This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

479 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 74 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

2% success

Elephant

89% success

Oryx

55% success

Giraffe

52% success

Zebra

20% success

Wildebeest

7% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Black Rhino

2% success

Spotted Hyena

2% success

Showing 1-10 of 479
Duration
Arrival date
MarVil
South Africa

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2024
"What a stunning lodge and amazing experience!

The only downsize is the difficulty for my elderly parents in getting to and from the main lodge for meals and activities but the staff did everything to help and accommodate us!

The activities and the food and the service - singing welcome was so great - all deserve high praise!

Sleeping under the stars was perhaps my favorite thing to do on the entire trip" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Miss Honey T.
Greece

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2024
"Loved the setting.

Wonderful staff." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Berkeley

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2024
"The stay at Doro Nawas was a highpoint of the trip. I would almost fly all the way to Namibia just to stay here.

Location is perfect: As the lodge is perched on a hilltop, you really get a sense of the topography around you, & you are aware of where you are.

Staff: A wonderful mix of professional and personal, everyone is engaging and highly competent. Many (at our encouragement) tried to teach us the local language. They shared much about life in Damaraland.

Lodging: Extremely comfortable chalets, with the option (which we chose each night) of sleeping under the many stars. Food: The best we had in Namibia, every meal, every snack.

Wildlife viewing with Stephanus, highly trained guide: A highlight within a highlight. He provided a well informed successful wildlife trip, and shared a lot of information about Namibia. He was a friend away from home. This was also a valuable cultural experience for us -- in addition to the language lessons, the staff is very embracing, and their nightly singing (and dancing) is something that will stay in our hearts for a very long time." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Miss G
California

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2024
"My welcome started with a rousing song from all of the staff!

Beautiful lodge and the staff went above and beyond to make my stay everything I hoped it would be! The lodge and my accommodations were lovely! Staff so friendly and accommodating!

Made me a special birthday celebration which was unexpected and so fun! Meals fantastic! My guide superb!

The activities which included visits to see the petroglyphs and Damara people were great! My guide was very nice, knowledgeable and went above and beyond to ensure we experienced everything there was to see especially the wildlife!

Can't wait to go back!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

The Swiss
Switzerland

"Wonderful community run lodge"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2024
"We booked 2 of the 16 chalets for 3 nights. It took us a little bit of courage to book, fearing at first the rather dark fortress appearance of the common building on top of the hill. You may feel a little bit like Luke Skywalker on Tatooine with the Jawas.

Megan convinced us and we are glad we stayed there. The joint venture between Wilderness and the Doro Nawas community seems to work very well. The majority of the staff is local (not the case in many other lodges) and extremely kind. The checkin & checkout procedure includes being greeted by chants by the staff, not cheesy at all. We could feel true welcome & farewell. Pool area is very nice.

Excellent meals with fantastic view on the desert, and rolling the bed outside the chalet on the platform to sleep under the milky way are two other highlights. Excursions with our very kind guide Stephanos to see the desert elephants and the ancient bushmen engravings at Twyfelfontain are a must. We added the petrified forest, the organ pipes and a Damara living museum.

Great ecofriendly community run experience." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Dr and El Jeffe
MT

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2024
"Driving to Doro Nawas we saw many animals along the road. The accommodations are excellent- spacious and private. Staff was like at every other lodge was friendly and knowledgeable and excellent. Food was excellent. You must stop at the bakery Outyu - on the way to the lodge. Location was great - animals were great - people were great." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs F
Somerset

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2024
"Welcomed with singing and smiles.
Fabulous view from the communal areas and bedroom.
Loved sleeping under the stars.

Food is served buffet style which we don't particularly like.

NOTE - Night drives were not on offer though you do advertise them as available in your brochure." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs Y
Suffolk

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2024
"A really enjoyable stay. The welcome from the staff was memorable. We did a guided walk when we arrived which was interesting. We drove to Twylfontain to see the rock drawings which was an interesting day out." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ruddy
Lewes

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2024
"Unusual lodge, looks like a fortress on the plain. Excellent staff & service, lovely guides (Stephanus & Kanu), well appointed lodge & room (sleeping under the stars a plus).

Overall, very good without being truly excellent.

Highlights incl staff singing & a herd of elephant that we tracked for an hour, truly memorable." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

namibia
sue

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2024
"On first sight this was quite an austere looking lodge, set up on a hillside with the most panoramic view. The welcome was quite memorable as we were handed a chilled flannel and refreshing drink followed by all the staff singing to us in their native Damar language.

The accommodation was in individual rondavels dotted all around the foot of the hillside with the most wonderful uninterrupted views of the bush through to the mountains on the horizon. The rooms were large, simply furnished with the most comfortable of beds and large french windows which opened up onto a private patio. No aircon because of their eco credentials I think as well as their remoteness, but a ceiling fan as well as a free standing electric fan. The ceiling was thatched and the walls were canvas.

Dinner was buffet style with quite a large choice. Soup and dessert however were served at the table. The wonderful staff entertained us with traditional songs at the end of the meal and seemed to take as much pleasure in singing as we did in listening.

A choice of savoury tart or cake were available for self service in the afternoon.
A torch was provided for finding our way up and down the path in the evening.
A small pool area was very welcome in the heat of the afternoon. The water was cold but refreshing.The 360 panoramic view from the wide verandah which surrounded the public areas was spectacular. This is where breakfast was served in the morning.
A very peaceful and relaxing setting in the middle of nowhere!
We drove ourselves to the Twyfelfontein rock paintings over the extremely bumpy gravel road.

The only wildlife we spotted were ostriches." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 479
94%
479 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
356
98
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (153 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (123 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (117 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (116 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (98 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


93% (43 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


85% (8 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


97% (6 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


93% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa