This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing

Reviews of River Crossing

Wildlife sightings and reviews

114 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited River Crossing and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 114
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2020
"Good location and facilities. " See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2019
"We stayed here overnight before our 2 week Namibia self drive tour.

We arrived late d/t plane delays and left early the next morning after breakfast and did not get to enjoy the area. At first we were a bit confused why we had an upscale lodge/room when moving on the next day. However, after spending the morning in Windhoek getting money exchanged, picking up food, we realized how great it was to be outside of the city, not deal with traffic, people, beggars, and having a quiet space after a day of travel. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Amersham

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"This was disappointing compared with the other accommodation we had stayed at. There was no benefit in being out of town and on the way to the airport as our flight was not until 3.00pm.

With hindsight we would have preferred to stay somewhere in Windhoek close to some restaurants and from where we could have done a walk round the city in the morning. Hilltop Guesthouse or similar would have been ideal.

The food at RC was nothing special.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr K
Channel Islands

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"Excellent overnight stop, especially after three hours at the airport, processing the hire car and filling in the paperwork for our lost luggage.

Would be a great place to stop prior to flying out, staff were friendly, food good, rooms comfortable and a pool." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Leicestershire

"All good"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Ideal First Night Stop"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"A great rural location overlooking the lights of Windhoek with comfortable individual cabins and friendly service.

River Crossing was the perfect first night stop." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B
N London

"Okay"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2019
"Convenient place before heading back to the airport, location is nice, rooms are okay and food is average/poor
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs M
Florida

"Great room, views, and staff"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2019
"Everyone was very helpful, welcoming and warm.

Service was great. Salome was kind and entertaining. Dinner was excellent. The chef gave us the soup recipe.

Justine let us use her cell phone to call the rental car company. Great view from the room. Lodge is nice. Breakfast was good.

Excellently choice for staying near Windhoek Airport." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"This was perfect stop after arriving - close to the airport but with lovely views.

The rooms were very comfortable and service was good.


" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Family K
Florida

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2019
"This was the only place we didn't love. The shower didn't work properly and they tried to fix it but didn't succeed. Then my dinner was terrible--it was ridiculously salty (and I like salty food). I told the lady and she took it away and took off the bill. What we didn't love is that the way the menu read, it had no prices and looked like a pre-fix meal. They asked what we wanted for desert and we assumed by the way they presented, asked... it was part of the meal and so we each chose--not really needing or wanting and then came to find out that it was not part of meal. There were a few other minor things so absolutely not a big deal but was not our favorite and would not be dying to go back. " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 114
82%
114 reviews of River Crossing by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
52
18
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa