This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

110 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

76% success

Oryx

47% success

Giraffe

41% success

Zebra

22% success

Wildebeest

6% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 110
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"Although it’s listed as including drinks and laundry, it doesn’t and as there’s an engraved sign on the bathroom mirror that they’re not doing laundry due to water shortages, it’s clearly a long-term plan.

The road to the camp is horrendous and it was a relief to arrive with the car in one piece & very glad we were in a 4 wheel drive! There were no activities planned on the first day, which was actually quite nice as it gave us a chance to chill.

The bungalows are quite sweet and we had a separate deck with chairs looking towards the west for sunset. The bathroom is all outside & it’s surprising to feel a little chilly in the shower when the temperature outside was so high.

The nature drive the following morning was great and we saw plenty of elephants as well as giraffes. We also did the afternoon drive to see the rock carvings and enjoyed that more down to the quality of the guide." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Ms TC
Florida

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2022
"A wonderful surprise, wished we stayed here longer than one night, the bungalow was lovely, and the meals were excellent.

The staff was very attentive.

Would definitely consider staying here again, the place was very peaceful and the scenery was amazing!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Family A
Scarborough

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"This was a real joy and I am glad that we stayed three nights. Excellent drive to see the elephants which were quite a long way down the river. Also saw red hartebeest, kudu and springbok. We saw leopard tracks in the river bed when we went on a walk.

The views from our room were outstanding.

Food was excellent. There was a really lovely relaxed vibe. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mrs H.
Whitchurch

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"Friendly staff and good accommodation. I expect the outside bathrooms could be chilly in the winter.

The walk up to the sundowner spot was well worth it!

Great guide for our nature drive which resulted in a super time spent with breeding herd." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
London

"Camp Kipwe "

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2022
"We had booked a thatched suite and were given the Kipwe Suite which was fabulous. Very private in an elevated position within the rocks with fabulous views (including sunset). The suite was huge with 2 terraces, outside bathroom including a large bath. It really was very special and we wish we had stayed an extra night to have had time to enjoy it all. They have viewpoint with a bar that is really nice to enjoy a sundowner too.

We booked the morning game drive in search of the desert adapted elephants. On our way we were lucky to see a huge family of Ostrich including babies. We soon found a herd of around 16 elephants including tiny babies. We had a wonderful time with them. Our guide Ziggy made sure we had the best viewing points and they came up so close to us with one of them touching my arm as it passed by me. We also saw 5 giraffes.

We enjoyed a coffee in a raised spot above where they were. We then followed the elephants for their drink at a man made waterhole provided by a local village.

In the afternoon we had booked the tour to see the rock carvings at Twyfelfontein which although these were very nice to see it was far too hot. Absolutely no shade and some steep climbing which was not good in the extreme heat. In hindsight we wish we had spent the afternoon relaxing at Camp Kipwe and drove ourselves here the following morning early where we could have paid a small entrance fee and had the same guide to show us around in less heat." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Mrs A.
Newcastle

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2022
"What a beautiful place.

Excellent service at all times, great facilities and superb food." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

7 sightings

Alice
Dusseldorf

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"The Camp Kipwe was our second best stay during the trip. The lodge is totally hidden in the rocks and it is not possible to spot it from the street. It is melted in the nature.

The rooms are in stone and wood and the bathrooms are external. The Lobby and the restaurant are great in terms of food and atmosphere. There is a fantastic view point were to enjoy a drink during sunset.

Mat was the greatest guide. We went for the excursion to spot the Desert adapted elephants and it was amazing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2022
"This is a beautiful camp with friendly, helpful staff who were all exceptionally enthusiastic about the birds, wildlife and nature (Philip and KK especially).

The rooms are clean, cool and comfortable, with private, open air shower / toilet facilities. The windows are small but that helps to keep the room cool as it is crafted within the rocks. The pool area was great and the sundowner spot at the top of the rocks was very special - a great view, well serviced bar, helpful staff, snacks and the opportunity to watch the amazing sunset before descending to the main area for dinner. The food was also exceptional here and we were treated to dinner in the boma on one evening.

The desert elephant tracking was also great - our guide, Matthew, was exceptionally knowledgable about the elephants and managed to track them despite the distance that we needed to cover and abundance of grass and water. We were given a tour of the new suites that have been built at the camp - at the top of the hill, excellent views, very private and exceptionally luxurious, they are an amazing addition to an already great place to stay." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

A, D, & M
Boston, USA

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2021
"One of our favorite lodges!

Absolutely loved the setting, room with outdoor shower and bathroom, excellent staff that went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and delicious food.

We did 2 guided tours. One was desert adapted elephant tracking. The guide was excellent and we saw 8 elephants.
The second was to see the rock paintings, which was great as well." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

8 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Ms K & Mr J
USA

"Camp Kipwe is a gem!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2020
"Such a lovely camp! There are only 9 rooms so there's a very intimate feeling. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned. No mosquito nets so it was important to keep the windows closed and the AC on - since it cools off so nicely at night it might have been nice to open windows. The outdoor "bathrooms" were fun, although a tad chilly first thing in the morning - I wonder how well that works in winter? The pool is pretty but tiny.

The lodge is charming and while the main area is roomy, it was always arranged so that mealtimes provided an intimate experience for everyone. Everyone gathers for sundowner cocktails on the lookout at the top of the camp; this was a great place to enjoy the view, but wasn't open until 6:30. It should be pointed out that our booking form showed that drinks and laundry were included. Drinks were in fact NOT included in the room rate, and the camp isn't offering a laundry service due to the lack of water. There is a small pool beside the lounge/dining room which attracts lots of birds and lizards so that you are serenaded as you sit.

The Nature Tour was fantastic! In addition to the two of us, there was one large Spanish group with its own guide at our camp. Thank you Camp Kipwe for recognizing that this wouldn't have been a great experience for us, and arranging for us to go with another couple from their sister lodge. Our guide was experienced and gave us a great time, finding elephants twice, despite the guidebooks telling us that they can't be seen from November to March (we were there in January). Also being off-season, there weren't many groups out there and we had plenty of peace and time to watch the elephants in the river beds. Even if we hadn't seen them, it was great fun driving up and down in the sandy river-bottom!

The afternoon excursion was to the rock carvings at Twyfelfontein, as well as Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes. The carvings were interesting and our guide was well-informed about them. This was a very hot activity and I wished I'd brought even lighter-weight clothes. The other attractions weren't as good, although I think they may have been better viewed later in the day.

Food was excellent and you couldn't wish for a better view." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 110
95%
110 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
90
17
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (446 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (138 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (117 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa