This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

10% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

71% success

Oryx

55% success

Giraffe

44% success

Zebra

20% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"Rosie (guide) and Ruben (manager) were superb and went beyond expectations. Situation is just wonderful and there appears to be consistent good sightings, up close, of the desert elephants.

Food for vegetarians was very poor. Unimaginative and badly served." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Sussex

"Beautifully situated Lodge"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Mowani Mountain Camp didn't quite have the cultural vibes of Doro! Nawas but it had great views. It also had a very pretty small swimming pool built into the cliffs: the perfect place to be after our interesting but very hot walk around the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. (Which we did independently.)

We didn't do any of the Mowani trips, so saw no big game animals, but there were lots of sweet little rock dassies (furry mammals) perched around the big rocks surrounding the lodge.

A real treat here was the fire pit dinner table arranged by staff member Kevin, who spotted that we were on a celebration retirement trip and made a real fuss of us. It was a delight to sit out under the stars to dine and Kevin provided lovely service and a lot of fun, even teaching us the five clicks of the local language - K'a'os Kevin!

The rooms were lovely with fab deck areas (handy because bathroom facilities weren't well screened for our son and daughter who were sharing). However we did have to Deet the room to remove some flies and what felt like a gale force wind through the tented/netted sides gave us a somewhat disturbed night's sleep." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Disappointing, poor atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"No safari atmosphere. Even charge you for still water. Poor management communication.

Game drive disappointing as much of it in sight of other lodges. When we found elephants they were surrounded by other vehicles. Concerned that drivers hemmed in herd with v young elephants. Saw v little else. Supposed to have two activities but only had one and manager unhelpful. Food good." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Ms B
N London

"Exceptionnal"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2019
"Great lodge, great food, great staff and great excursion!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Magnificent setting"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"Wow - what an amazing setting for a safari camp in the huge boulders.

Rooms have amazing views, are well appointed and are very private. Daily sundowners on top of the koppie was a real highlight.

Brilliant game drive in the morning where we saw desert elephant and lions!

Service was fantastic.

Only criticism was that they sometimes tried to make the food too sophisticated. They are in the middle of nowhere so people get it that they don't always have access to "posh" ingredients. Food was wonderful when they kept it simple but sometimes missed the mark when they tried to be too creative eg smoked salmon was frozen." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Jane/Chris
crolles

"Amazing location in exceptional scenery"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2019
"Absolutely unique place. Superb view from the lodge over the valley with the red-orange granite rock formations.

The tour with guide Rosie was the best we had during our visit.

Thanks to her tenacity we had this magical encounter with a herd of 12 desert elephants in a fantastic setting." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
CT USA

"Peaceful transition location in Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2019
"We chose to stay at Mowani Mountain Camp because it was geographically in between our other destinations. The drive there was easy and well marked. We stayed for two nights.The accommodations were wonderful. The bed was comfortable and I loved the openness to the outdoors. The deck was a great place to sit and watch the dassies and rock agamas scurry around the boulders. I loved having an outdoor bathroom and shower -- with the luxury of an indoor bathroom as well for when it rains or at nighttime. There are no keys for the rooms, which was not a big problem because there is a room safe. However, they also don't lock from the inside. There was an awkward moment when a housekeeper came in the evening to turn on the outside light and walked in to the room without knocking. Luckily we were just resting!

Because we were resting between 2 long drives we chose not to participate in any guided activities. On our one full day we drove over to see the engravings at Twyfelfontein, which was worth it because it was so close-by -- not that interesting if you have to travel a long way to get there. We also checked out the Organ Pipes and Burnt Mountain -- these were a bust -- but nearby so we didn't waste too much time (although it was not worth the 50NAD per person). We had a wonderful afternoon at the pool, and in the early evening did the one hour walk around the perimeter of the lodge which was lovely. We almost skipped sunset from the viewpoint -- I am so glad we didn't! The setting was lovely with chairs and pillows set up, and appetizers were served and the sunset was breathtaking.

The service was very friendly. We particularly liked talking with Ambrosius, who was very energetic and eager to teach me some basic Damara words such as thank-you and how are you? He put a table out by the fire pit for us for our last evening so we could eat under the stars.

The food was good but not superb. There was a set menu with a choice of entrees. There is no wifi -- so plan accordingly. We did have an intermittent cell signal, adequate to send an occasional text but not enough to predictably use email. Luckily this was not a big deal for us -- but may be for other travelers." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. Best so far. We had a standard room (which was very good) with superior view, which was almost facing due west and a lovely view. Beds were comfortable. Public areas, pool, were all very high standard and great service. Very good food and a wonderful sun-downer viewing point on the rock overlooking the Ochre valley where drinks are served as we watch the sun set. Shower was poor due to blocked shower head, we had to complain but this was resolved quickly. Lodge is well located to see a number of local sites. Also a black mark as there was no WiFi! And no laundry service." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J.
Warwick

"Another lovely lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2019
"Mowani was wonderful. We had fabulous weather and enjoyed the sundowner spot both nights. It was Valentines night the first night and we were given complimentary champagne and boxes of chocolates which was a nice touch.
The room was fabulous with an incredible outside bathroom built into the rocks/boulders as well as an inside ensuite.
The excursion to see the desert adapted elephants was fabulous. We encountered a large herd and was given plenty of time to watch them. We took ourselves to Twyfelfontein and the Damara Living Museum on the day we left. In our opinion it was not necessary to pay for a guided trip from the lodge. As we were out of season we had a guide at Twyfelfontein to ourselves and were the only visitors at the living museum which was very interesting, but I imagine it would not be very good if there were a lot of other people there." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2019
"This must be the most stunning location i have ever been to !

Set between the boulders with unbelievable views this is a place to come and unwind. Total tranquillity, excellent service with a quality menu and wine list.

Wish i could have stayed longer.

Special thanks to Ambrosius who took great care of us." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 126
93%
126 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
98
21
2
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa