This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
safari lovers
UK

"Perfect first night stopover "

1 night Arrived 12 Mar 2020
"Very pleasant and comfortable stay.

Pleasant surroundings and helpful staff.
" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Fabulous accomodations and food!"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2020
"Lovely boutique type lodge, helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Had dinner at their restaurant and it was excellent.

Located N end of town so easy access coming from airport, but located among other houses so not a lot you can walk to in the area.

We did have a little trouble locating it so get some good directions before going." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K & Mr J
USA

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"This was a comfortable and convenient place to stay on our last night.

The rooms were air-conditioned and attractive. The food was good but not awesome. The overall feel of the place was welcoming and busy, partly because it is close to down-town.

Compared to our experience in the camps, the service wasn't quite as good, but by then we were setting the bar pretty high. Never did figure out how to work the safe. " See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Birmingham

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"On arrival I was given the same room as my previous occupancy, which I have already commented on. However I wanted to eat in the restaurant at 7-45 pm, this was queried as being “late”, so I changed to 7-15pm. Fine, although the staff closed up the guesthouse around 8pm, and went home. I was left eating my desert with the night watchman! I appreciate that I was the only guest at dinner (the rest of the occupants had opted for taxis to take them out), and it was a Sunday, so that the staff wanted to be with their families, but I did feel neglected. I was also told that the restaurant was “expensive”.

I have to add that it is not the fault of the guesthouse, but there were 2 dogs continuously barking all night from the private house next door—this did not improver the atmosphere. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr K.
Egham

"Ideal overnight"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2019
"Olive Grove is an ideal Windhoek overnight.

The rooms were charming and the meals absolutely delicious (possibly the best we encountered in Namibia).

A very welcoming first stop and one we would not hesitate to return to." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Birmingham

"My stay here"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"The pool area is small; there is not enough space for seating. My room (number 9) was rather spartan though with plenty of room. The staff were ok. I would have appreciated a more relaxing experience. I understand the other Olive Grove next door offers a better experience. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"A good base for the end of our trip"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Our night at Olive Grove was very comfortable. As mentioned earlier, we did prefer Galton House to Olive Grove due to its overall atmosphere and warmer welcome, but the location of Olive Grove was arguably better as we were able to walk into town.

They were very accommodating and let us leave our car there on the morning of departure, so that we could explore the city centre ahead of needing to get back to the airport.

" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Sawbo

"Overnight stay at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"An extremely comfortable guest house. Our room was spacious and comfortable, Their food was excellent and the staff were very welcoming and efficient.

A great start to our holiday." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
FunOnly
Calgary

"OK for an overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"We arrived late in the evening and left the next morning. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning efficient. Our room was up a steep flight of stairs so that that would not be a good location for guests with mobility issues. We looked at they pool and it appeared to be in poor condition with an over growth of algae.

We had an excellent breakfast with a varied menu. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. This a adequate place for an overnight but we would not consider it for a more prolonged stay.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
P & B,
UK

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 1-10 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa