This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

101 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

30% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 101
Duration
Arrival date
Ms K & Mr J
USA

"Camp Kipwe is a gem!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2020
"Such a lovely camp! There are only 9 rooms so there's a very intimate feeling. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned. No mosquito nets so it was important to keep the windows closed and the AC on - since it cools off so nicely at night it might have been nice to open windows. The outdoor "bathrooms" were fun, although a tad chilly first thing in the morning - I wonder how well that works in winter? The pool is pretty but tiny.

The lodge is charming and while the main area is roomy, it was always arranged so that mealtimes provided an intimate experience for everyone. Everyone gathers for sundowner cocktails on the lookout at the top of the camp; this was a great place to enjoy the view, but wasn't open until 6:30. It should be pointed out that our booking form showed that drinks and laundry were included. Drinks were in fact NOT included in the room rate, and the camp isn't offering a laundry service due to the lack of water. There is a small pool beside the lounge/dining room which attracts lots of birds and lizards so that you are serenaded as you sit.

The Nature Tour was fantastic! In addition to the two of us, there was one large Spanish group with its own guide at our camp. Thank you Camp Kipwe for recognizing that this wouldn't have been a great experience for us, and arranging for us to go with another couple from their sister lodge. Our guide was experienced and gave us a great time, finding elephants twice, despite the guidebooks telling us that they can't be seen from November to March (we were there in January). Also being off-season, there weren't many groups out there and we had plenty of peace and time to watch the elephants in the river beds. Even if we hadn't seen them, it was great fun driving up and down in the sandy river-bottom!

The afternoon excursion was to the rock carvings at Twyfelfontein, as well as Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes. The carvings were interesting and our guide was well-informed about them. This was a very hot activity and I wished I'd brought even lighter-weight clothes. The other attractions weren't as good, although I think they may have been better viewed later in the day.

Food was excellent and you couldn't wish for a better view." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2019
"Great location for seeing Twelfelfontain.

Relaxing, great sundown location and food.

Cool rooms but a bit hot. Leave the top of the Dutch doors open at night for more airflow." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S.
Surrey

"Loved it Here"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2019
"We stayed in the suite and it was incredible.

A stunning room and wonderful outdoor space. Great food, service and drive guide. Excellent day trip viewing the desert elephants.

Highly recommend and would have loved to have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Our first night dinner was spoilt because they decided without consultation that we would be given a "treat" and sat on our own on a windy balcony where the lighting was so poor we could not see our food properly. They tried to do something similar on the second night and we objected. Otherwise we enjoyed our time at Kipwe and thought the rock art was well worth the visit.

We did not go on the drive to find the desert elephants where they also saw giraffe and zebra." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Amazing Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Camp Kipwe is situated in a spectacular setting in Damaraland with extremely comfortable and well equipped circular chalets set into the hillside overlooking a desert landscape. One of the unique features is a sundowner bar located at the top of the hill just above the lodge. Amazing views and sunsets. The lodge has a very nice dining room serving excellent food and great wines.
The owner of the lodge was very accommodating and arranged a private tour for our group one morning to look for the desert elephants. This lodge has a beautiful small pool set into the rock hillside with a reasonable quantity of lounge chairs. It was recommended to us by our guide that we visit the Damaraland cultural living museum just a few kilometres from the lodge, and this was a great recommendation, being able to experience the life of a typical local Damaraland village. Our guide, "Taffy" who led us on the early morning activity to see the elephants, was a very knowledgeable and personable driver/guide.
Camp Kipwe was one of the overall highlights of our trip" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"I loved this place! So beautifully designed - a visual treat with stunning views... The service was faultless.

High levels of luxury but with a sense that you were in a very natural environment. Classy! Food was amazing too and beautifully presented.

We did not stay long so could not really say much about the activities. We did have a good trip out to see the rock art with an excellent guide ." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune lover
London

"Fun at Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2019
"We particularly loved the design of this lodge which merged so well with the environment. We thought the outdoor bathrooms were fun and loved the main room at the Lodge.

The safaris were excellent and the landscape stunning." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2019
"We loved our little hut with an outside bathroom. Never had this before! In the night we had a few mosquitos. A mosquito net would be fine.
The staff, serving the dinner, couldn't tell us anything about the wines they offered. The food was very good.
We loved the sundowner up the hill.
We made two excursions: Twywelfontain and a morning nature drive. At both times we saw the desert elephants and also mountain zebras." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Four poms
Somerset

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2019
"Wonderful location and imaginative architecture amongst the rocks.

Staff willing and friendly but require further training. Food quality a bit erratic.

We declined the trip to see the desert elephants on the basis they had moved 70k away and it would have meant may hours in the viewing vehicle.

Morning drive to model tribal village interesting with good curios. Afternoon trip to bushman paintings interesting but let down by amateurish guide." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs S
Southsea

"Excellent Lodge..after a Tough/Hard Drive"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2019
"Camp Kipwe is not a place for the faint hearted to travel to. Really isolated after a good 3 hours of hard dirt-track driving but the isolation, quietness and amazing scenery made it worthwhile.

We were greeted by the Manager, Sarah, but she was pretty invisible apart from that. That said, here staff were all very helpful, charming and attentive. The ‘Viewpoint’ climb for sundowners was worth it with amazing views. Great selection of Virgin & Alcoholic Cocktails at the top plus a nice complimentary offering of canopies awaited guests on arrival. The evening dinner was excellent and on our 2nd / final night we were treated to dinner with 2 other couples / guests to dinner by candlelight by the Boma Fire...a unique and pleasurable experience where the food, staff and service were all excellent.

For those requiring ‘wifi’, there wasn’t any and unconvincing excuses were given as to why not...the bottom line in my opinion is that the management / owner didn’t appear to want to pay for the technical solution which is available these days.one other guest commented that like water & electricity, in this day and age WiFi is essential and assumed to be provided. While the Expert Africa information pack referenced this to be the case, we couldn’t find reference on the Camp Kipwe website that WiFi wasn’t available (mis-selling??!!).

Come on Management....it is 2019!!!

Also, insufficient umbrellas by the pool...just 2 for 5 sets of sun-beds." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 101
95%
101 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
82
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa