This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
The Stiltz

Reviews of The Stiltz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

64 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Stiltz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 64
Duration
Arrival date
M&A
San Diego

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"Unique little hotel with incredible staff! Location at the river mouth, and within walking distance to local eateries in town along the waterfront.

Staff helped us with recommendations and reservations at local restaurants." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr B
Canada

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2022
"Arriving in Swapkomund very different mist/fog/cold. The lodge is at the South edge of the town by the estuary.

We had a 3 bedroom lodge, the setting is fantastic, however be ready for cold and damp. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts excellent.

It’s possible to book local tours and get recommendations for local restaurants at the main office, both were excellent.

We enjoyed the Tug restaurant and would go again." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R & V
ASCOT

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2020
"The Stiltz is a bit quirky, the location is good, in town, close enough to walk (during the day) and a short taxi hop from either of the 'go to' restaurants 'The Tug' and 'The Jetty'

The rooms are a bit dated and the decor is a bit of an acquired taste, but it was ok, it would be great for an interior stylist came in and modernised it, would be great ! ...... the bed was v comfortable, we slept really well and the breakfast was good. Receptionist was nice and helpful too.

You can walk to 2 things worth taking a look at; The aquarium, which has indigenous specimens including some sharks and also The Living Desert Snake Park, run by a character called 'Stretch' all sorts of snakes here and lots to learn. This man actually handles some right there, including what he call's a mild mannered Black Mamba ..... yes, go and take a look !" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"An unusual and attractive place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"Well sited at the southern end of town, but within easy walking distance.

We liked the elevated site with views over the marshland and lagoon of the Swakop River, with lots of birdlife, and very convenient for a beach walk.

Very comfortable chalet, and we appreciated the electric blankets when the temperature dropped at night. Good breakfast and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs E
UK

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"Fantastic! The situation so close to town was amazing, easy to walk in and taxi back.

Amazing accomodation for the four of us and great views with a nice little walkway out to a comfortable viewpoint and birds, jiggers and camels to watch, only comment is that the cushions were brought in each evening, at sunset, just when it was most being used!!

The staff were all very helpful and very willing to chat. Very friendly. Breakfast was tremendous with lots of choice and great, friendly service.

Had a lovely stay and would recommend it to anyone." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
W Midlands

"Didn't like our room, but breakfast was fab!"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"The receptionist kindly advised us on arrival that all restaurants in Swakopmund have to be booked in advance and she promptly organised this for us. Stiltz also served some of the best breakfasts we had on our 5 week trip; a delicious selection of home-made treats, as well as the usual eggs etc. It's also well located, only a short walk to restaurants and shops.

Unfortunately, the only room available was room 2, which had no view, no privacy and shook when people walked past. As we were staying 3 nights, we'd hoped to unpack and relax a little. Apart from a small hanging rail, there was no furniture to unpack anything into and the sofa seemed to have been designed to match the quirky architecture, rather than be sat on!

There wasn't a single spare power point, so we kept having to find things to unplug, to charge up phone, camera battery etc.

With hindsight, we wished we'd booked a more conventional guest house with some home comforts.

Whilst here, we organised two trips for these travellers:

A kayaking trip to Pelican Point, about which they commented:

We'd never done kayaking and were apprehensive, but it felt like a privilege to be taken out by friendly and capable Jeanne. From the minute we met her at the cafe, we knew we were in safe hands and learnt a lot about the area and its ecology on our drive to and from Pelican Point.

Once in the water, Jeanne was very reassuring and never let us out of her sight, so we were able to enjoy the experience and interact with the young seals playing amongst us. A wonderful experience.

A day to Sandwich Harbour, about which they commented:

This was a well-designed trip, with a competent and personable guide who enjoyed showing off his impressive driving skills. Sandwich Harbour is beautiful and the view from the top of the dune where we had a tasty lunch was stunning.

The big problem was lack of space and comfort in the Land Rover, which technically had seats for 4 passengers, but with 3 large adults in the back it was a very tight squeeze. As most of the day is spent in the vehicle and the ride very bumpy in places, this really spoiled the day for me." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Mrs D
Southampton

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"We had room 8 which is definitely the best location of all, looking across the Swakop estuary to the sea.

There is some noise from the nearby B2 main road if you are on your deck." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Devin & Willow
USA

"The Stiltz review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"The Stiltz was comfortable and had a fun location at the edge of the estuary.

We had dinner at The Tug restaurant, which had amazingly delicious food. We were very lucky to be seated without reservations, but we dined early." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coleraine

"Excellent location"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"We were lucky to get a chalet overlooking the bay, so we were able to see a variety of birds including flamingos from our balcony. Within walking distance to The Tug which is an excellent restaurant.

Quirky interior decor with great attention to detail." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Moorfoot
Glasgow

"Nice place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2014
"Unusual accommodation was very comfortable with lovely views to the sea and of the various seabirds. Quiet location. Safe parking. Lovely breakfast with friendly staff.

Office receptionist was very helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 64
88%
64 reviews of The Stiltz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
24
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


94% (251 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


87% (60 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (56 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (24 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (17 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (7 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa