This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

130 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

8% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

69% success

Oryx

46% success

Giraffe

45% success

Zebra

17% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 130
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M.
Haifa

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2021
"Very nice place
Pool and lobby are very fun and beautiful
Wonderful food
The attitude from the waiters was a bit sticky but good
I did not order any activity
The truth is I booked two nights
We went for a walk in the twin camp Mowani Mountain Camp
We fell in love with the place and asked to rate Mowani Mountain Camp
The surrounding trail is really beautiful and easy
We got their consent and did not regret it
Mowani Mountain Camp The most impressive place we have ever seen
We wanted to photograph every corner
There are no words to describe the amazing experience" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2020
"Always worth a stay. It was our 2nd visit there and we did not regret it.

The camp is built within impressive rock formations - which offer a great view during a sundowner.

Some of Namibia’s best rock art gravings can be visited nearby at Twyfelfontein." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Ms M
USA

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Dec 2020
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Good but not amazing"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2020
"Stunning location and beautifully designed rooms with fabulous views.

Dinner was lovely – excellently cooked steak followed by a rather poor dessert, and breakfast was also very good. However, the mattress and pillows were uncomfortable and the shower was poor. I also didn’t particularly warm to any of the staff or our guide.

There is a very cute family of rock hyrax living in the rocks behind the main restaurant area." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"Rosie (guide) and Ruben (manager) were superb and went beyond expectations. Situation is just wonderful and there appears to be consistent good sightings, up close, of the desert elephants.

Food for vegetarians was very poor. Unimaginative and badly served." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Sussex

"Beautifully situated Lodge"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Mowani Mountain Camp didn't quite have the cultural vibes of Doro! Nawas but it had great views. It also had a very pretty small swimming pool built into the cliffs: the perfect place to be after our interesting but very hot walk around the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. (Which we did independently.)

We didn't do any of the Mowani trips, so saw no big game animals, but there were lots of sweet little rock dassies (furry mammals) perched around the big rocks surrounding the lodge.

A real treat here was the fire pit dinner table arranged by staff member Kevin, who spotted that we were on a celebration retirement trip and made a real fuss of us. It was a delight to sit out under the stars to dine and Kevin provided lovely service and a lot of fun, even teaching us the five clicks of the local language - K'a'os Kevin!

The rooms were lovely with fab deck areas (handy because bathroom facilities weren't well screened for our son and daughter who were sharing). However we did have to Deet the room to remove some flies and what felt like a gale force wind through the tented/netted sides gave us a somewhat disturbed night's sleep." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Disappointing, poor atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"No safari atmosphere. Even charge you for still water. Poor management communication.

Game drive disappointing as much of it in sight of other lodges. When we found elephants they were surrounded by other vehicles. Concerned that drivers hemmed in herd with v young elephants. Saw v little else. Supposed to have two activities but only had one and manager unhelpful. Food good." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Ms B
N London

"Exceptionnal"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2019
"Great lodge, great food, great staff and great excursion!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Magnificent setting"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"Wow - what an amazing setting for a safari camp in the huge boulders.

Rooms have amazing views, are well appointed and are very private. Daily sundowners on top of the koppie was a real highlight.

Brilliant game drive in the morning where we saw desert elephant and lions!

Service was fantastic.

Only criticism was that they sometimes tried to make the food too sophisticated. They are in the middle of nowhere so people get it that they don't always have access to "posh" ingredients. Food was wonderful when they kept it simple but sometimes missed the mark when they tried to be too creative eg smoked salmon was frozen." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Jane/Chris
crolles

"Amazing location in exceptional scenery"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2019
"Absolutely unique place. Superb view from the lodge over the valley with the red-orange granite rock formations.

The tour with guide Rosie was the best we had during our visit.

Thanks to her tenacity we had this magical encounter with a herd of 12 desert elephants in a fantastic setting." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 130
94%
130 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
101
22
2
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (113 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (50 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa