This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

152 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 30 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

5% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

80% success

Giraffe

59% success

Oryx

32% success

Zebra

14% success

Wildebeest

5% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 152
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mrs A
London

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2023
"Mowani is situated in a wonderful location with the rooms placed between large boulders. Our room was excellent and had a beautiful view.

The service was hit and miss, with some of the staff seemingly unable to comprehend two women travelling together. There were times that staff were quite obviously talking about us (in the native language) right in front of our faces, which was somewhat uncomfortable.

Despite this the food was good and we had a really good time on the elephant spotting trip, where we were able to see over 20 elephants." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr. & Mrs. E
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2023
"An excellent camp. The tented room was stunning.

We later heard criticism that, for the price, it should have included air conditioning. We did not agree. When we arrived the insect screened windows and high-powered fan provided sufficient cooling air circulation and was entirely appropriate for the situation.

The view from our room was amazing - we didn't need to visit the sunset viewing venue as we could see everything from our balcony.

The small waterfall and pond off the central common area provided a lovely opportunity to watch a large variety of visiting birdlife and lizards, and the self-guided walking tour was well-signed, informative and a fun way to explore the locality." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Fabulous place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2023
"The setting of the Camp is spectacular, the individual buildings fitted among large pink granite boulders. Then there is the view across the valley . The camp was nicely set out; the reception areas with a spacious sitting and dining area. The food was very good, as has been the case with all the individual Camps we have stayed at. The individual lodges were superb also; spacious room; secluded; large bed; lovely view.

Apart from the Camp the highlight of our stay was the morning drive to find the desert adapted elephants. This entailed a drive of about 45 minutes, then our guide searching around a dry river valley until we found them. We saw about 6 small groups of elephants, and the vehicle was able to get very close to them. They didn't appear disturbed by our presence. In the late morning our guide took us close to some village water cisterns, which are the only source of water for the elephants in the dry season.

Another interest in the area are the Twyfelfontein rock engravings . These depicted many different animals. One engraving was said to show 2 seals and a penguin!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

7 sightings

Bintang
Cambridge

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2023
"We were glad that we had been booked in here rather than Doro Nawas as it is more convenient for visiting the rock carvings under our own steam rather than having to take a tour.

Chalets are all located amongst the rocky outcrops giving complete privacy.

Highlight of our stay was the game drive to see the Desert Elephants. We saw a lot and from vey close quarters. One walked past our vehicle just a few fee away.

No need to take a Sundowner Drive as you can walk up to the viewpoint where they have a bar and cushions to sit on and watch the sunset." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs W
Bath

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2023
"Beautiful rooms in a stunning location. We were very happy that we were in ‘Superior View Rooms’ which had fabulous views and faced west so that you could enjoy the sunsets from your balcony.

We went on a trip to see the desert adapted elephants. We passed lots of vehicles on the drive but were very lucky that there were only 2 vehicles at the time we saw the elephants. Overall, this activity felt more touristy than I was expecting.

The food was good and the staff professional. Our only criticism would be that some of the waiting staff were obviously angling for individual tips which made us feel uncomfortable. We religiously put tips in the staff box so that all the staff benefited." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Mr & Ms W
Manchester

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2023
"Lovely rooms with an absolutely stunning view. Staff were very helpful and food was lovely.

We went on a trip to find the desert elephants which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Was probably the most crowded trip of our holiday in terms of the number of cars round the elephants but the herd was large and didn’t effect our enjoyment of the activity." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Mr N.
Teignmouth

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2023
"Lovely camp and we really appreciated having the Luxury Suite, which was a nice surprise.

Food was excellent and our guide, Rosie, was outstanding. She even has a herd of Desert Elephants named after her !

Only drawback was the terrible gravel road, D2612, off the C35 to get to the camp. It was totally unsuitable for an SUV. We'd have been better off taking a long detour and staying on the C35. Future gests should be warned of this." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Ms J.
Mijas

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2023
"A delightful place, full of character. Highlight was the sunset bar.

Advice: very cold early morning drive out, wrap up well!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
george
up north

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2023
"the setting was fantastic and the sun downer bar looking over the desert was an amazing experience.

it was cold as the central area is open to the elements. good food and choice.

rosie the guide was great fun, knowledgeable and skilled at finding wildlife. loads to see that was not on the survey and we got so close; 2-3m in some cases.

morning coffee in a dry river bed surrounded by elephants....." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Mrs K
Andover

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2023
"Really beautiful lodge in an incredible location.

Elephant tracking with our guide Rosie so amazing.

Sundowners at the viewing area very special." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 152
94%
152 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
118
25
4
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (469 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (122 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (115 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (115 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


97% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa