This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Brandberg White Lady Lodge
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge


21°5’10.3"S 14°40’47.6"E

Reviews of Brandberg White Lady

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Brandberg White Lady and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs N
Queensland

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2018
"Similar to Halali, The White Lady lodge is what is is, but thoroughly enjoayable" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Useful desert stopover "

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"The lodge is a useful stop over between Darmaraland and Swakopmund and (in the season) sightings of desert elephant are regular and close. Unfortunately the elephant to do not travel through here until June and we were wrongly advised.

The cabin rooms were clean when we arrived but not cleaned the following day. They are very basic and there is no air conditioning and the fans operate for 10 minutes early evening and then the power runs out. Windows had panels of mosquito netting missing although there were mosquito nets on the single beds.

The lodge requires maintenance. the pool and seating around it needs care although the walled garden, populated by several active tortoises, is immaculate and clearly a work of love. Sunsets from the rocks above the hotel looking over the desert are spectacular.

The front desk staff were not helpful, restaurant staff were very pleasant.

There is singing from the local community/staff after dinner." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Lovely setting"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2016
"The most memorable thing from White Lady Lodge is the spectacular Brandberg - the highest mountain in Namibia which forms the background.

The lodge is set in a nice and slightly eccentric desert garden. Accommodation in small individual spaced out cottages set in a sandy maze of desert bushes is basic but perfectly good.

Food was good - not quite excellent." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Newport

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"The 23 km on the access track would be a real test for a non 4WD car, it's sandy, corrugated and rough.

The lodge itself was great though. The staff helpful, entertaining and the food good. The chalets were scattered through the surrounding bush and felt remote which we enjoyed, but may not suit everybody.

We didn't see any desert elephants though we knew they were in the camp, just saw their tracks in the morning. The chalets are in need of a little updating, but the chalet was very cool and the water heater was lit twice a day to provide hot water for us." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Devin & Willow
USA

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"The advantage to the White Lady Lodge is it close to the park and most amazing rock art in the world.

The main lodge area is very nice, but the rooms are simple and clean, nothing to be excited about." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"A long way to travel to see nothing!"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2014
"We asked to stay at Brandberg White Lady Lodge as we had previously enjoyed a stay there looking at the Desert elephants. However, when we arrived we found that the safari vehicle was off the road and it looked as though it had been for a while. The room was not ready and we had to wait which was curious because as far as we could tell there was only one other couple staying. The food was average and took a long time to serve. We did not like the room which was badly in need of updating. There was a general air of gloom about the place. So different from our previous experience. We left early the next day.

However we picked this hotel not Expert Africa so we only have ourselves to blame!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs J
Munich

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"Original room was dirty and very badly maintained. The windows were cracked and there were bare electrical connections visible. The whole place had a feeling of neglect. We complained and were offered a 'studio' room instead. This was better and acceptable.

Trip did not run due to lack of animals to see. Compensated by the cute meerkats around the pool.

The evening meal (buffet) was simple but good. The staff were friendly." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"This lodge made a good stopping point between Swakopmund and Grootberg, I would class this as an average lodge but it was more than fine for a one night stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr O & Mrs R
Germany

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2011
"It it a great location at the foot of the Brandberg and the main building is a lovely lodge. We knew not to expect much, but chose the lodge as a convenient stop-over on our way to see the White Lady painting.

The rooms are basic, which we expected and did not mind, but staff were totally unfriendly (the only place during our trip where we felt that management just could not be bothered and staff therefore neither). The whole place looked unloved and uncared. There were caged animals both in the bar area and outside, which we did not appreciate.

It felt a shame that a potentially fab lodge was not performing to its full potential." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Convenient for visiting Brandberg White Lady"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2011
"Lovely setting near Brandberg Mountain.

Basic ensuite room.

Dining room and bar staff all extremely helpful and friendly. Food was good. and enjoyed an excellent concert from the staff after dinner. Lodge owner helped with some further issues with the car hire." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 23
70%
23 reviews of Brandberg White Lady by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
2
10
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa