This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

83% success

Giraffe

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Elephant

33% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
safari lovers
UK

"Amazing Location"

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2020
"The location of Grootberg Lodge is really magnificent. It must have one of the best views of any lodge we have stayed at anywhere.

The rooms have the same views (being perched on the cliff edge). They are compact but comfortable. No power in room but masses of charging points in a cupboard in the main building.

We had pre-booked the rhino tracking and spent a full bone shaking day with guide Dessie and trackers Joseph & Jacob.

It took serious tracking skills to find a male black rhino. We personally didn't actually have to walk far at all. We also went to the anti-poaching camp and chatted to the policeman which was interesting.
Saw mountain zebra, lots of giraffe, oryx, and large ele herd at end of day.

Good staff all employed from the local community. They sang to us every night which we loved." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr LeenP
Lewes

"place with the best view"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Lodge situated on top of plateau with stunning views over Great Canyon-like valley. Compensates for low number of animals.

Heavy shower ruined excursion, but benefited everything else. Very steep drive up the mountain. Lodge provides transfer service.up the very steep entrance, which wasnt mentioned in the notes provided by Expert Africa. I spotted it in the guide book so we were prepared for it.

This place was very connected to the community which we very much enjoyed, the staff were absolutely lovely" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Fantastic view from rooms.
Excellent staff who took time and great care to ensure our puncture problem was taken care of while we were out for the rhino day.
Very commendable!!!

Excellent lodge, clean and well presented." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
Hartfield

"Wonderful views"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Fantastic location and service" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms B
N London

"Amazing View"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2019
"Great lodge again but the staff/service was not as great as in other lodges (staff not very helpful and food not as good as in other lodges).

Also a shame we were not allowed to hike around the lodge" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Picton, NZ

" Grand view at Grootberg"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2019
"Interesting drive up to the lodge but a magnificent view from the lodge (and pool) when we got there.

Very good evening meal. Staff were helpful and friendly. Arrived too late for us to do activities so saw no animals there.

Other guests reported zebra sittings and there was evidence of that near the buildings in the morning." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune lover
London

"Grootberg Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2019
"We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this lodge.

The staff were amazing and we loved the feel of it being a conservancy. It certainly felt as if the staff were all stakeholders in the venture. They took a personal interest in making sure that the guests enjoyed themselves and we were treated to an iced cake in celebration of our 40th Wedding Anniversary.

The only adverse comment we could make (although we feel it churlish when everything else was excellent) was that the design of the individual chalets meant that at night when the door was closed, they were rather airless making sleep a bit difficult. However, we would not cite this as a reason not to go there as our stay was so good in all other aspects.

We took a day out, rather than another animal safari, to take the Damaraland cultural tour (including visiting a school and a village) and would certainly recommend this to other travellers." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Four poms
Somerset

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2019
"Adventurous location with amazing views of valleys and mountains. Good guides on driven and walking trips, but variety of game limited on the escarpment. More game down below apparently.

Saw lovely springbok, lots of Oryx,, Kudu, mountain zebra, black eagle.

Impression that, as a community project if they were expecting it to be run by locals alone by next year, they were falling short of expected standards. Examples of poor maintenance." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J.
Sussex

"Grootberg Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"We opted to be driven up the steep approach to the Lodge. Not very attractive dining area with a very small sitting area for guests unless they go outside onto the terrace. The rooms were small with no fans or a/c (no electric points). The walking tour and biking could not take place because of lions near the property. We had to be escorted back to our cabins after dinner. The pathways were very uneven and treacherous, especially for someone who uses a stick. We took the afternoon tour around the plateau but it wasn't very interesting. Next day we went on the rhino tracking tour. We were told we would be collected from our cabin at 5.30am because of the lion, but no one turned up. Luckily our mobile worked and we were able to call reception but it made us late for the start of the tour. It was very long and, at times, unbearably bumpy. The trackers did find the rhino. Then a long bumpy drive back. The guides did not sit with us at lunch so we weren't able to ask all the questions that we had wanted to. Spectacular scenery and stunning infinity pool. Delightful staff who sang beautifully after dinner one evening." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr M & Ms E
France

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"The view at the Grootberg lodge will be one of the most impressive outlooks we will ever see in our lives.

The staff here were very kind and the rooms were very comfortable.

The staff were also very kind in providing us complimentary champagne for our honeymoon" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 88
92%
88 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
20
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa