This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
safari lovers
UK

"Lovely stay at Door Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2020
"This rather unusual looking camp perched on top of a rocky outcrop, has been cleverly designed to make full use of the stunning views. The individual villas/chalets are huge and comfortable and well spaced.
Very welcoming pool set into the rocks.

We were the only people staying so we were wonderfully looked after by the staff who had time to chat to us, which of course gives the tourist a small insight into their lives. We were sung to, both nights by the staff choir who sang beautifully. Actually we were sung to on arrival and departure as well.

On our second night they went to enormous trouble to set up a bush supper for us. We felt like royalty with all the attention.

Our guide was Stephen and we spent three excellent nature drives with him. We spent significant time with a herd of desert elephants who we followed along the riverbed. An absolute highlight for us, so much to learn about them. We then caught up with them again in the later afternoon about 40kms further on. We are interested in birds too so stopped regularly to identify some new ones for us." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Enjoyed our stay at Doro !Nawas!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2020
"We were promptly greeted at our luggage was taken to our room for us. We appreciated the refreshing towel and beverage.

After an introduction, we were able to dine on the deck overlooking the surrounds. What a fabulous setting including the building. It was structured in a manner that we were able to enjoy the many views.

Our guide Stephen met us during lunch and we chatted about our options for activities. He organized our 2 activities (to Twyfelfontein etcetera, and then on our 'Bush Walk' in the afternoon). Our guide Stephen was fabulous, he was friendly, and very knowledgeable. He also took into consideration our interest in nature, and provided an insight to the lands. He also had a fabulous sense of humor. We shall remember him as 'Desert Adapted Stephen'. We appreciated the bottles of cold water provided on our afternoon adventure. The food and drink during our excursions were fabulous. We appreciated being consulted as to when we wanted a 'tea break'. Stephen was also wonderful in the way that he was happy to stop where and when we liked to admire a view/take a photograph/talk about wildlife. We saw oryx, ostriches, and springbok.

One dinner was set out in the bush. We enjoy 'bush dinners', however, the timing was terrible. We thought we might have a pre-dinner drink at the bar before heading down, however, we knew that we were to depart soon, so we decided to wait. However, the other guests did not arrive back at the camp for quite some some, and then even when they did arrive, those guests insisted on showering before attending dinner. So we had been waiting for quite some time - waiting for the other guests. and in the end, the staff said that we would go without them. It would have been better to have been informed about the time frame. If someone had told us that it would be 30 - 40 minutes, we would have been fine with that, and ordered a drink. However, to be left there waiting and not knowing how long the wait would be, was frustrating. The walk to the dinner was lovely and the setting was amazing. We enjoyed the arrival drink and the warm fire. The setting was truly gorgeous!

The drink service at the bush dinner was awful! Besides the welcome drink, I was not offered a drink until everyone else was already served their entree. Wine service started at one side/end of the long table, and it was going around, however, just before it reached my husband, it stopped...He had to specifically ask an attendant for a drink. He had asked for both of us, and I had put in my request for a wine, but not served. So I was then the only person at the table without a drink. It took a while longer to get a glass of wine, by which time, everyone else's entree plates were being cleared! I specifically asked one attendant, she had told me to wait...
The food was excellent. The entree was tasty. I enjoyed being able to select my choice of meat/ etcetera at the buffet. The food was delicious.
Again, the drink service was terrible. I enjoy a glass of red wine with my red meat. I sat for quite some time, waiting for waitstaff...in the end, I had to go and ask someone for a glass of red wine.
The dessert was tasty, but it was a little bit awkward being served the dessert, whilst the singing/dancing was happening, as our backs were turned to the staff. Perhaps the performance could occur post the main, and prior to the dessert being served.

We LOVED the singing!!! Thank you!

We LOVED being able to sleep outside on the deck! The stars were unreal! What gorgeous accommodation!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr LeenP
Lewes

"beautiful place in desert"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Beautiful place in the desert. Very hot. No water hole. Many animals elsewhere because of drought.

Staff were really lovely and the place seemed well connected to the community .However the lodge still seemed to offer trips to see Desert Elephants when we knew none had been seen in the area for a month as they had moved north because of the drought.

Despite lack of elephants the lodge was a lovely place to stay." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
J&J
Plockton

"Good Damaraland base"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"We arrived quite late owing to a flat tyre, and check-in was slightly haphazard, with a wait while staff were assembled to welcome us. All we really wanted was a cold beer! Nonetheless, staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The lodge is in a spectacular setting, and the individual chalets are spacious and comfortable, although the dark wall finish gives them a sombre feeling which may not be to everyones's taste. The central dining/seating area is well designed so that even though it can be quite windy there is always somewhere sheltered.

The "bush dinner" on the first night was perhaps a bit of a strained affair. This was the only place, apart from Halali, where we encountered a large tour group which resulted in a small arbitrary choice of dinner companions. It seems that this event is a regular occurrence, which again may not be to everyone's preference. The meal itself, and the more conventional arrangement the following night, were however perfectly good.

On our morning game drive we found several groups of desert-adapted elephants, and were able to spend a good amount of time with them. Other sightings include giraffe and oryx. This was a very worthwhile activity, and a highlight of our stay here.

As we needed to get a new tyre, we did not participate in any other organised activity, but just managed to get enough time to visit the Twyfelfontein archaeological site - worth it, but very crowded.

Overall a very pleasant stay, with great staff." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"Two excellent experiences: the bush dinner, and sleeping outside on the large patio in front of our bedroom. The pool here was excellent, long enough for one to really swim. We enjoyed the singing." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Beautiful scenery "

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"After the excitement of Etosha, we really enjoyed the slightly slower pace of our time at Doro Nawas, which is .. We really supported the ethos behind Doro Nawas and the ownership model.

The bush dinner was a real highlight. After a number of evenings sat at a table for two, it was actually really enjoyable to sit at a long table and chat to other guests and our hosts. The food was excellent and it was a really atmospheric evening.

We decided to drive ourselves around rather than join the excursion. We thoroughly enjoyed the rock carvings at Twyfelfontein, despite the drive there being one of the bumpiest of the trip. The organ pipes, burnt mountain and petrified forest were a little underwhelming, and the entrance prices for these did feel comparatively a bit high. These attractions cumulatively only took us a morning to see, so we spent the afternoon relaxing and reading. This area could potentially benefit from some walking trails, or Doro Nawas could potentially run some guided walks, just to increase the variety of activities on offer and enable visitors to immerse themselves in the beautiful scenery. Overall we would say there was just enough to justify a two night stay.

This was also the only place where we encountered a large group (20+ Spanish people led by quite a vocal tour guide). They were all very pleasant, but it did change the dynamic slightly as their comings and goings rather dominated the place! It made us realise that the absence of large groups at the other places we stayed was a real positive." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Sussex

"Loved Doro! Nawas"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"This was our first experience of a Namibian lodge and what a fabulous introduction.

The staff were just lovely and very talented singers and dancers too. Arriving at the same time as an American bus tour, we had to manoeuvre for lounger space at the narrow pool, however the chance to cool off was blissful. We stayed only one night but the evening meal in this very special desert environment was a highlight of our trip and never-to-be-forgotten.

In the morning we were up at 6am to pack the car and have breakfast, since we were checking out before going on the Desert Elephant safari with our friendly guide Geraldo. We saw plenty of close-up elephants, ostrich, chacma baboons, giraffes and some distant zebra. A fun first jeep adventure. I also loved seeing a glimpse of the village where Geraldo's little son went to school." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"My first time here and well worth the visit.

Just getting the opportunity to see desert elephants up close was worth the trip (possibly some of the worse gravel roads of the trip to get here).

The rooms a big and airy and really clean. The pool was well utilised and the location is excellent for the local gems to be found in this area." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Really nice lodge with great staff and an amazing view.

I'd like to stay there again and again!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

P & B,
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Absolutely wonderful.

Our guide, Immanuel, was brilliant and such a lovely person.

We loved the singing and dancing by the staff and still have the bye-bye song running through our heads." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa