This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr W from Dorset

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

32

Excursions taken

0

Tailor made and perfect.

Namibia and 1 other country between 9 Nov 2017 and 4 Dec 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Timing: November is on the cusp of rain, pretty hot, but still just about dry. I believe it is a relatively quiet month. Some parts of Etosha had seen rain and game viewing was good. Southern Namibia remained bone dry. It is a lovely time to escape the European drear, if you can.

Itinerary: For the wildlife, we wanted Etosha (1 week) and we wanted the Transfrontier Kgalagadi Park (5 days). Previous experience has shown Sabina to be a star at knocking together a sensible itinerary, and she managed it again. There was some difficulty finding accommodation (even in a quiet month) which meant one or two compromises had to be made. It all worked out well. If you haven't been before, it is worth saying that distances are huge and the dirt roads make them feel huger ....but then that all helps to emphasise the emptiness of Africa. It made sense to link our two parks with a visit to Soussevlei. I'm a bit ambivalent about the place. It was worth seeing the endless dunes, but the whole idea of a desert is to have a wilderness, and with only one road, you are not alone. We actually preferred the getting there and away again, 100s of kilometres with vast landscapes, and little sign of humanity (except for fences). The Transfrontier is off the beaten track and just in South Africa. It was very worthwhile (although I'd choose Etosha ahead of it (for its variety)), but there's no obvious attraction to break up the journey returning to Windhoek. Sabina did well to find a couple of comfortable lodges that had game activities on offer.

Practicalities: The journey had no glitches at all. It was so well organised. Even the 'misplaced' car hire voucher was sorted in a few minutes by Expert Africa (via Wilderness Travel). Instructions had all been clearly expressed (for example, what needed to be done to take a hire car into South Africa). We had no issues with petrol, reported in some reviews"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Perfectly good"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2017
"After 24 hours travel, we were shown our room by the security guard and felt rather unwanted. All was pleasantly sorted and explained the following morning, and we left very pleased by our brief stay. The breakfast was lovely (on the verandah). The room was a good size, airy, and quiet. Its bathroom was a bit drippy and tired, but perfectly good.

We had hoped to arrange a sandwich or a bite to eat upon arrival so that we could get straight to bed, but this unfortunately had not been possible (e-mail communications). Shattered arrivals like us might want to insist on somewhere that can provide some food rather than a b and b."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"A comfortable start. Just right."

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2017
"Okonjima is easy to get to, tarmac roads and fully signposted as you arrive. The bungalows are large, very private and well furnished with a kitchenette, bathroom, sitting area, and room outside. There's a lovely outlook over grazing game, and a personal mini-waterhole to attract the birds and the likes of warthog. Also a personal bag of bird seed. The reception area/restaurant is equally pleasant. We regretted only being able to get one night's stay.

The leopard tracking activity let us see plenty of game - as well as the leopards. It might be a bit 'unreal', but it wasn't a bad way to start. The night drive to a hide produced a Brown Hyena, but was otherwise rather more effort than it was worth. The early morning cheetah tracking was much like the leopard. It was nice to do some of this on foot. And, again, there were plenty of other things to see. I thought our guide was very professional in his work, something that you could apply to all the staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View Lodge

"Earlier iffy reports endorsed"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2017
"If cheetahs are your thing, then you MUST come here. The CCF is a real driving force in conservation.

....However, the lodge part of the business is a long way short of being up and running. It almost feels unwanted, a new add-on that must be put up with. I don't think that cheetah conservers can possibly put hotel keeping very high up their list of priorities! So that you know about the rooms:
- There is no a/c
- There is no fridge
- There is no shade on the front side (meaning that the verandah and sitting area are unusable in the morning)
- There is no phone (meaning a 1km round trip to reception to sort anything out)
- There are no staff during the day (except at reception)(1 km round trip)
- There is no drinking water in the rooms (1km round trip)
- There is only a very limited view because of the proximity of the bush.

Having said all that, we still quite enjoyed our couple of days here. I found the food much better than an earlier review suggested and I quite liked our room despite its shortcomings. I appreciated learning about the plight of the cheetah and Laurie, the driving force behind it all, was very willing to chatter. The morning cheetah run was a bit of a damp squib, but it was nice to chat with enthusiasts.

The café for lunch had a limited menu. In fact, it only had cheese dishes whilst we were there. And no cheese was available!"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Functional ... but a bit more than that"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2017
"Halali makes a good effort, despite the hamstringing of bureaucracy. It feels quite welcoming and has a reasonably relaxing atmosphere to it. Our room was in good order and comfortable. Everything worked. ...It's not a thing of beauty but it wasn't bad.

The staff in the restaurant are attentive and the food is at the better end of 'typically buffet'. Meat was cooked freshly, and the same went for eggs in the morning. Service was pretty snappy. Breakfast is all but over by nine, a bit of a pain if you have been out for an early drive. That's just the time you're getting back!

We didn't get to the waterhole to comment on that. We did do a morning game drive which was a bit of a lion hunt, but was reasonable at looking at other things as well. The guide was quite amenable."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Thank goodness for the waterhole!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2017
"You go into Etosha expecting rather less in terms of comfort at the camps. Okaukuejo lives up to that! Much more than the others. The rooms are pokier, and it all feels more institutional. It's worth going into the shop just to see how little it offers (although an alcoholic might enjoy it). The most important thing in the restaurant is the reservation list and ticking it off. The least important is the food - although, with careful selection, you can just about put together something vaguely edible. Don't be too late for breakfast! It runs out early. (In fact, there were no eggs one day). ...So watch out if you are out and about and returning with a sharp appetite.

Let's be positive. The staff, especially in the rooms, do a good job. And the waterhole - as many reviews suggest - makes up for all of it. Where else will you see a couple of groups of lions, a few elephants, half a dozen white rhino, and giraffe, all within a couple of hours. And there always seems to be exciting animals not too far away ( south and east being the best directions in drier times)

There are moves afoot to add an element of privatisation to the camp. It may well shake things up in a few years. Glory be."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Quite a pleasant experience...."

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2017
".....Well, we had just come from Okaukuejo! Suddenly, the bedroom was twice the size and pleasantly decorated. There was a feeling of space and comfort (even if the maintenance dept had plenty to do) There were open lawns, and the restaurant was airy and the menu a la carte. There was still a fixation with ticking reservation lists, but it was a pleasure to get table service and some freshly cooked food. We enjoyed our 2 nights here.

We had some good drives from here, especially northward. I suppose it all depends on where has had some rain, but we saw ridiculous collections of giraffe (30 at one time), cheetah, some lion, plenty of elephants, eland, and then all the main culprits."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"What a treat!"

1 night Arrived 20 Nov 2017
"After a week in Etosha, this was a real pleasure.

We have been before, a few years ago, and there is inevitably a bit of comparison to do. It seemed marginally less fresh and kempt (especially in the approaches), but I'm not complaining; it was still a delight. The tented rooms are still lovely, and the restaurant terrace is still well placed to catch the evening breeze. The setting is fantastic. The manager did his rounds and chatted enthusiastically, much appreciated.

The 6 o'clock morning walk was a great pleasure and informative, well pitched in terms of exercise . You won't see too much four legged animal life, but there are birds, insects, plants and flowers to learn about."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Retreat is an apt word"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2017
"We really liked this one. It is just about to change hands (although there is to be a year's hand-over) so it may alter.

The retreat is well off the beaten track in an isolated valley. I loved its solitude. It doesn't feel the least bit like a business, just somebody's house with a few rooms. The current owners are most interesting and great hosts. You dine with them and I find that much more entertaining and informative than sitting in a restaurant.

The food, dinner and breakfast, was very good and beautifully served. Well done the (silent) kitchen team!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Quite businesslike, but good"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"There was a slight feel of hospitality-by-numbers here rather than spontaneous service - but let's not knock it; we had a private feeling room (even if there was a row of twenty five or so) , looking out over the desert and a waterhole. It was comfortable and well thought out. The communal area had good views and was also well arranged and spacious. The staff were pretty good and willing and thankfully guests were just a little more important than the attendant paperwork.

We did the sundowner horse ride as rank beginners and were well and thoughtfully looked after. Thank you. We also did the Soussevlei trip in a group of ten. I think you'd have to arrange a private trip to get the isolation you'd expect from a desert trip, but I did quite enjoy it, and it's handy to have someone taking you to the right bits. Both activities were worthwhile."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Far better than anticipated"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2017
"I had the idea that we'd be going to a roadside hotel, comfortable enough, but unremarkable. ...Actually it was much better than that. It's a couple of kilometres off the road and through the bush (with some game). Reception is smart and airy. Someone deals with the suitcases. Externally the rooms form an unexciting block, but each one is well planned with a comfortable, shaded outside area in which to lounge. The swimming pool is close-by.

The restaurant seems well run - and whilst there is a buffet, it is of a very good and fresh quality, both for dinner and breakfast. Service is good.

The whole place seemed well run and made for a good stop-over.."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"A handy, hard-to-get base"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2017
"Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park is amazingly difficult to book. Often it has to be a year in advance. So we are prepared to sacrifice some of the creature comforts in order to be there ....However Mata Mata isn't too bad for a bit of self-catering, as long as you've stocked up at (for example) Marienthal (coming from Namibia). The on-site shop is fairly basic.

There's nothing wrong with the chalet; it's a bit bleak, but it does a job. For drives, there's only one road, the one to Two RIvers. It is slow-going and, with distractions, it could easily take four hours to get to the other end. With open eyes, there's plenty of wild life; not dense (after all its semi-desert), but it is there.

We didn't do any of the organised game drives"
Excellent
Location
Average
Rooms
Average
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Government run"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2017
"Twee Rivieren seems to be trying to smarten itself up. The chalet was pretty good, quite large, and in working order. It had half an outlook. The camp was generally in shipshape order. The reception was good. The restaurant was fine, unexciting, more interested in paperwork than service, but you could get a square meal there. It's breakfast hours don't fit very well with morning game viewing. It is closed at lunchtime, replaced by a burger and chips kiosk. The shop was basic and limited, but reasonable.

You wouldn't recommend Twee Rivieren. It is too institutional and bureaucratic, but it is OK for a Transfrontier visit. There are two options for game viewing; heading north towards Nossob (fine near waterholes, but blank in many other patches), or heading west towards Mata Mata (fine once you get into the Aoub Valley after about 20km)

We didn't use any of the activities."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Kalahari Game Lodge

"A brief, pleasant visit"

1 night Arrived 29 Nov 2017
"Check in was rather passive (as all interfacing was), but this was a very pleasant stop-off. The room was a good size and in good order with a well-placed balcony. We ate well in a slightly soulless and subdued dining room. Breakfast, the following morning was quite reasonable.

We might well have gone on some activity or other (there was lion tracking in the morning) but nobody organisational had appeared by the time we retired, and we gave it a miss."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"A place that made an effort"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2017
"This was another stopover only (unfortunately). It was a comfortable and interesting place and I think that we could easily have suffered another day. The bungalow was lovely, spacious, well thought out, nicely furnished and fresh.

You have to hoof it a bit (on a boiling day) to get to the dining area. This is equally spacious and feels very comfortable. The food and service was good. There's a pleasant sitting area to retire to with a coffee.

We did do a sundowner game drive here. It's not going to be too exciting with only various grazers and browsers to see, nor is it quite real (as some of them are 'imports' - like Eland and Bleesebok), but we enjoyed it and it was done well - and we came across an African Wild Cat. They are developing this side of things in a thoughtful way.

We were sorry to have to move on so quickly."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

"Not such a bad place to finish up"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2017
"There have been one or two uncomplimentary reviews for Sun Karros so we were a little bothered that it might have been a mistake to finish here. As it happened, the fear was unfounded, It wasn't perfect, but it was pretty reasonable and it was quiet, yet only a stone's throw from Windhoek and, later, the airport (just over an hour).

Our room was quite nicely designed and had a good terrace from which to watch the birdlife and a fair bit of hooved life as well. The a/c was a bit underpowered maybe. The restaurant was probably easier to drive to than walk (very hot weather). Again, suggestions were of poor food, but it wasn't too bad at all and they were quite flexible if nothing on the limited menu really appealed. The waiting staff were pretty good and I didn't see any of the shambles referred to in some earlier reviews.

There's a good sized swimming pool which it was nice to see getting some local use.

Sun Karros might be linked to Daan Viljoen Park, but be aware that this is tiny, and it is more a nature reserve. It's nice to see a few animals here and there but you are not getting Etosha or a game lodge just yet. In fact numbers are still building up from a time when it was a squatter overspill from Windhoek.

I did the 9km trail which was well marked. It's medium to tough, not difficult to anyone reasonably fit; it's best done at the start of the day - as I discovered, 35C makes it tougher! It was more scenic, than wildlife-y.

Speaking to the owners of Sun Karros, they have been new to the business (less so now) and the learning curve still has some gradient to it, They are linked to the NWR and represent a hint of enterprise. There are plans afoot to operate at Okaukuejo in Etosha, and I can't wait for that to settle in!

(p.s. Don't leave stuff on your terrace. There are baboons about)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Glad We Chose South Africa

South Africa between 21 Oct 2015 and 7 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Seeing that this was something of an instant arrangement, Claire worked miracles and came up with the perfect hotels and a perfect route. We started with the splendour of Grootbos and the whales and finished with the spectacular views of Long Beach and more whales!

Because of South Africa's bad press, we were a little concerned, but at no point did we feel unsafe. Everyone we met was very proud of their country and deservedly so. At times we had to remind ourselves we were not in the Home Counties; it was so well-kempt, smooth running and friendly. The quality of hotels, restaurants, tourist attractions and shops is very high. Everyone strives to give the best service possible. The political issues that we hear about are evident, but not defining of a country which is looking forwards not back.

It was a great trip, wonderful hotels, beautiful scenery and welcoming people. We would happily recommend a visit to anyone else.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Our second excellent trip with Expert Africa and I really do not see how your service could be improved (Just a minor point - a better map would have helped our travels!)"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge

"Amazingly comfortable and keen to help"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"It was a delight to have a few days here. The room and its outlook over the estate to the sea beyond (about a mile) was lovely. Everything was in tip-top condition and the staff were very much on the ball. Everything we had in the restaurant was excellent, well presented, and well served. We were also well looked after in the room; 10 out of 10 for service.

We thoroughly enjoyed the provided activities (with every attention to detail provided again). They are not adrenalin kicks, but gentle and well-paced. If I was to be critical at this point, I'd say that we could have had more in-depth information about whales or fynbos or archaeology. It was a bit sketchy.

Highlights were watching whales both from shore and sea. I enjoyed a look at the fynbos, and a go at horseriding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"Remote and beautiful"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"De hoop is forty miles from a main road, but well worth the journey. The accommodation is set in a grassy stretch with Zebra, Eland and Bontebok grazing all around. The feel of Opstal is a bit homely compared to other places, but it is a nice feeling and it was comfortable and peaceful. The staff were helpful, the restaurant was busy, but relaxed and pretty efficient. Our room in the manor was large, airy and simply and attractively furnished (of the period)(It dates back to the early settlers).

We enjoyed a drive to Kopje Allen with its magnificent dunes and a lovely beach from where we watched whales at close quarter.

6 a.m bird watching with Patrick was worthwhile and he's certainly at the twitcher end of the scale, with a good knowledge of other fauna to boot. A boat trip on the vlei was very good too but the wildlife is subject to the wind - of which there's plenty."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Lots of effort made and a real treat"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"We'd had a question mark over this one before we arrived. ....I don't know why. It was a treat. Lots of effort was made to do the best they possibly could for the guests. We were extremely well looked after.

We ate in on the first night - and didn't bother to do otherwise the next night; it was excellent. The dining room is airy and very attractive. It looked beautifully fresh for breakfast. The car was washed each morning.

The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed (but don't expect to be in the house itself); they are set in quiet, attractive gardens. Swellendam was a pleasant little town. I enjoyed the museum. We forgot to go to the Faerie Glen. Damn.

Of all the places we stayed, we are not sure this was not the best because of the service and attention to detail."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"Like The Tardis!"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"The entrance straight off the street was unpromising, but a walk along a flower lined path soon put our minds at rest. The public areas opened out, a lovely lounge in a subtle palette of colours and a swimming pool beyond. Our room was large, well-appointed, comfortable and airy with our own private patio (no views, just a Cape Robin tending its nest!).

Breakfast was lovely and the nightly 'treats' a self indulgent end to the day. The provision of complementary drinks in the room and lounge were a real bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the evening restaurant bookings. There was an excellent map in the room showing the wineries and eateries in the surrounding area.

Franschhoek is very safe to wander and it is a lovely little town with plenty to offer. We enjoyed The Huguenot Museum and the one at Solms Delta where we also had a delicious lunch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Constantia

The Constantia

"A Good Base - Lovely Gardens"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2015
"Our room (pool suite) was huge and again beautifully decorated in subtle colours with a light, airy feel. The gardens and pool area were ablaze with colours. Everywhere was well tended. As with the other Last Word hotels, breakfast was lovely as were our 'treats' at turn-down. The staff were friendly and helpful with plenty of suggestions of places to eat.

Conveniently, there is a restaurant next door - it does not pretend to fine dining, but it is more than adequate for a meal at the end of a busy day! Once again the complementary drinks system was much appreciated as was afternoon tea and cake - another pleasing touch of Last Word.

Despite being out of Cape Town, it's well placed for Kirstenbosch, THe Cape, Boulders Beach and the city itself.

Just one small suggestion - an umbrella to shelter under en route from our garden room to the dining room would have been appreciated on a rainy Sunday morning! A minor point, but one worth thinking about!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Long Beach

Long Beach

"The Perfect End to our Holiday."

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2015
"We had set our heart on this hotel and it did not disappoint us! on entry we were greeted by a huge picture window overlooking a turquoise sea and silver beach with Table Mountain in the far distance - unbelievable! Again our room was huge, well-appointed, light and airy. Again the breakfasts were delicious, the treats tempting and the staff delightful and helpful, perhaps even more than the other Last Word hotels - if that's possible!

Fanie was particularly helpful on arrival and it was great to be able to chat so easily to Jennifer. The two meals that we ate at Long Beach were a treat and considering their small kitchen they performed miracles! It is a delight not to have to venture out again at the end of a day and to have staff determined to make your evening meal special.

The huge picture window and the balcony beyond were a perfect spot for whale watching. Considering how excited all the guests were when the whales were spotted, it was a shame that there was not a member of staff who could help identify them and give us a bit more information - perhaps it's worth a bit of training for next whale season!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Was Beyond Expectations!

Namibia and 2 other countries between 7 Nov 2014 and 29 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"From the very beginning, Sabina could not have been more helpful and patient with 2 complete Africa novices!

The itinerary was beautifully constructed, never repeating experiences and building our excitement. There was not a day that we would have changed and many where we wished we had had longer.

The choice of accommodation suited us. The transfers, in fact everything, went smoothly.

It was an incredible holiday from beginning to end."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"A Good Stopover"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"Light, airy, comfortable accommodation. Friendly staff.

Not very exciting surroundings."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Wish we had stayed longer!"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"Beautiful setting without too much gravel road to reach it! Comfortable accommodation and good food in a lovely setting overlooking its own waterhole.

Sundowner walk is gentle, but very pleasant. Early morning walks worth doing and tailored to your needs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Loveliness in the middle of nowhere!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"The only downside was a very long drive on gravel roads, but the sense of wilderness made it worthwhile. Beautiful accommodation in a dramatic setting.

Food excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Fantastic trip out to see the desert elephants with an informative guide.

If you have time, the official petrified forest is worth a visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Worth it for the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2014
"Everything is on a 'mass' scale so less personal, but having said that seeing all the wildlife was what we were there for. We could easily have spent longer than 2 nights here.

The early morning game drive was excellent and a good foundation for our subsequent trips out in the car. To be honest you could spend all day at the waterhole - rhino, lion, elephant, hyena, giraffe and yet more rhino!

No signs of any of the reported scams and the staff were all very helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Wish we had stayed longer!"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2014
"Our room had recently been refurbished so was more up to date and fresher than Okakuejo. Food was a bit more interesting and because there were fewer guests, it was a bit more personal.

Because we were only there one night, we did not make a lot of use of the waterhole, but it was a lovely setting."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Glorious Setting"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"Like all the Onguma accommodation, our 'tent' allowed us to sit and while the time away watching the waterhole - not the most exciting selection of animals, but beautiful all the same.

Service was a cut above and the food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Lovely Grounds and Beautiful Setting"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2014
"Recently changed hands and benefitting from the subsequent refurbishment (which still needs refining). The surrounding gardens and view across to Angola are beautiful.

Service in the restaurant was lovely, but the room was a bit cavernous! The sundowner and morning nature boat trip were both well-informed and worthwhile. The track leading to Hakusembe was a bit of a challenge as it had recently rained!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Well Placed for Mahengo"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2014
"Lovely river setting and perfectly comfortable accommodation without being luxurious. Good unpretentious atmosphere with interesting and helpful management.

Enjoyed the conversation at the communal supper table. Good evening boat trip = our first introduction to hippos! loved Mahengo that we returned the following morning - a lovely little park, not to be missed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Real Wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2014
"We would not have missed this for its wilderness setting or its game drive/boat trip, but its ecological ethos removed home comforts such as facilities to cool down. It claimed more facilities and creature comforts than it actually provided.

However the service was excellent, the food was good and the setting incredible and remote.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would happily recommend it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"3 lovely nights"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2014
"Beautiful accommodation and setting on the banks of the Chobe. Very friendly and helpful staff. Again we enjoyed the conversation at a communal table.

Every meal was a culinary treat - including afternoon tea in temperatures of 40C! Excellent inclusive trips ( although our relief driver learnt a bit about wildlife from us!!) Lovely and airy and relaxed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"A Great Place to End Our Trip"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2014
"The setting overlooking the spume of The Falls is wonderful. The walk to The Falls was easy and not as pestered by salesmen as we had feared!

The room was comfortable without being luxurious (and a tad noisy at times as they are building an extension to the Lodge!). Bar and restaurant prices were high compared to Namibia. The restaurant setting was lovely and the service excellent.

I don't think they are used to people staying 3 nights as the meat heavy menu did not vary from night to night!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team