This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

448 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 48 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

44% success

Zebra

20% success

Brown Hyena

8% success

Wildebeest

6% success

Black Rhino

3% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 448
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"2 nights in Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2022
"We really enjoyed our stay at Doro Nawas, especially the musical welcome and goodbye. All the staff are extremely friendly, and happily broke into song throughout our stay. Doro Nawas is well situated to explore (we self drove) the 'Burnt Mountain' and the 'Organ Pipes', as well as the rock art at Twyfelfontain. Just to note, the burnt mountain seems to have lost its sparkle, as described in the Bradt guidebook, even though we did view in the evening as the sun was setting.

We also organised an activity with the lodge to view the desert adapted elephants that live in the nearby Huab River ecosystem (which was dry at the time of our visit). Bernard took us on this excursion, and it was great. Just to reiterate the point raised earlier about our car hire - plenty of self drive vehicles were also undertaking this activity, as they had hired from companies that allowed 'off roading'. Having spoken to one of said self driving couples at a later date, they took three days to find the elephants, whereas Bernard knew exactly where they were, so perhaps it was for the best that our car hire company did not allow us to venture off the beaten track!

The food was very good; a large variety of hot and cold options at breakfast, and good options for dinner too, especially on our second evening which was a braai.

We were also pleased with the room, and the option of wheeling out the bed to sleep under the stars. Hopefully the next guests will fare slightly better than us - Alexa was worried about possible insect bites so tucked herself firmly in under multiple covers, which led to her getting too hot so she wheeled herself back inside after an hour or so. I stayed out, to be awoken by rain. By the time I had wheeled myself back inside, the rain had stopped, but as it was the middle of the night i hadn't the motivation to wheel myself out again! It does get very windy from approx 2pm, which lasts until the sun sets." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2022
"Doro Nawas location is incredible, the "Fort" on arrival is very different. The greeting with singing was fun and we couldn't have felt more welcome.

The setting of each bungalow is clever with the outlook being very private. We did roll the bed onto the balcony to sleep under the stars which is magical, waking up in the morning with Springbok in front of the room was an added bonus.

The food was great and all the staff were wonderful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bromley

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2022
"The location is incredible, the staff could not be more attentive.

Despite the volume of tourists that stay each year, the team are genuinely pleased to welcome you to the Lodge.

The food was really good and so was the wine! Accommodation was excellent.

The guides are very knowledgeable and we were ale to see elephants and giraffes at close proximity." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
East Lulworth

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2022
"Friendly staff.

Great location" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Kartik
Patel

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2022
"What a welcome! Being greeted by song was super fun and we later found that singing and dancing was a delightful mainstay of Doro Nawas.

Our first night there was a meal on the rooftop on a clear night under the stars. Despite the cold wind of the desert, we were made very comfortable with blankets and hot water bottles. We found hot water bottles waiting for us in bed as well which was a nice surprise.

The rooms have an option to roll the bed out through the patio doors and on to the outdoor terrace so you can sleep under the stars. Unfortunately we didn’t try this out as it was far too windy during our stay and the same goes for the outdoor shower. Views from the room are so expansive that you cannot forget you’re in the middle of a desert. Sunset views from the balcony of the lodge (elevated location on a hill) were particularly memorable.

We had an informative morning drive with Bernard on the flora and fauna of the area, as well as getting to see a family of desert adapted elephants which was a highlight." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2022
"Lovely albeit hot place to chill out for a couple of days.

The night sky was amazing here and the staff were lovely" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Herne Bay

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2022
"This was our second favourite place to stay on our trip. The enthusiastic welcome by all the staff and the helpfulness and friendliness of everybody during our stay made it a very special place to stay.

The views from the main building and our rooms were amazing and the sunset was spectacular. We were disappointed to only spend one night here.

We also went on a trip to see the Desert Elephants. It took some time but it was great when we found a family of six elephants and our driver and guide for the trip was very informative." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs D.
Cheshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"Stunning location, stunning staff, stunning food. From the moment we arrived, being welcomed in song, to the moment we left, being sung to as we left to make our way onwards, we felt that nothing was too much trouble. The staff really tried to make you feel at home and were exceptional.

The manager, Fritz, led a cohesive and well-drillled team. The guides were knowledgeable and very skilled.

The views from the deck and the swimming pool are outstanding and the rooms are spacious, clean and feel secluded. Each has an enormous outside deck and shower area. It was absolutely beautiful." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Family P
Spain

"A very special place..."

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2022
"During our 3 week trip around Namibia, this is the place which most captured our hearts and which we would most like to return to. There was a magic to our stay here, created by the peace and the beauty of the landscape and the staff themselves, and we can't recommend it highly enough.

We were lucky enough to mostly have the lodge to ourselves during our 3 night stay, which meant there was plenty of time to chat with the team and learn more about the area, and the staff themselves. Conversations with one of the managers Fritz were particularly interesting and helpful to my understanding of local issues and the challenges experienced during these last few years of Covid. Our guide Stephanos was the best we met in Namibia, and our afternoon spent with him and a large herd of desert adapted elephant is a treasured memory for all of us.

Our family chalet was perfect: 2 huge beautiful rooms joined by a walkway at one end of the camp, with doors which we never bothered locking despite the lack of fences. Indeed for a family stay Doro Nawas really excels. Wilderness Safaris have trained some of their staff as "Bush Babies" which meant that at quiet moments staff would actively seek out my younger children to play. There were games and colouring available in the sitting room, and a "Bush Baby Pack" filled with child friendly items to borrow. These provided some of the happiest memories of our trip for our 8 year old and we would like to say a huge heartfelt thanks to Irene, Theodora and Agelencia for their kindness and fun.

Food here was outstanding, especially considering the remote location, and we loved the extra effort staff went to to serve dinner in different locations (the rooftop bbq was particularly memorable). The team also gave us such a treat with their singing and dancing....the best we heard in Namibia and delivered with such enthusiasm and joy that even our teenage son loved every minute.

We drove ourselves to the site of the rock art at Twyfelfontein and also to the Living Museum of Damara, which we loved. Both excursions were a big success with the whole family but at the Living Museum we had a really special experience which the kids are still raving about now.

I should add that we really appreciated Wilderness Safari's philosophy and commitment to doing things the right way, which gave us a rare feeling as tourists: that we could be part of the solution, rather than the problem. Their involvement with the Pack for a Purpose scheme meant we could support the local school, and in doing so my own children could feel a connection and sense of contribution.

All in all, we can't say how grateful we feel to have stayed here or how much we would like to return one day.

Thank you Doro Nawas!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

John
Braintree

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2022
"We loved the layout and design of the lodge and the staff were very good.

Dinner on the upstairs terrace was very atmospheric as was wheeling out the beds to sleep under the stars." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 448
93%
448 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
327
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (139 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (118 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (111 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (94 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (35 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa