This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Average service and food"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"To be located within the park is always good. The food and service was average. Under cover outdoor dining but birds were all over the tables stealing food and pooping which was not appealing.

The chalet rooms were clean and comfortable with good air conditioning though one room had a strong smell of disinfectant cleaner.

A nice viewing platform around the waterhole which was lit at night.

We had good sightings of animals driving from Halali to Namutoni" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Halali Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2019
"Given the information we had read we found that the room (Bush chalet), the food, and the service was far better than we expected. The chalet was comfortable and clean with a spacious lounge area. No inventory was provided on arrival, but minimal crockery etc was provided.

Unless you come with your own equipment and food, a braai is not possible. Food in the restaurant varied depending on your choice, for example, the cooked vegetables were not so great, but there was always plenty of fresh salad which along with fresh grilled game meat made a good meal. Also a good choice for breakfast, including plenty of fresh fruit. Restaurant staff were always friendly and helpful and there was no problem in paying by card. Reception and shop staff were also friendly.

At this time the wildlife was abundant. We did self-drive, and therefore, did not make use of the activities on offer." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

9 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Surprisingly good"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"We got the impression from EA that Halali was not of a standard that they would recommend. It was great. The cabin had a living room with kettle and sink, a good bathroom and a comfy bedroom.

It was excellent to be able to sit by a nearby waterhole until 6.30pm before getting back to the camp when the gates shut at 7pm.

The dinner in the only restaurant was one of the best we had on our trip. A starter of tasty little vegetable samosas with salad, followed by extremely tender springbok fillets. The cheerful chef was superb at cooking these to perfection.

We had breakfast at 6am, with omelettes cooked as requested, before checking out at 6.30am which was the earliest possible.

Check-in involved paying a deposit, which we were informed was “for the key”. It was returned immediately when we checked out. There was no suggestion of checking an inventory." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Halali Camp"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Enjoyed the big swimming pool.
After a very good dinner of grilled springbok, we walked to the waterhole where we saw a group of 10-12 elephants and then 2 male lions." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Unhelpful surly reception staff. Poor choice of food. Accommodation dirty. Broken patio door lock. Bathroom tap fell off. All reported but nobody seemed to care." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Terrible
Mr LeenP
Lewes

"good stay, but also busy camp"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Halali is slightly less busy than Okauhuejo in Etosha. Water hole also less busy, but maybe because of noisy tourists.

One lion and one black rhino." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"This camp has improved so much over the years and the biggest difference since my last trip was the helpfulness of the staff, i may have just got lucky.

They have also improved the checkout from the disastrous days of checking your mini bar while the sun was about to rise." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Amersham

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"The check in procedure was straightforward. An N$500 deposit in cash for the key was taken and returned to us with no fuss when we returned the key as we left. There was no inventory provided and no checks were made. There was no power when we arrived, the maintenance man arrived promptly and it was identified as a problem with the fridge, this was swiftly replaced by a brand new one and then everything was fine.

The chalet itself was basic compared with our previous accommodation, however it was all very clean and more than adequate. The buffet style food was fine with a reasonable choice but not a ‘fine dining’ experience. We didn’t find anywhere in Etosha to buy sandwiches or anything else for a lunchtime snack.

The NWR map of Etosha including illustrations of birds and wildlife was recommended to us and was very useful. It was not actually on display in the Okaukuejo tourist shop when we arrived but was available from under the counter.

The numbers of animals we saw on our drives within Etosha exceeded our expectations and we didn’t feel the need to go on any camp provided drives.
Do allow plenty of time to get back to the camp at sunset, we only just made it!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cambridge

"Great Camp Food not so good"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"This is a brilliant place to stay. Only let down by the food and the Dining Room Staff.

We went out on an early morning organised Game Drive. The driver knew that we wanted some good photographs and positioned the vehicle in the correct position each time for Sunrise and for animals. The best part of this Game Drive was seeing a Lioness and 3x three-month old cubs, feeding on the Zebra that mum had just killed for them.

The rooms were well furnished and you could park your car right outside.

When we came back from the Game Drive, even though there was over an hour left of Breakfast, there was very little food left and we had to wait for bowls and plates to be washed before we could eat. The staff in the dining room didn't seem to want to be there and this led to a lethargy around the building." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Halali Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Halali Camp in Etosha Park is run by NWR, Namibia Wildlife Resorts, and offers a sharp contrast to some of the private lodges we stayed at in Namibia. The staff here were pleasant but not as welcoming as we experienced elsewhere. The rooms were fairly clean and comfortable and had the basic supplies. The self serve dining area was ok and the food of reasonable standard.
The services in the camp area were minimal.
Despite its shortcomings, the camp is, however, ideally located for an overnight stop in the central part of Etosha when driving between the eastern and western gates" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa