This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Reviews of Spitzkoppen Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Spitzkoppen Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Spitzkoppen Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

30% success

Elephant

10% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Bromley

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2022
"Spitzkoppen worked well for the short duration, the lodge itself has a very functional feel to it.

However, the scenery is amazing and we had a great afternoon excursion to the rocks / rock art and the sunsets were pretty spectacular.

Staff were very friendly and our only flat tire of the trip was spotted by one of the team and very quickly and willingly fixed for us.

A good stop en route to Windhoek." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"Spitzkoppe is a wonderful area to explore with many well-marked trails. You can walk around the lodge / campsite. Alternatively, you can drive around in the area. First time we visited Spitzkoppe with our children, we stayed in tents below the peek “Pondok” at Spitzkoppe Campsite, where we had an interesting hike to Bushman´s Paradise trekking to the top along chains bolted into the mountain. This time, my wife and I are fortunate to experience the luxury of the nearby Spitzkoppe Lodge although we also love camping.

We arrive in the lodge, where we are greeted by a staff member. He gives us cold towels to clean our hands and face for dust and cold juice for the throat. Highly appreciated after the dusty drive. The lodge itself has a unique setting, fused in between the red granite boulders. There is a “natural swimming pool”, where you can cool down and enjoy the many birds drinking (and shi…..) in the same water. Nevertheless, it´s a nice place to rest, have a drink and watch the sunset. We get our “tent” no. 15. It´s situated privately furthest away from the lodge, thus we could enjoy the solitude. I reckon 10 minutes’ walk away from the lodge, the first part on an elevated wooden walkway.

During night, we are kept awake by the hard wind shaking the whole construction, a loud ever-changing sound reminding us of the solitude. In contrast, during the middle of the day, we are dizzy from the sunny 35C, no wind and no air condition! But most of the time, we are just enjoying this spectacular place.

We opt for two activities and a private drive in our own car. At first, we hike to the third highest mountain top in the area together with a guide. Second, we go on a group tour to the nearby; Rock Arch, Little Bushman´s Paradise and the Snake Fossil.

The hike starts at 7 am. After a short drive to the starting point, we follow the slope up the mountain. Quite OK. Then, it becomes increasingly steep and difficult. Wisely, my wife decides to stay behind and wait until we return. The last part that cannot be recommended to anyone in fear of heights. There is nothing to hold on. If you fall, you are in serious troubles for some seconds (then you are released from all future troubles when you hit the ground below). However, the view on the top is spectacular!

Next, the tour to the nearby; Rock Arch, Little Bushman´s Paradise and the Snake Fossil was nice and recommended." See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kartik
Patel

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2022
"Spectacular setting right in the heart of Spitzkoppe mountains.

Unfortunately it was very windy on the one night we stayed so it was difficult to sleep - they did provide earplugs in the room which was helpful.

Not as flexible with the food offerings as other lodges we stayed at, though we may not have been clear enough with our request." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2022
"Wonderful location, good food and service.

Excellent guide for an early morning trip" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P.
Vienna

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2022
"Finally some warm weather (even hot during the day, at 35 degrees Celsius), and even at night it remained mild. The Lodge is quite spread out. Having the golf buggy service for the luggage is very welcome. Out tented chalet was a bit crammed but nice. The only place where we had a mosquito net on this trip.

The scenery is grand, Spitzkoppe in the evening or very early morning light is quite something to behold. The lodge grounds are enlivened by a troupe of dassies (rock hyraxes), who are quite entertaining. The pool by the main building is a large bird bath, but that didn’t deter my wife to have a (very cold) dip in it.

The food served at dinner was nice, though not quite on the gourmet level we had expected from the advertised fact that the chef had apparently entered some nationwide competition. Breakfast was very good though and unusual – a welcome break from the standard offerings, with several quiches and pastries (both savoury and sweet) to choose from.

We did one activity, namely an evening tour to the famous rock arch, some ancient Khoi San rock paintings and narrow rock formations to clamber about in, which was a nice addition." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Family P
Spain

"Spitzkoppen Lodge stay"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2022
"We stayed here for 2 nights which we felt was perfect for our family. The location is just incredible and it's well worth staying for that alone: watching the light and shadows at sunrise and sunset was magical.

When we arrived, the lodge itself appeared as strange and otherworldly as the landscape it sits within, and on first sight I found it a weirdly unnatural imposition, with its raised metal walkway, beach-hut style tents and the noisy buggies used to deliver baggage and guests around the camp. However after reading the information provided about the design and construction of the lodge I completely changed my point of view. The lodge has clearly been designed with a great deal of thought and care for its environment, and its position "on top" of its surroundings means the whole thing could be dismantled and removed without leaving any permanent trace or damage.

The lodge is equally admirable in terms of community involvement, with local staff coming from the small village of Spitzkoppe, which benefits from 50% of lodge profits and a shared water treatment system.

We didn't feel the need to join any of the activities and appreciated that no-one tried to encourage us to book... instead we were given a local hand drawn map and some recommendations and left to explore by ourselves which was super easy. The short climb up to Bushman's Paradise was a real surprise thanks to a very passionate and well educated local guide from the nearby village, and we all enjoyed clambering around the boulders near the famous rock arch.

Food was consistently good and we enjoyed some great chats with the lovely Anna in the restaurant, who is a real credit to the place and is hopefully on her way to great things.

Our connecting family rooms had been thoughtfully kitted out and felt very luxurious, even if the tent roofs can get very noisy on windy nights. We didn't sleep well on one night here because of the noise, and were woken early on both mornings by the buggies collecting departing guests. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay here." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

6 sightings

Ms M
Switzerland

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Apr 2022
"A perfect secluded place.

Nice rooms, not over the top, very pleasant." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr and Mrs G
London

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2022
"A lovely lodge with close links to the community and a seriously good location which challenged the significantly more expensive Sonop.

An easy drive from Swakopmund which breaks up a journey nicely.

You are borderline guaranteed to see zebra as the reserve the lodge sits on is small and fenced to keep the zebra in." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs M
Reading

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2021
"Incredible location, comfortable rooms, good food and very friendly and helpful staff.

Sundowner drive to get close to hills and rock paintings well worth it." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2020
"Highly recommend this lodge.

The lodge is located directly ar the foot of the Spitzkoppe mountain which for its shape is also called the Matterhorn of Namibia. Rock formations are as impressive as those of Mowani Mountain Camp and the staff is highly committed to make your stay special.

The area is not as busy as the one around Mowani which might be considered as a plus.The camp is located a bit off the main tourist route, but still in a good reach when travelling from Windhoek to Swakopmund or vice versa or when travelling from Damaraland down to Namib Naukluft NP.

One just need to be aware that this lodge is more about landscape rather than game viewing." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 32
94%
32 reviews of Spitzkoppen Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
7
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (448 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (139 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (118 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (111 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (94 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (35 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa