This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek


33°54’29.4"S 19°7’3.2"E

Reviews of The Franschhoek

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Franschhoek and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs H
Winchester

"Lovely hotel in the heart of Franschhoek "

3 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2020
"This is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Franschhoek.

We received a very warm welcome, the staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Room was comfortable though the clear shower door and bath in the room was a little unusual! Breakfast was tasty and plentiful." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mssrs RMN/AT
London

"a good central base"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2019
"Having had three nights at its sister establishment in Constantia, it was impossible not to avoid a comparison, and this place just does not match up. Its location right in town gives it a very cramped feel, especially as they have added a large wing in what would, I assume, have been a garden. So there are no balconies to terraces, and many of the rooms have no real view.

We had booked a pool room, and did not get one, but in fact I think the upstairs room we did get was a better bet. There is a small upstairs terrace which gets afternoon/evening sun, although it wasn't easy to get a lounger! The breakfast arrangements are well below the standards of Constantia, although the menu was identical and the staff by no means so polished.

Having said all that, it was a fine base for us to finish our stay. We could have done with more help with places to walk. The surrounding scenery is quite beautiful but working out how best to have a really good walk was not easy." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 7n in Botswana; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Strathaven

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay - the staff and facilities were excellent and the service and hospitality was first class." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Isleworth

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2019
"This is a boutique hotel which is set up as it was if you are visiting a friends house for the weekend.

There is a wonderfully decorated large sitting area with a free bar. The staff were charming and helpful. Our room was a superior room and was massive with a chaise longue and a sofa. the decor throughout was stunning. We were at the back of the hotel with a view of the hillside but with a haulage yard directly below us, it caused us no problems as we are early risers. It is very well situated for walking out down the main street to the many shops and restaurants.

The breakfast was lovely as cooked for you so there is a wait for the hot food. Please note they quite understandably do not do dinner any more as they cannot compete with the excellent restaurants.

We did the Wine Tram tour with lunch. It was the most disappointing thing we did. The food was fine but we did not have wine tasting with the food we just had house wine. The wine they gave us to taste, without any cheese or crackers, was this year's yet they kept telling us it needed to be kept for 2 years to be at its best. To be honest the wine at La Gran Provence was dreadful. The scenery was lovely, the estate beautiful but the wine was a wash out. the last stop La Brie was nice as they paired the red wine with chocolate, much more what we were expecting." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
France

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2019
"Not much to add. The hotel is in a rather "cramped" position but still an enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"The Last Word Franschoek"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2018
"Our second visit here and as splendid as ever.

Great advice about activities and restaurants.

We will return if we can!" See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
WestBridg

"Good stay at The Last Word Franschhoek."

1 night Arrived 26 Nov 2017
"If we had not just stayed at The Constantia, sister hotel of The Last Word Franschhoek, and had an outstanding stay there, we may have given them a slightly higher review. In general, The Last Word Franschhoek was very good, but suffered a bit by comparison.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, but we felt that Franklin, the manager, who's obviously an extrovert personality, would benefit from trying a bit less hard.

The room was very comfortable, with many of the same touches (drinks and snacks, etc.) as at The Constantia, and a good bathroom and mini-seating area outside.

The hotel's location, right in the centre of the town, but still with a secluded feel to it, was great - we strolled along Franschhoek's main drag right from the hotel front door, without having to think at all about getting in the car. Breakfast was also good, although - again - not at the same stellar level as The Constantia." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Amazing pool suite!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Our pool suite was huge, unfortunately it was too cold to make use of the small private pool. The hotel is set back from the main road but an easy stroll to all shops and some restaurants. The suite was clean and the bed huge and very comfortable. The communal areas were spotless and there is a nice roof top terrace to enjoy the beautiful mountain views. All drinks were free from the communal bar area in the main lounge.

Staff were very attentive and helpful and if you are planning on doing the very fine restaurants and wineries; this hotel would be ideal.

Breakfast offer was good and the cooked menu offer quite fancy." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs A & M
Malta

"A gem of a place"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Very comfortable room, lovely staff, excellent location." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Short but lovely stay"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2017
"Loved the heated bathroom floors & welcome champagne in room & wine upon check-in! Also can't beat a hotel with an open bar & hot breakfast! Conveniently located right in the center of town & walkable to everything & service was excellent." See all these reviews: 4n in Malawi; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 24
95%
24 reviews of The Franschhoek by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Winelands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Français is a boutique hotel with beautiful rooms and a great restaurant conveniently located on Franschhoek’s main street.


95% (13 reviews)
La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme

A comfortable, elegant guesthouse, La Petite Ferme offers a broad range of accommodation in a stunning vineyard setting.


98% (9 reviews)
Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren is beautiful property located on a stunning working wine farm between Franschhoek and Paarl, and is surrounded by vineyards and the Drakenstein Mountains.


96% (5 reviews)
Oude Werf

Oude Werf

Located in the historic heart of Stellenbosch, the Oude Werf is a lovely hotel and a good base for exploring the South Africa’s Winelands.


75% (4 reviews)
Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel is a luxurious, contemporary guesthouse in the heart of the Cape Winelands – between Franschhoek, Paarl and Stellenbosch.


100% (2 reviews)
Lanzerac Hotel

Lanzerac Hotel

The Lanzerac Hotel is a historic Cape Dutch manor house and winery that has been turned into an opulent hotel offering some of the regions finest accommodation and first-rate cuisine.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa