This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

8% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

74% success

Oryx

46% success

Giraffe

45% success

Zebra

17% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2022
"Beautiful location with excellent service. welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended. Excellent in all aspects.

Worth doing desert elephant trip: tracking them down and then viewing very close in natural habitat." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs V
York

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2022
"We had left our car at Mowani in order to fly up to Hoanib.

Our return visit was, by virtue of familiarity , even more enjoyable than the first ." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
York

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2022
"A stylish and comfortable camp, built to a high standard to blend in with the boulder strewn hill top on which it stands, with evocative views over the Twyfelfontein landscape.

We booked a 'superior view ' room which enabled us to watch the sun set from our own balcony ——what a treat .

There is a relatively easy signed walk around the camp, takes about an hour and a quarter, to further appreciate and enjoy the camp's setting." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chiswick

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2022
"The most wonderful place in a stunning location. Everything first class! Staff very friendly and helpful.
Access can be tricky as road up to lodge very poor (D2612) probably easier to access from Skeleton coast.

We saw baboons whilst staying here - we didn’t go looking for elephants - but more than happy to stay at the camp and enjoy the amazing bird life." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs F.
USA

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2022
"In hindsight I would not have done another camp In Damaraland after the last one. I'd also note that since our first two experiences were so great our expectations were high.

The location of the camp and it's integration into the boulders was amazing. The sundowner location overlooking the cliff was great too. The food was below expectations. One evening we had a been served some tough meat and the manager didn't offer to replace the dish. My wife and I thought the manger tried a bit too hard and his attention to the guests was a bit forced and not sincere.

One after noon we went on a hike, took a wrong turn and found ourselves in the staff accommodation area. We were really disappointed to see the liquor bottles and trash strewn across the beautiful landscape around the area." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mr K
New York

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2021
"Loved the location of the camp amongst the boulders.

Perfect sundowners spot.

Drove myself to Twyfelfontein and the White Lady of Brandberg (on the way to Swakopmund) and didn't participate in any camp activities - I don't find a "non-applicable" option for activities." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M.
Haifa

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2021
"Very nice place
Pool and lobby are very fun and beautiful
Wonderful food
The attitude from the waiters was a bit sticky but good
I did not order any activity
The truth is I booked two nights
We went for a walk in the twin camp Mowani Mountain Camp
We fell in love with the place and asked to rate Mowani Mountain Camp
The surrounding trail is really beautiful and easy
We got their consent and did not regret it
Mowani Mountain Camp The most impressive place we have ever seen
We wanted to photograph every corner
There are no words to describe the amazing experience" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2020
"Always worth a stay. It was our 2nd visit there and we did not regret it.

The camp is built within impressive rock formations - which offer a great view during a sundowner.

Some of Namibia’s best rock art gravings can be visited nearby at Twyfelfontein." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Ms M
USA

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Dec 2020
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Good but not amazing"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2020
"Stunning location and beautifully designed rooms with fabulous views.

Dinner was lovely – excellently cooked steak followed by a rather poor dessert, and breakfast was also very good. However, the mattress and pillows were uncomfortable and the shower was poor. I also didn’t particularly warm to any of the staff or our guide.

There is a very cute family of rock hyrax living in the rocks behind the main restaurant area." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 136
94%
136 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
106
22
3
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (442 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (116 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (110 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (111 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (106 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (92 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa