This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen


22°32’15.5"S 16°56’46.9"E

Reviews of Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sun Karros Daan Viljoen and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sun Karros Daan Viljoen.
Leopard

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Good retreat near Windhoek"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2018
"Comfortable accommodation, excellent service and friendly staff.
The walk from the chalet to the restaurant, pool etc was quite long and involved walking across an open dirt area through wandering animals, which was not pleasant at night.

The facilities were excellent, with the swimming pool by far the best we encountered on our entire trip.

We went on the late afternoon drive, which was a little disappointing as the guide/driver was not very communicative or knowledgeable.

All in all a comfortable stay, near Windhoek and convenient for the beginning or end of a trip, but more of a hotel than a traditional lodge." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Not such a bad place to finish up"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2017
"There have been one or two uncomplimentary reviews for Sun Karros so we were a little bothered that it might have been a mistake to finish here. As it happened, the fear was unfounded, It wasn't perfect, but it was pretty reasonable and it was quiet, yet only a stone's throw from Windhoek and, later, the airport (just over an hour).

Our room was quite nicely designed and had a good terrace from which to watch the birdlife and a fair bit of hooved life as well. The a/c was a bit underpowered maybe. The restaurant was probably easier to drive to than walk (very hot weather). Again, suggestions were of poor food, but it wasn't too bad at all and they were quite flexible if nothing on the limited menu really appealed. The waiting staff were pretty good and I didn't see any of the shambles referred to in some earlier reviews.

There's a good sized swimming pool which it was nice to see getting some local use.

Sun Karros might be linked to Daan Viljoen Park, but be aware that this is tiny, and it is more a nature reserve. It's nice to see a few animals here and there but you are not getting Etosha or a game lodge just yet. In fact numbers are still building up from a time when it was a squatter overspill from Windhoek.

I did the 9km trail which was well marked. It's medium to tough, not difficult to anyone reasonably fit; it's best done at the start of the day - as I discovered, 35C makes it tougher! It was more scenic, than wildlife-y.

Speaking to the owners of Sun Karros, they have been new to the business (less so now) and the learning curve still has some gradient to it, They are linked to the NWR and represent a hint of enterprise. There are plans afoot to operate at Okaukuejo in Etosha, and I can't wait for that to settle in!

(p.s. Don't leave stuff on your terrace. There are baboons about)" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Swindon

"Sun Karros Daan Viljoen review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2017
"Sun Karros. The rooms were fine. Bedside lights were an arty creation of oryx horns, quite useless. Our room had a faulty lock on the door which was speedily dealt with when I reported it. The main problem with the place was the food. There seemed to be two systems of catering, the normal when only a few people were staying was over large portions of 'greasy spoon' food. On Valentine's Day when it was stacked to the roof they pulled out the stops and produced a very good dinner. The lake in front of the rooms has been reduced to a small pool by Namibia's terrible drought, though by now it may be filling up again after the heavy rains of recent days. But while its empty the outlook from the rooms is not very attractive. " See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Ms A
Australia

"Sun Karros Daan Viljoen review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2016
"Convenient location outside Windhoek but would never stay again . The cottages are pleasant but there it ends. Have stayed there before and it was fine but not now . The management at Reception were the rudest most aggressive staff we have encountered ANYWHERE.

The Dining Room was a shambles and made Fawlty Towers look like 5 Star !!!! I cannot list the mishaps we had there and we ends up almost hysterical with laughter." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Ms AC
SW London

"Sun Karros Daan Viljoen review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2016
"The location was good, and we enjoyed spending a day exploring Windhoek (very interesting and well worthwhile if time allows).

However, the hotel was a bit impersonal, food wasn't good, although we mainly ate in Windhoek, which has some great options, and service was a bit patchy. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dale & Sue
Sleaford

"Great place to rest up near Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2016
"Located in a mountainous area not far to the east of Windhoek, the resort is set in a the small but attractive Daan Viljoen National Park. We stayed in the chalets which are of an unusual but attractive style, built in stone with domed roofs. The chalet was in good condition, well maintained and very clean. We tried out the restaurant and were very surprised that we were able to get a very good vegetarian meal. Unfortunately for us catering for vegetarians was not high of the list of priorities of many of establishments were stayed at on our trip.

The park seems surprisingly rich in wildlife with a large troop of baboons in residence close to the resort. However, these baboons seem wild enough and are not seen near to people or carrying out raids for food from cars or buildings. We also saw kudu and warthogs.

There are walking trials around the park but we only had time to try the shortest, which is just 1.5km long starting close to the reception. There are no dangerous animals in the park but it made a pleasant change to be able to walk around freely in the bush. As we only stopped over for the night it wasn't possible to check out fully the facilities of the resort and park but it did make a very pleasant place to rest up after a long drive" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs L & J Whitley
UK

"Oh dear! What happened here!?"

1 night Arrived 1 Jan 2016
"Sun Karros was unfortunately a major disappointment. From the moment we arrived at reception to find the staff arguing with multiple people who had turned up from Windhoek expecting to partake in a buffet at the filthy restaurant (why!?) and use the pool.

The accommodation, whilst spacious didn't feel clean and smelt. The children's beds hadn't been made up so had to call to get this done.

We decided to go for a walk in the afternoon when we arrived, unfortunately the larger walk we tried took us past the lodge's abandoned old buildings which were now being used as a dumping ground for rubbish, broken furniture and bric a brac.

We booked for dinner at the Boma restaurant, a major mistake (but the only one open on the site). The food wasn't properly cooked and the crockery and cutlery were dirty. We ended up eating the things we felt were safe and abandoned the rest. This place genuinely felt like a health hazard.

The pool was the only redeeming feature of Sun Karros.

It was such a shame that Sun Karros was our last night in Namibia - I wish we could have stayed another night at Okinjima or Mushara Bush Camp. You could easily drive from Okinjima to the airport in time for the flight in the evening - would recommend this as an option instead.

I really would avoid sending anyone else to Sun Karros if you can avoid it.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Nature park just outside Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2015
"Really only a very short stopover so cannot say a lot about this place. Chalet room was a very modern design bright and colourful.

The park seemed mainly to be used as a camping sites for local people with the swimming pool as the main attraction.The Boma restaurant was largely empty but we found the food to be excellent for our evening meal and the breakfast.

The alternative Kraal restaurant advertised in their brochure does seem to be permanently closed and unused for some time.

We did not have time to explore any of the park but there are animals and good hikes apparently. Very attractive landscape but no longer any water in the dams." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Sun Karros Daan Viljoen review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"Much better than staying inside the city. Beautiful area with nice walking options. Very nice rooms.

The restaurant needs some work and the staff there is not the friendliest.

There is a braai with every room so there is a nice alternative." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The W family
Holland

"Sun Karros Daan Viljoen review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"During our stay there only was one other room rented and there were some campers on the camping area. The restaurant wasn't during our stay prepared to welcome people for dinner, nor for breakfast.

The rooms do have great braaiplaces! It was a pitty we couldn't buy food and charcoal at Daan Viljoen. So we couldn't use the braai.

Great lodge and beautiful place to stay." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 15
77%
15 reviews of Sun Karros Daan Viljoen by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
5
3
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa