This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

139 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

7% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

77% success

Giraffe

57% success

Oryx

38% success

Zebra

13% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 139
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. Best so far. We had a standard room (which was very good) with superior view, which was almost facing due west and a lovely view. Beds were comfortable. Public areas, pool, were all very high standard and great service. Very good food and a wonderful sun-downer viewing point on the rock overlooking the Ochre valley where drinks are served as we watch the sun set. Shower was poor due to blocked shower head, we had to complain but this was resolved quickly. Lodge is well located to see a number of local sites. Also a black mark as there was no WiFi! And no laundry service." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J.
Warwick

"Another lovely lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2019
"Mowani was wonderful. We had fabulous weather and enjoyed the sundowner spot both nights. It was Valentines night the first night and we were given complimentary champagne and boxes of chocolates which was a nice touch.
The room was fabulous with an incredible outside bathroom built into the rocks/boulders as well as an inside ensuite.
The excursion to see the desert adapted elephants was fabulous. We encountered a large herd and was given plenty of time to watch them. We took ourselves to Twyfelfontein and the Damara Living Museum on the day we left. In our opinion it was not necessary to pay for a guided trip from the lodge. As we were out of season we had a guide at Twyfelfontein to ourselves and were the only visitors at the living museum which was very interesting, but I imagine it would not be very good if there were a lot of other people there." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2019
"This must be the most stunning location i have ever been to !

Set between the boulders with unbelievable views this is a place to come and unwind. Total tranquillity, excellent service with a quality menu and wine list.

Wish i could have stayed longer.

Special thanks to Ambrosius who took great care of us." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
BRIAN O'B
IRELAND

"Really comfortable lodge beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2019
"We really enjoyed our time here.

The safari drive each morning to view the Desert Elephant were terrific. Up close, but keeping a respectful distance, and our guide Boetie was knowledgeable and friendly. Food each evening was a real treat, the rock pool was beautifully situated and we had a gorgeous view from our room.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mrs J.
Sussex

"Mowani Mountain Camp"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"A lovely thatched tent with amazing views. Charming staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Sundowner set up on cushions on the rocks was spectacular. Excellent dinner (pork).

Very good tour the next day with excellent, informative guide (Vargee) who found the elephants we were hoping to see. Learnt a lot from him about the local and national culture." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A wonderful wedding anniversary"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Superb "superior" room. Very private, with a beautiful view, but also very close to the main building. It had its own dining area next to an outside fire, where we were invited to dine on our second evening. It was very romantic (but difficult to see what we were eating!). Two beautiful, colourful geckos in the room, which unfortunately were very camera-shy!

The shower was difficult to get to the right temperature without wasting water.

We had a wonderful elephant hunt to track the desert elephants with a very good guide again. We saw one group of 7 and another group of 8, with a lone male which was chased off. There was also a memorable sight of an ostrich pair with twelve chicks. The female objected to our presence and bravely advanced towards us fanning out her feathers.

It was also very good to see the village where our guide grew up, as well as his intended bride!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Mr D.
Egham

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"We really like Mowani.

Our room had a fantastic view and these do vary depending upon which room you get. The lodge itself was good and had a nice area to sit by a small water feature which attracted a number of birds. The setting is what makes it special though and because of that the access to some of the rooms requires walking up steep gravel paths. I am disabled but managed OK but only by applying some care!

Some previous reviews mention lack of wifi and what a draw back this was. Personally I would have been very happy not to have any, but we found it worked OK. The tour to find the elephants was excellent and well worthwhile. We saw many elephants, as well as giraffes and ostriches.

Be warned however that you drive quite a distance in an open vehicle quite early in the morning at usual road speeds. More warning of just how cold this can be would be useful as every visitor we spoke to said the same. Blankets are provided, but our fellow travellers from Switzerland had woollen hats, scarves, thermal coats and gloves and were still cold! We didn't do the other tour to the Cave Paintings, partly on the guidance of the lodge as you can visit this just as easily yourself." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
St Albans

"Superb on every front"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"We stayed in the suite, and it more than exceeded expectations. Loads of space, private seating area with wonderful views, free mini bar, outdoor bath and shower. It was incredible.

Food and eating area were both top.

Staff also repaired our punctured tyre.

Only criticism was that we had a bit of a lie in on the first day and breakfast was depleted by the early risers." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2018
"Stunning, unique location. Go there for the location, rather than the wildlife. Important to get a room with superior view.

We enjoyed the walk they had marked out close to the camp.

The 4-course meals were too pretentious, and we didn't enjoy the meals as much as we did in other places." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

T & T
woodside

"ok place to rest"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2018
"The location -- built onto huge rocks in the mountains -- is amazing. Our tent/cabin had an incredible view. And the sundowner is fabulous. We were a bit tired, so this was a good place to unwind a bit. We went for a nice hike in the morning -- saw a big flock of Springbok.

We did the afternoon execursion to see the Tweifelfontein rock art. The rock art is great, but the heat was brutal. It's too bad they don't do this excursion in the morning. On it's own though this place is a bit dull in comparison with the other places we visited, which was ok because we needed some down time.

The food was odd -- the menu is fine, and it looks pretty, but tastes weird. The chef has few taste buds. It felt more crowded with guests than the other places we stayed, and the service seemed a bit off at times, even-though the staff certainly is working hard to please. It's not a bad place, the setting is amazing, just doesn't quite compare to the other lodges we stayed (eg Woldewans).

A small thing about this place is they charge you for all drinks, even bottles of water. It's kind of like USA domestic airlines charging you random fees. No big deal really, but ... somehow this was our least favorite place on our trip. Maybe we had just gotten spoiled by all the other places." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 139
94%
139 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
23
3
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (447 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (117 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (110 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa