This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr LeenP from Lewes

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

1

Our October trip

Namibia between 2 Oct 2019 and 23 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Good
"Apart from some minor glitches, we had a great trip in a beautiful sparsly populated country with friendly people. We would like to come back to visit other parts of this amazing country. One of the difficulties we faced was travelling long distances on the gravel roads as our rental vehicle was not the best 4x4 in existence.

We also felt that the itinerary around Etosha was not well advised given that we travelled around the park twice and across it once. it would have been much better to advise us to stay outside of the park at the western and central gates and done two or three day trips. We would have seen just as much without the hours and discomfort of additional travel.

We found the itinerary information provided very useful to follow eg estimated hours of the journey, though some details and advice need updating..

Overall it was a fantastic holiday in a great country"

Feedback response

We agree with these travellers, in an ideal world we would not normally structure the order of the camps around Etosha in this way. Unfortunately availability was limited and this is what was possible at the time.

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"Interior was tatty. Towels so threadbare they had holes in! Bathroom very substandard Only one chair and one drinking glass one cup present.

Not a great intro to our organised trip we were surprised that Expert Africa used this placed we would have been happy to pay more to stay in a better place.

Good breakfast and view though."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"good"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"Interesting place. Seen tagged leopard in tree.

However, excursion to cheeta's in enclosure was interesting but not the real thing mostly a reason for a contribution to Afri Cat which we would have been happy to give anyway. .

Story of cheetahs very sad ie cant be released into the park as the leopards kill them all as rivals for prey."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

"great safaris"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"One of the best places to stay, with excellent excursions, animals and views.

Really professionally run but combined with personal service our favourite place to stay in Namibia. Great guide Rio. (Could improve food though)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"best place for widlife at your doorstep"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"water hole bordering the lodge's terrace, with loads of wildlife.

Hunting pride of lions making a kill. Other lionesses with cubs Although somewhat on basic side - not refurbished lately -really liked this lodge, staff great and come from local community."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"too busy place with great water hole"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Camp really not attractive because continuing stream of vehicles and visitors. Too busy to be comfortable for anyone.

Catering facilies were really awful, chaotic and lack of choice re food. Deposit at arrival purely symbolic, as no one checks cabin at departure. one of the best water holes directly bordering the camp.for one night of the stay but better to have visited for the day rather than stayed, didnt compensate for rest of negative experiences."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"good stay, but also busy camp"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Halali is slightly less busy than Okauhuejo in Etosha. Water hole also less busy, but maybe because of noisy tourists.

One lion and one black rhino."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"see previous rating"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2019
"see previous rating"
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"place with the best view"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Lodge situated on top of plateau with stunning views over Great Canyon-like valley. Compensates for low number of animals.

Heavy shower ruined excursion, but benefited everything else. Very steep drive up the mountain. Lodge provides transfer service.up the very steep entrance, which wasnt mentioned in the notes provided by Expert Africa. I spotted it in the guide book so we were prepared for it.

This place was very connected to the community which we very much enjoyed, the staff were absolutely lovely"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"beautiful place in desert"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Beautiful place in the desert. Very hot. No water hole. Many animals elsewhere because of drought.

Staff were really lovely and the place seemed well connected to the community .However the lodge still seemed to offer trips to see Desert Elephants when we knew none had been seen in the area for a month as they had moved north because of the drought.

Despite lack of elephants the lodge was a lovely place to stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Beach Hotel

"nice hotel near town centre"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"We ended up in Beach Hotel, rather than the Beach Lodge in Swakopmund which we thought had been booked by Expert Africa.

We accept there could have been confusion about the booking earlier, despite the presented itinery and marking of Beach Lodge on the map, including picture of Beach Lodge, Expert Africa declined to book us int Beach lodge as requested for remaining two days. which was a shame..and disappointing."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Great excursion"

19 Oct 2019 • Morning excursion

Kayaking with hundreds of seals was great. However, for some still unclear reason, we ended up with a different kayaking company than mentioned in the itinery.

It was sorted out eventually. the Guide from Pelican Point who we ended up with KJ? spent far too much time talking about himself rather than the seals which detracted from what was a great experience.
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Great place in largely unspoiled desert"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"Beautiful place in largely pristine desert. Very dry and hot. Small water hole near lodge, few animals."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"a very nich place"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"A good place in Windhoek to start and end a Namibia holiday, really nice place to stay, contrasted positively on every level with our first guesthouse in Windhoek"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team