009 and 20 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Good
"We on the whole enjoyed our holiday apart from the stay of Sossus Dune Lodge.

We would suggest Expert Africa check out the service before sending any guest to them. Or at least a word of warning to them if they insist of staying there."

Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great View"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2009
"This place offers a great view of Windhoek but not too convenient for just strolling into town.

The owner offered very good advice almost on anything in Namibia."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Memorable stay at Okonjima Bush camp"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"This the best run lodge we have stayed during our 16 days in Namibia. We were booked for Main Camp but upgraded to Bush chalets so that was nice.

The staff are super efficient, friendly and willingly to go extra mileage for their clients. The staff were very helpful with communicating with the lost luggage office in locating our lost luggage.

The guides are knowledgeable and friendly. Seeing the female leopard and her cub sitting on the tree was one of the highlight of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Just another government run lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2009
"We were debating whether to stay inside or outside the Etosha National Park but have decided to stay with Halali Camp and wish we have stayed outside with one of the lodges outside. There was no service to speak of in this camp. The staff were disinterested in serving thier guest be at the reception, restaurants or shops. The restaurant was serving canteen food. The only good thing about this place is its waterhole, we have seen elephants, rhinos, jackals, zebras and kudus. Some guests have spotted leopards during the night"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Slightly better NWR property"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2009
"The bungalows near the waterhole are great for viewing wildlife. The service was a little better than Halali Camp at least there were some smiles."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Eco Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"Great location. good service and an eco friendly lodge to boot. The activities were on the expensive side. Well we couldn't tell the difference between the desert elephants and the ordinary elephants but paying NS650 per head for this privilige. The otherwise excellent service was slightly marred by one of its inexperienced guide/staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"The Beach Lodge is architechtually interesting building and right on the beach. Our stay was clouded by the cold and misty weather of Swakopmund. We could only imagine what this place would be in a warm and sunny day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Educational and enjoyable"

13 Sep 2009 • All-day excursion

Our guide Ernest is both friendly and knowledgeable. He would find out a bit more of his clients before he begins his tour so that he can cater for the interests of his client. He spoke passionately about the local environment and bird life which was most refreshing.
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Not worth the money"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"This was probably the worst experience we had in Namibia. This was the third property we stayed run by NWR. As usual they have the best locations to build their lodges, charge a heft price but without the service.

The lodge reception and accommodations were on top of a little hill, guests have to park their vehicles at car park at the bottom of the hill and transport by lodge's golf cart to the reception. When we arrived, no one was at car park to direct us or transport us to the lodge reception. We waited for 10 minutes and decided to walk up to the reception ourselves. Half way up the hill, a golf cart turned up and the driver apologised for not meeting us on our arrival citing the excuse of shift change.

We were met by the duty manager, Louis Armstrong Jnr who gave us information of the lodge and the activities they offered. We wanted to do the balloning trip on morning and he offered to book for us. The booking was later confirmed and time and venue were given."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"Working Sheep farm"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"The Dabis Guest Farm accommodation is average but the surrounding and hospitality of the our hosts, Stefan and Jenny had more then enough to make up for it.

Stefan gave us a tour of their four generation farm with useful information about the farming in unhospital environment. They are almost self sufficient so everything on our dinner plates were from their free range and organic farm. The food was honest and of higher quality so no fancy cooking was need.

A very enjoy one night stop-over place."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Location Location"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2009
"Good location, friendly staff, good food and effiecient service. The room is probably the smallest we stayed in Namibia. Room numbers 24 to 29 are on a higher elevation which have better view. We were given room 27 which gave us a beautiful view of the distant mountains and glorious sunset."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Red earth country"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"A perfect place to end our holiday. Impressed by the wine list. We didn't expect to see anything new apart from the meerkats after touring Okonjima and Etosha, but were pleasantly surprised that we have some wildlife which we hadn't seen before. It was also nice to see antelopes roaming in the open free rather than by the waterholes as in Etosha Natinal Park.

Would love to stay at the chalet next time."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team