This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Syderstone

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Namibia & Botswana 2018

Namibia and 1 other country between 2 Sep 2018 and 22 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our fourth trip to Namibia, first to Botswana, and we think it was the best trip of all. We have used Expert Africa for every trip, along routes that we have chosen and planned ourselves. We will definitely continue to do so. Their staff's professionalism, knowledge and understanding of the country and the visitor's needs are second to none; we would not contemplate looking at another company.

The route, which Claire advised us on, was excellent, taking in a variety of landscapes from these beautiful countries. She took our initial wish-list and turned it into an affordable and practical trip. Perhaps a couple of the drives between destinations were a little too long, but certainly they were achievable in a day.

We have not visited the north of Namibia before and this, along with Botswana, provided a very different, water-based experience. The lodges were all excellent; all very different, but provided amazing experiences. We are always stunned at the quality of food, service and accommodation that are produced in the middle of nowhere!

The Namibian peoples are so friendly and eager to please their visitors. The guides are always professional, knowledgeable and well-educated. They manage to provide a personal experience to each and every visitor.

It was a bonus to be greeted at Windhoek airport by a member of Wilderness safaris and helped through the car hire process. Also, the use of their lounge upon our return was good, as was the help to bypass a long queue for the baggage check.

The only trouble is - we want to go back again now!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, it's all just great."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Comfortable start to our trip"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"The villa is in a quiet location, easily accessed from the airport road and close to the famous Joe's Beerhouse for your evening meal and introduction to Namibia's cuisine.

The room was quite small, but adequate after an overnight flight. The bed was comfortable! There is a very pleasant guest area, with tea and coffee always available.

We expect that most people just pass through, like us, and this guesthouse does all that is required for that purpose."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Wonderful time at Erongo Wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"We enjoyed the wide choice of activity at Erongo and especially appreciated that the walks were tailored to suit individual capabilities. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The whole atmosphere was of a friendly family-run lodge.

The food was superb, as was the service, and all the better for being eaten outside under the stars.

Make sure that you are confident in driving a 4x4 before you attempt the steep and rocky final approach to the lodge. If in doubt, leave your vehicle in the secure parking area and accept the offer of transport by the lodge.

The only observation is that there are steep climbs both to the rooms and to the main area. This is because it is built in a ravine, but those with walking difficulties or heart problems may find this a problem."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo is Okaukuejo!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Okaukuejo has changed little in the four trips, over 18 years, that we have made. It does the job in providing accommodation and food, alongside unrivalled 24 hour access to the floodlit waterhole. We would certainly not choose to stay outside Etosha, just for possible higher-class accommodation at a much more expensive rate.

The check-in and check-out processes are slow, but there are lots of people, especially if you arrive at the end of the day and leave first thing in the morning. Just be patient.

Our room was rather tired and dated and, although there was a kitchenette, this had no crockery or cutlery. It was clean and tidy and everything worked. It would be rather difficult to cater for yourself.

The restaurant has improved over the years and the service is good. You do have to book for dinner, which is easily done, and you will be better received than if you just walk in and expect a table. The food is typical mass-catering buffet-style, but is hot and perfectly edible.

The waterhole never disappoints, day or night. We spent 5 hours there one morning and saw literally hundreds of animals of all types, constantly coming and going. It was an amazing sight and experience.

As long as you go to Okaukuejo expecting lots of people and the limitations that this puts upon the catering, service and accommodation, then you won't be disappointed."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"One night a Halali"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Halali Camp has been updated compared to Okaukuejo, with new chalets and improved restaurant facilities. It is smaller and therefore quieter than Okaukuejo.

The waterhole is some distance from the rooms, though you can drive and park closer, and it is also a clamber over rocks to find a seat, not easy at night. However, animals are attracted and we saw large herd of elephant here, enjoying plenty of antics and denying access to several black rhino.

Our room was fine, with two large double bedrooms, and a fully-equipped kitchenette. The restaurant food isn't gourmet, but you shouldn't expect this in a camp of this size and type.

Halali gives good access to many other waterholes in Etosha and is a good base for game sightings."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Fort"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"Namutoni Camp has new chalets and the fort is only in use for a gift shop (last time we were here, we stayed in the fort!)

Our room was large and well-furnished, but, as with all the Etosha camps, there seems to be little maintenance (dripping taps, running toilets). The bathroom was very odd; completely open to the bedroom with a double shower and a bath! The complete lack of privacy could put off some people.

The numbers staying at Namutoni aren't that large, but it seems to attract plenty of coach parties and lodge safari trips, especially for lunch.

It's a good base from which to visit plenty of waterholes, but the one at Namutoni itself is virtually surrounded by tall reeds and, despite a new viewing area, you'd be lucky to see much here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe River Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"Our room was large and there was much attention to detail in the furnishings. We particularly enjoyed the books of Namibian historical tales. The balcony had a direct view of the river so we could watch the villagers and animals on the Angolan side.

Food was excellent, with plenty of choice. Dinner consisted of a set starter and dessert, with a buffet main. The staff were attentive and very friendly during meals and their after-dinner entertainment was well received. However, during the day staff were not much in evidence; certainly not the constant attention that is paid at some other lodges.

A flask of coffee and biscuits were left outside the room first thing in the morning, which was a thoughtful touch.

We enjoyed the sundowner cruise along the river, but otherwise felt that there was little to do either at the lodge or in the area. After busy days driving to waterholes in Etosha, this was a peaceful time, but, personally, we wanted more. It feels very much like a one-night stop for most people, which is a shame."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Nunda River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"Lovely room on the riverside. All very comfortable. The view from the toilet was great!

The food was very good and we liked the fact that the manager and family ate with the guests and spoke to everyone during the meal. The only disappointment was on the braai night, when some guests took far too much, leaving no seconds for us! So get to the dining room promptly!

It was easy to visit Mahango Park in our vehicle, but we were grateful for the advice on routes from the manager. The Park has plenty of wildlife, including water animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Lianshulu Bush Lodge

"Lianshulu Bush Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"We had a superb room beside the water. Be warned that use of hairdryers, chargers, kettle etc. is restricted in the rooms, but facilities are provided in the main guest area.

The food was excellent, with good service. The staff were friendly, helpful and constantly in attendance, offering drinks or just a chat.. I wasn't well one evening and they were most concerned and insisted on providing room service of water and simple food.

Animals, including hippo and elephants, roam the site, so an escort is provided between the rooms and dining area after dark. We will particularly remember the elephants enjoying a midnight feast right outside our room.

The sundowner game drive and morning cruise were both very enjoyable. We could have visited a local village too.

We understand that this is a cheaper version of the main Lianshulu Lodge, but it is hard to imagine how paying more money could improve the experience that we had. Guests from the main lodge joined us for the activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri - heaven!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"We really loved everything about Nxamaseri! Our room was amazing, beautifully furnished with a large balcony overlooking the water. (actually, it was the honeymoon suite)

The young managers were like a breath of fresh air. They were so friendly and lively and it felt as if we were visiting their home. One of them was always in attendance if we were in the guest area and nothing was too much trouble. We were extremely fortunate to have the entire site to ourselves for one day, so it felt like our own private island.

The journey to the lodge, some 45 minutes by 4x4 and then boat, was amazing. We had own own guide for the entire stay; he was friendly and informative and clearly loved his sharing his home environs with visitors. The boat trips were designed to meet our wishes and interests; the early morning mokoro trip and the sundowner boat trip were both outstanding.

The food was absolutely of 5 star standard and plentiful. The managers ate with the guests and were attentive to everyone.

We can't really praise this place enough; it was the the highlight of our trip.

A word of warning: in September 2018 we found the state of the road, both north of the lodge (to the Namibian border) and south (through Gumare), absolutely treacherous. The locals describe "potholes", which is a gross understatement. The holes are continuous, often stretching across the entire road, and a man could easily lie down inside them. They are very hard to spot until you are on top of them. It is possible to drive off the tar road, as many do to avoid the holes, or you will have to slalom through. Either way, please do take extra care and allow plenty of time to drive slowly on these sections."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

"Edo's Camp reviesw"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our stay here, though it felt like the camp is a work in progress. It has much to offer and vast potential, which the current management team are working towards. It doesn't seem to be well-known at the moment, but deserves to be a popular destination in the future.

We had a comfortable, large room, although the furnishings were a little dated, with a clear view of the camp's waterhole. We are aware that our room was far superior to some others at the site.

The activities were excellent, with our own guide. The sundowner drive was very good, with close-up sightings of a white rhino. Our early morning walk was also excellent, with our guide showing a good knowledge of the flora and fauna. We also had a visit to a nearby San village, although this was shorter than expected, due to the 'old man', who should have shown us various bush skills, having gone 'walkabout'! The local art gallery and museum were also worth a visit. The local pre-school project, also a project of the manager's family, was interesting.

Meals were excellent and plentiful. On one evening, just ourselves and our guide ate, with seven Tbone steaks between three of us!

On the day of our arrival, the management seemed very pre-occupied, but this was due to recent rhino-poaching incidents on the reserve, so was understandable."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"We have previously only stayed in Windhoek itself, but will probably stay here in future. It is easy to find from the airport road and s in a lovely location in the mountains. the views were as good as any elsewhere on our holiday in Namibia.

Our room was dated, but clean and tidy, with all facilities working. This was the only place that we stayed at with a television!

The staff were helpful in allowing us to book in online and print tickets for our flight home.

We chose to eat in the restaurant here, although it would have been easy enough to go into Windhoek. The food was fine."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team