This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

322 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 29 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

4% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Elephant

93% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

54% success

White Rhino

42% success

Eland

30% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 322
Duration
Arrival date
Family P
Sheffield

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2022
"A great stop off point through Etosha. Room clean, practical and cool. Efficient check in and check out. Great waterhole." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Drs M & R
UK

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2022
"Been here before - nice new accommodation and good waterhole sightings. Food and experience generally better than Okaukuejo.

In general, I am thinking that with the opening of western Etosha and some new lodges, we will pick lodges at the western and eastern boundaries, but still run by park authorities, next time so that we get better coverage." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Mar 2022
"We stayed in a two bed bush chalet, which was clean with good beds (appeared to be new mattresses), a decent bathroom and good air con. The kitchen area, entrance and overall decoration needs to be refreshed. The food was OK here - a couple of choices each for main course and desert, reasonably priced. Limited breakfast options likely due to low visitor numbers, off-peak and Covid restrictions, but again, acceptable in the context of what you pay to stay here.

With the amount of rain recently in the area, animal sightings sadly limited so the waterhole (our go to place in the past) was quiet but this is still a good place to stay to have access to the central and eastern areas of Etosha." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
RSA

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2021
"Halali camp is spacious, as are the bush chalets. They are a bit shabby, but it was lovely to have so much space for all our things, and to be able to make tea and coffee in our room. The water hole on the verge of the camp was excellent. We saw elephant and black rhino quite close up.

The meals in the restaurant were not great but ok.

There were not many visitors, again because of the lockdown, but it was a bonus for us that we could get all our meals here." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

L family
Germany

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2021
"The best part of Halali Camp is it location within Etosha. We were able to start our days before sunrise and drive around to explore the park and see the wildlife.

Unfortunately, the quality of the premises and the service is poor. The room and the camp in general is in need of major maintenance. It it clear to me that Namibia Wildlife Resorts is not sufficiently reinvesting not only in maintaining but also in improving the premises and the services offered at the Camp.

The personnel are friendly (this also depends on how you approach them), however, in general, they do not seem to be too service oriented. This is also a clear sign of how the whole Etosha Resorts are managed and not a reflection of the individual people.

Having said that, our beds and rooms were clean. However, the maintenance condition of the rooms, furnishings (worn out), appliances (kettle, terrace table and chairs) is poor in general.

The offering for dinner was quite limited, only three main dishes.

Breakfast was OK, normal breakfast buffet with toast, jam, eggs, bacon, coffee, tea.

For lunch, we had brought some food in advance and had sufficient snacks for a couple of days to eat whilst out visiting the park. However, I would recommend that travelers at least bring some of their own food.

We used the swimming pool at Halali, the pool is nice and clean although again some maintenance is needed in the pool itself and in the pool area.

During our stay (Easter time), the Resort was not too crowded, there were a few people camping. The service was not overwhelmed by the amount of people.

Even though we did not stay at Okaukuejo, we did pass through it three times to pay for the entrance fee and go to the toilet and try to buy food. One morning at the supermarket, most shelves were empty, there were only two loaves of bread in stock.

For the travelers, it would also be good to know that there are no Cash Machines anywhere inside the park, however, credit cards are widely accepted.

We also had issues getting fuel (diesel) at Namutoni, there was a problem with the pump and so it was not possible to get fuel there for a couple of days (the nearest place was to drive back to Halali or some 30 Kms. outside the park).

Overall, we would repeat our stay at Halali to be able to stay inside the park and make the most of our time in Etosha." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Average service and food"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"To be located within the park is always good. The food and service was average. Under cover outdoor dining but birds were all over the tables stealing food and pooping which was not appealing.

The chalet rooms were clean and comfortable with good air conditioning though one room had a strong smell of disinfectant cleaner.

A nice viewing platform around the waterhole which was lit at night.

We had good sightings of animals driving from Halali to Namutoni" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Halali Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2019
"Given the information we had read we found that the room (Bush chalet), the food, and the service was far better than we expected. The chalet was comfortable and clean with a spacious lounge area. No inventory was provided on arrival, but minimal crockery etc was provided.

Unless you come with your own equipment and food, a braai is not possible. Food in the restaurant varied depending on your choice, for example, the cooked vegetables were not so great, but there was always plenty of fresh salad which along with fresh grilled game meat made a good meal. Also a good choice for breakfast, including plenty of fresh fruit. Restaurant staff were always friendly and helpful and there was no problem in paying by card. Reception and shop staff were also friendly.

At this time the wildlife was abundant. We did self-drive, and therefore, did not make use of the activities on offer." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

9 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Surprisingly good"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"We got the impression from EA that Halali was not of a standard that they would recommend. It was great. The cabin had a living room with kettle and sink, a good bathroom and a comfy bedroom.

It was excellent to be able to sit by a nearby waterhole until 6.30pm before getting back to the camp when the gates shut at 7pm.

The dinner in the only restaurant was one of the best we had on our trip. A starter of tasty little vegetable samosas with salad, followed by extremely tender springbok fillets. The cheerful chef was superb at cooking these to perfection.

We had breakfast at 6am, with omelettes cooked as requested, before checking out at 6.30am which was the earliest possible.

Check-in involved paying a deposit, which we were informed was “for the key”. It was returned immediately when we checked out. There was no suggestion of checking an inventory." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Halali Camp"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Enjoyed the big swimming pool.
After a very good dinner of grilled springbok, we walked to the waterhole where we saw a group of 10-12 elephants and then 2 male lions." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 322
79%
322 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
86
154
66
14
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (659 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (248 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (148 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (148 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (89 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (89 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (78 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

The most luxurious property on the reserve, Mushara Outpost is well-placed to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (33 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (8 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa