This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

438 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

53% success

Giraffe

42% success

Zebra

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Wildebeest

7% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 438
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
N Ireland

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2022
"The lodge is set on a hill and has spectacular views. The design of the lodge and chalets is sympathetic to the surrounding countryside.

The staff choir were really good and they sang to us on several occasions - we enjoyed it as much as they obviously did. The chalet was spacious and the outside shower was a bonus.

On our second evening for dinner we had a barbecue on the roof. We had a long trip with Bernhard the ranger and saw lots of wildlife, and we had time to leisurely observe the desert elephants.

The manager took the time to sort out a problem of our own making, and made sure it did not affect the enjoyment of our holiday. This was much appreciated." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Ms M
Switzerland

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2022
"Very spacious rooms, nice and cool! Very pleasant!

Warm welcome, very sympathetic staff, with a sense of humour.

They use different locations for the dinner. Very nice!" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mrs C.
Dubai

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2022
"This lodge was probably our favourite, the team were lovely. They sing to welcome you, they sing at dinner and when you leave! They called us by our first names from the get go!

The views here are stunning! The sunsets and sunrises amazing! We went on a game drive to find the desert adapted elephants and when we found them we spent over an hour watching a herd of 14 elephants. Our driver was very knowledgeable, not just about the elephants but all the wildlife.

The food was lovely!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs V.
Leiden

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2021
"Doro Nawas is a beautiful place to stay. The villas are spacious, luxurious and offer great views.

The pool is a very welcome place to be in midday heat. We very much enjoyed the braai on top of the roof of the main building.

Our guide Bernard proved to be a real asset and managed to lead us to the desert adapted elephants and giraffes despite the very strong winds, which turned out to be sandstorm-like after a while. Because of this the wildlife sightings in general were low, however the surroundings remained spectacular and we enjoyed ever minute. Not in the least because Bernard shared his extensive knowledge.

It also helped that there were just a few other guests, so we were never short of attention. No complaints at all." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr P
New Jersey

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2021
"Elephants! And another chance to look at the stars with staff and guests. The management was kind enough to allow me to use the roof floor of the lodge for a night.

Though it could get hot during the October afternoons and the wind could be somewhat strong, the rooms were comfortable.

Wonderful staff and food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

chris
France

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2021
"Doro Nawas was amazing. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and after two days we really didn't want to leave. By chance we were the only guests and we were totally pampered by the staff throughout.

Our guide was Gerarldo who was the best guide during our holiday. He took the time to ask the whole family about their expectations at dinner and went on to exceed them throughout our stay. The elephant tracking excursion was superb a day that the family will never forget and was one of the highlights of the holiday.

All of the staff sang a welcome and goodbye song." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

8 sightings

safari lovers
UK

"Lovely stay at Door Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2020
"This rather unusual looking camp perched on top of a rocky outcrop, has been cleverly designed to make full use of the stunning views. The individual villas/chalets are huge and comfortable and well spaced.
Very welcoming pool set into the rocks.

We were the only people staying so we were wonderfully looked after by the staff who had time to chat to us, which of course gives the tourist a small insight into their lives. We were sung to, both nights by the staff choir who sang beautifully. Actually we were sung to on arrival and departure as well.

On our second night they went to enormous trouble to set up a bush supper for us. We felt like royalty with all the attention.

Our guide was Stephen and we spent three excellent nature drives with him. We spent significant time with a herd of desert elephants who we followed along the riverbed. An absolute highlight for us, so much to learn about them. We then caught up with them again in the later afternoon about 40kms further on. We are interested in birds too so stopped regularly to identify some new ones for us." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Enjoyed our stay at Doro !Nawas!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2020
"We were promptly greeted at our luggage was taken to our room for us. We appreciated the refreshing towel and beverage.

After an introduction, we were able to dine on the deck overlooking the surrounds. What a fabulous setting including the building. It was structured in a manner that we were able to enjoy the many views.

Our guide Stephen met us during lunch and we chatted about our options for activities. He organized our 2 activities (to Twyfelfontein etcetera, and then on our 'Bush Walk' in the afternoon). Our guide Stephen was fabulous, he was friendly, and very knowledgeable. He also took into consideration our interest in nature, and provided an insight to the lands. He also had a fabulous sense of humor. We shall remember him as 'Desert Adapted Stephen'. We appreciated the bottles of cold water provided on our afternoon adventure. The food and drink during our excursions were fabulous. We appreciated being consulted as to when we wanted a 'tea break'. Stephen was also wonderful in the way that he was happy to stop where and when we liked to admire a view/take a photograph/talk about wildlife. We saw oryx, ostriches, and springbok.

One dinner was set out in the bush. We enjoy 'bush dinners', however, the timing was terrible. We thought we might have a pre-dinner drink at the bar before heading down, however, we knew that we were to depart soon, so we decided to wait. However, the other guests did not arrive back at the camp for quite some some, and then even when they did arrive, those guests insisted on showering before attending dinner. So we had been waiting for quite some time - waiting for the other guests. and in the end, the staff said that we would go without them. It would have been better to have been informed about the time frame. If someone had told us that it would be 30 - 40 minutes, we would have been fine with that, and ordered a drink. However, to be left there waiting and not knowing how long the wait would be, was frustrating. The walk to the dinner was lovely and the setting was amazing. We enjoyed the arrival drink and the warm fire. The setting was truly gorgeous!

The drink service at the bush dinner was awful! Besides the welcome drink, I was not offered a drink until everyone else was already served their entree. Wine service started at one side/end of the long table, and it was going around, however, just before it reached my husband, it stopped...He had to specifically ask an attendant for a drink. He had asked for both of us, and I had put in my request for a wine, but not served. So I was then the only person at the table without a drink. It took a while longer to get a glass of wine, by which time, everyone else's entree plates were being cleared! I specifically asked one attendant, she had told me to wait...
The food was excellent. The entree was tasty. I enjoyed being able to select my choice of meat/ etcetera at the buffet. The food was delicious.
Again, the drink service was terrible. I enjoy a glass of red wine with my red meat. I sat for quite some time, waiting for waitstaff...in the end, I had to go and ask someone for a glass of red wine.
The dessert was tasty, but it was a little bit awkward being served the dessert, whilst the singing/dancing was happening, as our backs were turned to the staff. Perhaps the performance could occur post the main, and prior to the dessert being served.

We LOVED the singing!!! Thank you!

We LOVED being able to sleep outside on the deck! The stars were unreal! What gorgeous accommodation!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr LeenP
Lewes

"beautiful place in desert"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Beautiful place in the desert. Very hot. No water hole. Many animals elsewhere because of drought.

Staff were really lovely and the place seemed well connected to the community .However the lodge still seemed to offer trips to see Desert Elephants when we knew none had been seen in the area for a month as they had moved north because of the drought.

Despite lack of elephants the lodge was a lovely place to stay." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
J&J
Plockton

"Good Damaraland base"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"We arrived quite late owing to a flat tyre, and check-in was slightly haphazard, with a wait while staff were assembled to welcome us. All we really wanted was a cold beer! Nonetheless, staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The lodge is in a spectacular setting, and the individual chalets are spacious and comfortable, although the dark wall finish gives them a sombre feeling which may not be to everyones's taste. The central dining/seating area is well designed so that even though it can be quite windy there is always somewhere sheltered.

The "bush dinner" on the first night was perhaps a bit of a strained affair. This was the only place, apart from Halali, where we encountered a large tour group which resulted in a small arbitrary choice of dinner companions. It seems that this event is a regular occurrence, which again may not be to everyone's preference. The meal itself, and the more conventional arrangement the following night, were however perfectly good.

On our morning game drive we found several groups of desert-adapted elephants, and were able to spend a good amount of time with them. Other sightings include giraffe and oryx. This was a very worthwhile activity, and a highlight of our stay here.

As we needed to get a new tyre, we did not participate in any other organised activity, but just managed to get enough time to visit the Twyfelfontein archaeological site - worth it, but very crowded.

Overall a very pleasant stay, with great staff." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 438
93%
438 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
317
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (135 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (116 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (103 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (91 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (26 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa