This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Convenient overnight stop - Halali"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2018
"After an memorable day of animal sitings in Etosha, we were pleased to have a place to stay in the middle of the park.

We had the two bedroom chalet. This accommodation was as expected. We had paid our deposit with notes of various denominations and received our receipt. As we were following EA guidelines we actually did a reckoning with the listed inventory and found lots 'missing'. We reported the missing items, much to the amusement of the desk person, who assured us that this deposit was ONLY a deposit for the return of the key. There was much confusion (eventually resolved) about the return of our money and so I would suggest only having one denomination of notes in your deposit,

Actually we found the food was quite good and well priced and we had the best piece of kudu on our whole trip. There was a fillet of kudu on the bbq plate and the chef cut off the required amount. We had considered buying food in the shop to bbq in the brai that was outside our room but as there were no implements to eat or cook with, or much of a choice in the shop so dinner out was the only option. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr G
Alstonville

"Showing age but okay for a night."

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2018
"A useful stop as it breaks the trip across Etosha National Park. The rooms are a bit old, but liveable. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good and amongst the best we had anywhere. There was some confusion and much discussion about the cash key deposit system here. They need to change how they handle this.

However, plenty of wildlife to be seen in the Park nearby." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

7 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2018
"The chalet was very good, light and spacious. The water in the camp is not drinkable and they charge for water when dining in the restaurant. Staff struggle to understand our English. I purchased cider in the shop and was charged double the price at Okaukeujo. Tip for future travellers, stock up on food and drink before you get there as the shop has minimal supplies." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Enjoyable time at Halali"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2018
"The room (bush chalet) was fine, if a bit far from the waterhole." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs K
Andover

"Halali basic and tired"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2018
"Halali is another government run camp in Etosha and we found a little more basic than Okaukuejo. The accommodation was very tired, staff uninterested and food reminiscent of school dinners!

Its location at midpoint in Etosha and floodlit waterhole only positives.

We did see a rhino at the waterhole but on balance would not stay here again. " See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs N
Queensland

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2018
"Halali is what it is, but given that we thoroughly enjoyed it because it met our expectations.

The water hole is excellent " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"Better than Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2018
"This scored mored highly than Okaukuejo partly because our chalet was bigger and better (it included a sitting area and kitchenette) and partly because of the much better waterhole. The camp as a whole was smaller and more intimate.

It seemed to attract more coach parties but that's maybe because there were so few people staying there and so the coaches were more obvious.

Once again we didn't do any of the activities, preferring to drive ourselves and watching the sun setting over the waterhole in the evenings.

The staff were better overall than Okaukuejo but the food was pretty similar with buffets for breakfast and dinner.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr D
Farnham

"Perfect for exploring most of Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2018
"Halali Camp is very similar to, but smaller than, Okaukuejo Camp and provides a far better service and overall experience. Unlike Okaukuejo Camp it has a waterhole that attracts not only the full range of game but is far enough away from the rooms and chalets to attract only those with a genuine interest in wildlife and willing to be appropriately quiet!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs S
France

"Halali"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2017
"We stayed just one night at Halali on this trip in a standard room.

OK and much better than the standard rooms at Okaukeujo." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr B
Armidale

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2017
"Excellent accommodation, magic waterhole, appealing local surrounds, including saltpan." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa