This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Reviews of Spitzkoppen Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Spitzkoppen Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Spitzkoppen Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

21% success

Elephant

7% success

Giraffe

7% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs W
Bath

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2023
"- – although very windy and some rain whilst we were there. Luckily it brightened up the next day so we got to enjoy the views in the sunshine. The lodges are well equipped although they did feel and look like mobile homes on stilts. The lodges are strung out and some are a long way from the main area. They take and collect your luggage (and yourselves!) on a golf cart and you can pre-arrange a time for them to pick you up for dinner. Only problem is if you are at the restaurant and have left something in your room it will take about 15 minute walk to collect!

We did the ‘Small Bushman Tour’ on the afternoon we arrived. There were a lot more people on the tour than I was expecting as they use a vehicle that holds 20 people (and it was pretty much full). The guide was very informative but in hindsight I would have probably have walked/driven to the sights myself rather than being with a crowd.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the food very average and I had a suspicion that most of it was ready made frozen food that was reheated." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2023
"Quite an upmarket lodge in a stunning location. There are a couple of mapped self-guided walks which include access to interesting rock features and there is access across the property to adjust the length of routes to suit. Accommodation is high quality.

Evening guided tour to Small Bushmans Paradise was a great way to explore further but very much a drive (or cycle) direct to places of interest. Guiding was enthusiastic but very much focused on interpretation of rock art. The natural environment was stunning, and the rock arch very impressive. Rock art itself was quite seriously damaged through a combination of vandalism and apparent accidental 'wear' from touching or from some efforts at preservation.

Morning sunrise guided tour to Bushmans Paradise was similarly impressive and a bit more of a drive then walk. Access is via chain up (and at the end, down) the first few hundred metres. Same comments about the environment and the condition of rock art.

Dinner was very high quality food. Breakfast was good. Lunch was slightly strange, with options seemingly faced on quantity (game lasagne, large sauce-laden very large wraps etc) rather than more typical and desirable salads or sandwich options." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

george
up north

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2023
"fantastic setting and layout.

lovely food but could do with a bit of choice on the menu rather than being 1 option.

limited things to do but 1 night was perfect." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Andover

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2023
"Location is stunning.

This lodge is beautiful. Lovely evening meal.

Staff very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Wallington
UK

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2023
"Spectacular location amongst orange granite outcrops. Lodge a long, but pleasant walk from the carpark and restaurant, although golf-carts were available if required.
No restrictions on moving around the property or the greater park. Great views from the in-rock swimming pool and plenty of dassies to provide amusement." See all these reviews: 30n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms U
Idaho

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2023
"We arrived late at Spitzkoppen Lodge and left early two mornings later. The Lodge was very accommodating to our schedule and my son's eating preferences.

The owner moved our bags to parking area and checked us out at 6am. The Lodge has terrific food with vegetarian and vegan options. We only had one full day and we chose to climb in the morning and see Bushman's Paradise in the afternoon.

A park guide is required to visit Bushman's Paradise and apparently leaves at 4 pm. A very kind and informative guide from Little Bushman's Paradise willingly stayed late to guide us and a couple other groups through. The view and climb with the chain up the rocks alone were well worth the time.

An advantage of traveling in the rainy season was lots of different reptiles, amphibians and migratory birds. The accommodations are very comfortable and uniquely adapted to a fragile desert environment. We loved watching the agama lizards fight for territory while hyrax ran by and we ate lunch.

A magical and remote environment with every amenity." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs H
Bromley

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2022
"Spitzkoppen worked well for the short duration, the lodge itself has a very functional feel to it.

However, the scenery is amazing and we had a great afternoon excursion to the rocks / rock art and the sunsets were pretty spectacular.

Staff were very friendly and our only flat tire of the trip was spotted by one of the team and very quickly and willingly fixed for us.

A good stop en route to Windhoek." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"Spitzkoppe is a wonderful area to explore with many well-marked trails. You can walk around the lodge / campsite. Alternatively, you can drive around in the area. First time we visited Spitzkoppe with our children, we stayed in tents below the peek “Pondok” at Spitzkoppe Campsite, where we had an interesting hike to Bushman´s Paradise trekking to the top along chains bolted into the mountain. This time, my wife and I are fortunate to experience the luxury of the nearby Spitzkoppe Lodge although we also love camping.

We arrive in the lodge, where we are greeted by a staff member. He gives us cold towels to clean our hands and face for dust and cold juice for the throat. Highly appreciated after the dusty drive. The lodge itself has a unique setting, fused in between the red granite boulders. There is a “natural swimming pool”, where you can cool down and enjoy the many birds drinking (and shi…..) in the same water. Nevertheless, it´s a nice place to rest, have a drink and watch the sunset. We get our “tent” no. 15. It´s situated privately furthest away from the lodge, thus we could enjoy the solitude. I reckon 10 minutes’ walk away from the lodge, the first part on an elevated wooden walkway.

During night, we are kept awake by the hard wind shaking the whole construction, a loud ever-changing sound reminding us of the solitude. In contrast, during the middle of the day, we are dizzy from the sunny 35C, no wind and no air condition! But most of the time, we are just enjoying this spectacular place.

We opt for two activities and a private drive in our own car. At first, we hike to the third highest mountain top in the area together with a guide. Second, we go on a group tour to the nearby; Rock Arch, Little Bushman´s Paradise and the Snake Fossil.

The hike starts at 7 am. After a short drive to the starting point, we follow the slope up the mountain. Quite OK. Then, it becomes increasingly steep and difficult. Wisely, my wife decides to stay behind and wait until we return. The last part that cannot be recommended to anyone in fear of heights. There is nothing to hold on. If you fall, you are in serious troubles for some seconds (then you are released from all future troubles when you hit the ground below). However, the view on the top is spectacular!

Next, the tour to the nearby; Rock Arch, Little Bushman´s Paradise and the Snake Fossil was nice and recommended." See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kartik
Patel

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2022
"Spectacular setting right in the heart of Spitzkoppe mountains.

Unfortunately it was very windy on the one night we stayed so it was difficult to sleep - they did provide earplugs in the room which was helpful.

Not as flexible with the food offerings as other lodges we stayed at, though we may not have been clear enough with our request." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2022
"Wonderful location, good food and service.

Excellent guide for an early morning trip" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 38
94%
38 reviews of Spitzkoppen Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
7
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (469 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (152 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (121 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (114 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (114 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


96% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa