This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

104 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

73% success

Oryx

69% success

Giraffe

36% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 104
Duration
Arrival date
Alice
Dusseldorf

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"The Camp Kipwe was our second best stay during the trip. The lodge is totally hidden in the rocks and it is not possible to spot it from the street. It is melted in the nature.

The rooms are in stone and wood and the bathrooms are external. The Lobby and the restaurant are great in terms of food and atmosphere. There is a fantastic view point were to enjoy a drink during sunset.

Mat was the greatest guide. We went for the excursion to spot the Desert adapted elephants and it was amazing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2022
"This is a beautiful camp with friendly, helpful staff who were all exceptionally enthusiastic about the birds, wildlife and nature (Philip and KK especially).

The rooms are clean, cool and comfortable, with private, open air shower / toilet facilities. The windows are small but that helps to keep the room cool as it is crafted within the rocks. The pool area was great and the sundowner spot at the top of the rocks was very special - a great view, well serviced bar, helpful staff, snacks and the opportunity to watch the amazing sunset before descending to the main area for dinner. The food was also exceptional here and we were treated to dinner in the boma on one evening.

The desert elephant tracking was also great - our guide, Matthew, was exceptionally knowledgable about the elephants and managed to track them despite the distance that we needed to cover and abundance of grass and water. We were given a tour of the new suites that have been built at the camp - at the top of the hill, excellent views, very private and exceptionally luxurious, they are an amazing addition to an already great place to stay." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs A.
MA, USA

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2021
"One of our favorite lodges!

Absolutely loved the setting, room with outdoor shower and bathroom, excellent staff that went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and delicious food.

We did 2 guided tours. One was desert adapted elephant tracking. The guide was excellent and we saw 8 elephants.
The second was to see the rock paintings, which was great as well." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

8 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Ms K & Mr J
USA

"Camp Kipwe is a gem!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2020
"Such a lovely camp! There are only 9 rooms so there's a very intimate feeling. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned. No mosquito nets so it was important to keep the windows closed and the AC on - since it cools off so nicely at night it might have been nice to open windows. The outdoor "bathrooms" were fun, although a tad chilly first thing in the morning - I wonder how well that works in winter? The pool is pretty but tiny.

The lodge is charming and while the main area is roomy, it was always arranged so that mealtimes provided an intimate experience for everyone. Everyone gathers for sundowner cocktails on the lookout at the top of the camp; this was a great place to enjoy the view, but wasn't open until 6:30. It should be pointed out that our booking form showed that drinks and laundry were included. Drinks were in fact NOT included in the room rate, and the camp isn't offering a laundry service due to the lack of water. There is a small pool beside the lounge/dining room which attracts lots of birds and lizards so that you are serenaded as you sit.

The Nature Tour was fantastic! In addition to the two of us, there was one large Spanish group with its own guide at our camp. Thank you Camp Kipwe for recognizing that this wouldn't have been a great experience for us, and arranging for us to go with another couple from their sister lodge. Our guide was experienced and gave us a great time, finding elephants twice, despite the guidebooks telling us that they can't be seen from November to March (we were there in January). Also being off-season, there weren't many groups out there and we had plenty of peace and time to watch the elephants in the river beds. Even if we hadn't seen them, it was great fun driving up and down in the sandy river-bottom!

The afternoon excursion was to the rock carvings at Twyfelfontein, as well as Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes. The carvings were interesting and our guide was well-informed about them. This was a very hot activity and I wished I'd brought even lighter-weight clothes. The other attractions weren't as good, although I think they may have been better viewed later in the day.

Food was excellent and you couldn't wish for a better view." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2019
"Great location for seeing Twelfelfontain.

Relaxing, great sundown location and food.

Cool rooms but a bit hot. Leave the top of the Dutch doors open at night for more airflow." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S.
Surrey

"Loved it Here"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2019
"We stayed in the suite and it was incredible.

A stunning room and wonderful outdoor space. Great food, service and drive guide. Excellent day trip viewing the desert elephants.

Highly recommend and would have loved to have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Our first night dinner was spoilt because they decided without consultation that we would be given a "treat" and sat on our own on a windy balcony where the lighting was so poor we could not see our food properly. They tried to do something similar on the second night and we objected. Otherwise we enjoyed our time at Kipwe and thought the rock art was well worth the visit.

We did not go on the drive to find the desert elephants where they also saw giraffe and zebra." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Amazing Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Camp Kipwe is situated in a spectacular setting in Damaraland with extremely comfortable and well equipped circular chalets set into the hillside overlooking a desert landscape. One of the unique features is a sundowner bar located at the top of the hill just above the lodge. Amazing views and sunsets. The lodge has a very nice dining room serving excellent food and great wines.
The owner of the lodge was very accommodating and arranged a private tour for our group one morning to look for the desert elephants. This lodge has a beautiful small pool set into the rock hillside with a reasonable quantity of lounge chairs. It was recommended to us by our guide that we visit the Damaraland cultural living museum just a few kilometres from the lodge, and this was a great recommendation, being able to experience the life of a typical local Damaraland village. Our guide, "Taffy" who led us on the early morning activity to see the elephants, was a very knowledgeable and personable driver/guide.
Camp Kipwe was one of the overall highlights of our trip" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"I loved this place! So beautifully designed - a visual treat with stunning views... The service was faultless.

High levels of luxury but with a sense that you were in a very natural environment. Classy! Food was amazing too and beautifully presented.

We did not stay long so could not really say much about the activities. We did have a good trip out to see the rock art with an excellent guide ." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune lover
London

"Fun at Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2019
"We particularly loved the design of this lodge which merged so well with the environment. We thought the outdoor bathrooms were fun and loved the main room at the Lodge.

The safaris were excellent and the landscape stunning." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 104
95%
104 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (440 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (135 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (116 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (109 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (91 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (26 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa