This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs A from Shropshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

2

Trip of a lifetime (so far!)

Namibia and 2 other countries between 7 Sep 2015 and 13 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a long holiday, covering huge distances and including 3 countries.

We first contacted you with a rough itinerary, which was much improved by Tracy's many suggestions and her acceptance that I was trying to keep costs down for the bulk of the trip. You booked us into 15 different places to stay and all were very acceptable, with most good/excellent."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great overnight stop and excellent dinner"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Room 10 was spacious with a large and unusual 'concrete' bathroom. It was on the ground floor and quiet, even though it opened onto the bar terrace. Very comfortable and well-equipped room, helpful staff and good location.

Decided to have dinner in, as menu looked good and we were feeling too lazy to go out. Excellent food, well presented and served. Breakfast was also good, though the buffet was a bit chaotic. Perfect stop for one night or even 2."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Quirky lodge in a remote and beautiful place"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"A long drive on gravel roads, but it as worth it to arrive and be greeted by the lovely Salome. We stayed in room 9 and thought it must be one of their best, later discovering it was the honeymoon suite! It was large and comfortable with stunning views from the terrace, though better lighting and handrails would make it easier for more mature travellers (or even honeymooners) to climb back up there safely after dinner. A torch was essential, but not provided.

Activities on offer weren't well explained and we could probably have done a bit more with our time there. We did the shorter walk, as the '5 hour' one sounded daunting, but were told afterwards that it would have been no more strenuous and given us more time up on the plateau.

The lodge was up for sale while we were there and it seems likely whoever buys it would make some changes - hopefully for the better. Guests were a strange mixture: from a group of 'overlanders' doing their own catering, to a couple flying in on a private plane."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Comfortable and stylish lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Lovely room with private deck, but it was far too hot to sit out on it, even if we'd had the time. We only stayed 2 nights and did as many activities as we could. These seemed a bit pricey, but guiding was excellent and we got much more out of the experience than if we'd driven ourselves. An extra night would have allowed some relaxation time or the option of a balloon trip.

Although we had a fairly comprehensive (tick box) briefing as part of our very warm welcome here, we were never exactly clear on what was extras (wine, laundry etc.) and what was included , but the final bill seemed fairly reasonable for such an enjoyable stay. As with every place we stayed, staff were friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Didn't like our room, but breakfast was fab!"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"The receptionist kindly advised us on arrival that all restaurants in Swakopmund have to be booked in advance and she promptly organised this for us. Stiltz also served some of the best breakfasts we had on our 5 week trip; a delicious selection of home-made treats, as well as the usual eggs etc. It's also well located, only a short walk to restaurants and shops.

Unfortunately, the only room available was room 2, which had no view, no privacy and shook when people walked past. As we were staying 3 nights, we'd hoped to unpack and relax a little. Apart from a small hanging rail, there was no furniture to unpack anything into and the sofa seemed to have been designed to match the quirky architecture, rather than be sat on!

There wasn't a single spare power point, so we kept having to find things to unplug, to charge up phone, camera battery etc.

With hindsight, we wished we'd booked a more conventional guest house with some home comforts.

Whilst here, we organised two trips for these travellers:

A kayaking trip to Pelican Point, about which they commented:

We'd never done kayaking and were apprehensive, but it felt like a privilege to be taken out by friendly and capable Jeanne. From the minute we met her at the cafe, we knew we were in safe hands and learnt a lot about the area and its ecology on our drive to and from Pelican Point.

Once in the water, Jeanne was very reassuring and never let us out of her sight, so we were able to enjoy the experience and interact with the young seals playing amongst us. A wonderful experience.

A day to Sandwich Harbour, about which they commented:

This was a well-designed trip, with a competent and personable guide who enjoyed showing off his impressive driving skills. Sandwich Harbour is beautiful and the view from the top of the dune where we had a tasty lunch was stunning.

The big problem was lack of space and comfort in the Land Rover, which technically had seats for 4 passengers, but with 3 large adults in the back it was a very tight squeeze. As most of the day is spent in the vehicle and the ride very bumpy in places, this really spoiled the day for me."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Hi-light of our holiday"

20 Sep 2015 • Morning excursion

We'd never done kayaking and were apprehensive, but it felt like a privilege to be taken out by friendly and capable Jeanne. From the minute we met her at the cafe, we knew we were in safe hands and learnt a lot about the area and its ecology on our drive to and from Pelican Point.

Once in the water, Jeanne was very reassuring and never let us out of her sight, so we were able to enjoy the experience and interact with the young seals playing amongst us. A wonderful experience.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Could have been more enjoyable"

21 Sep 2015 • All-day excursion

This was a well-designed trip, with a competent and personable guide who enjoyed showing off his impressive driving skills. Sandwich Harbour is beautiful and the view from the top of the dune where we had a tasty lunch was stunning. The big problem was lack of space and comfort in the Land Rover, which technically had seats for 4 passengers, but with 3 large adults in the back it was a very tight squeeze. As most of the day is spent in the vehicle and the ride very bumpy in places, this really spoiled the day for me.
Good
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Comfortable overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2015
"This isolated Lodge is geared up for a good quality overnight stop. All rooms face the raging sea and our balcony was sheltered enough to sit out for a while.

Open-plan public area felt like a barn in daytime, but roaring fires in the evening gave it a cosier feel. Dinner was delicious, breakfast a bit plain. We ordered packed lunches for our long journey the following day and each one could have fed a family!

Very helpful staff and the manager came round to chat to guests during dinner, which was a nice touch."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Breathtaking views"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2015
"Beautifully situated on top of the pass, all the rooms have the same amazing views and are comfortable and well-equipped.

Food was very tasty, though here was no choice at dinner. Lovely, but small, pool area was always crowded.

We did the desert-adapted elephant activity, which included lunch. The drive was fun and we found the animals fairly early, which meant hat the activity was essentially over by 11am and we were handed individual lunch bags, before being driven back to the lodge. More could have been made of this activity, which felt like poor value for money.

Friendly, very helpful staff in spite of an absence of visible management. Reception was not staffed during our stay, so it was a question of finding any member of staff. eg. our washbasin had no plug, but one of the waitresses found one for me!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Black rhino at the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"Wonderful lounge/dining areas overlooking waterhole, which can also be viewed from a 'hide'. Great to watch giraffes, antelopes and others coming to drink.

Rooms were okay, though very hot. Only did one activity: a 'walking safari', which didn't involve much walking! Drove ourselves into Etosha for game viewing and the camp makes a good base for this.

Very good food, excellent staff."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Wish we'd stayed longer"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"After a hot day driving through the park, we checked in, had a swim in the lovely pool, then drove back into Etosha for the last couple of hours before sunset.

Dinner was gourmet-style food in the beautifully-furnished thatched area. Rooms are attractive and thoughtfully designed and equipped. No waterhole, but proximity to the park gate more than compensates for that."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Peaceful riverbank setting"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Great location on the river near Rundu.

Lovely, well-equipped chalet room with view of villagers doing their washing on the Angolan bank! Dinner on the large deck after our excellent 'champagne sunset' cruise. Beautiful gardens with rooms well spread out.

Good overnight stop, though breakfast buffet was disappointing: nothing cooked to order and only white bread with margarine!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Hippo in the garden!"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"Very rustic and simple camp with lots of charm.

Monica and Johan are welcoming hosts and make the delicious evening meal into a special occasion. Tents very close to river are linked to bathroom 'shacks' behind. Hi-light was watching hippos in river early in the morning and the manager coming along and pointing out a huge male, grazing on the lawn behind our tent!

We only stayed one night and didn't do any activities, but enjoyed the pool and lazing by the river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Brilliant guiding by 'Fish'"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"We weren't sure what we were going to do at this fairly simple river camp, as we don't fish, but were gently persuaded out of our comfort zone and ended up trying everything! 'Fish', who seemed to know every inch of the area, told us a lot about the traditional way of life and showed us round the island where he grew up.

Gliding along in the dugout' canoe, it was so peaceful we felt as though we were the only people on the river. We spotted huge numbers of birds and many hippos and even tried fishing....

Back at the lodge, Eve made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed: excellent food, eaten family style, though we could have happily lived on the various home-made breads."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"We love Muchenje!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2015
"This may be the perfect safari lodge. Luxurious without being swanky, it had everything we could have wanted and more.

Well-designed and perfectly located rooms (we had no. 3), with small verandah for morning tea and enjoying the view. Public areas were many and varied, all overlooking the flood plain. Lovely pool, small waterhole, great views.

Activities were included and apparently unlimited. The full day excursion was probably a bit long, but really enjoyable and well-guided. Delicious meals served buffet style at communal tables, hosted by managers and guides.

We were very sorry to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Not for us"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"We were collected by small boat and arrived in time for a late lunch. The boat was nicely furnished and our room comfortable.

A small, very efficient staff team do everything, from guiding to housekeeping. Food was very good and you could help yourself to drinks and snacks.
There were 6 guests on board and the 3 couples were taken out separately in the late afternoon in small boats. This was a plus, as there is not much privacy on board, where we were sharing a small space with strangers. For a family or group of friends holidaying together, it could be a lot of fun, but 1 night was long enough for us.

We were surprised to be told at dinner that there would be no morning activity, as the boat had to be moved so that we could all get off at 9.30am!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Great place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"We'd eaten well at Ilala in the past, but this was our first stay there and it was brilliant. This is the closest hotel to the falls, just a few minutes' leisurely walk.

Our very pleasant room was on the lower floor with glass doors to a small patio and the gardens. The odd warthog wandered past. Service was faultless and staff went the extra mile, offering to run errands for us and keen to ensure we had a comfortable and relaxing stay. Dinner was okay, but breakfast was absolutely superb.

Lovely pool and terrace, with quiet, shady courtyard to escape the heat.

Building work on the new wing was almost complete and it seems as though the hotel will double in size. I hope the 'small and friendly' atmosphere is retained."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

"Paradise on the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2015
"We had very high hopes of Ruckomechi, one of the most expensive places we have ever stayed in, and we certainly weren't disappointed.

It's an exceptionally beautiful location and absolutely everything is done to a very high standard. Apparently the camp is due for a rebuild at the end of the season, but we thought it looked great.

Part of the charm of the place is that elephants and other large animals wander freely through the camp. We never felt unsafe, as the very competent staff had briefed us on what to do and there was always somebody within earshot. We had room 4, though they may all be as good. Quite private from each other, each has an outdoor shower with an open view and a spacious bathroom/dressing area within the tent, which was very comfortably furnished.

Lovely public areas, including a small 'plunge' pool.

We did all our activities with the exceptional and very experienced Temba, reinforcing our belief that Zimbabwean guides really are the best in Africa. We went canoeing and even spent a night up a tree on the 'sleeping platform'. Didn't get much sleep, but it was a unique experience.

We now need to find an excuse to go back to Ruckomechi one day!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team