This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
The Stiltz

Reviews of The Stiltz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Stiltz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G & Mrs C
London

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2012
"The rooms are large, but have little in the way of storage. One small radiator was not enough to take the chill off a particularly cold evening!

On the more positive side, the location overlooking the Atlantic, but only minutes walk from the restaurants & bars is great. At check-in the staff were keen to discuss the numerous activities available in and around Swakopmund, & more than happy to give recommendations & make reservations" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Wales

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"We were welcomed by Maraget who was extremely helpful throughout our stay, The rooms are large with everything you need, even an electric blanket, which we did use as it was quite cool during the night whilst we were there.

Breakfast was in "The Viilla" & they had an excellent choice. The chef & assistant were very helpful & service was excellent. We stayed in room 6 & we thoroughly enjoyed out stay here.

The Stilltz is a place with a difference-we loved it." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
AB
Essex

"The Stiltz review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Great accommodation - thanks for recommending. The owner [or manager] was wonderful particularly post our Mountain Homestead experience.

The only thing that let this villa down was two bedrooms sharing one bathroom which also had to function as the sink/water supply for the kitchenette. FAr from ideal. Helpful staff - from the people who took our luggage through to the chef who was very cheery. Still hate swakop tho!

We went for dinner at The Wreck - not bad - bit overrated but view great." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"Margaret was the most helpful person! She very quickly confirmed our pre-booked activities and helped us with suggesting and booking restaurants as well as taxis. She took a real interest in our visit and was a delight to talk to.

We had room 7 and a lovely view over the reeds and out to the ocean. The room and hotel was quirky and comfortable with all of the staff very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast room / lounge was surprisingly large and the breakfast delicious." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D & Dr U
UK

"Relaxing start into the holiday at The Stiltz"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr O & Mrs R
Germany

"Ocean view from the Stiltz"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2011
"Great location on the mouth of the Swakop river, which at this time of year was a dry river bed. A walk into the city center took us less than 10 minutes.

Our chalets, which were very spacious, looked out onto the sea. The staff at reception were very friendly and booked us into the restaurants we wanted to try, the Tug and Küki's pub, both excellent and reconfirmed pick-up time for our trip to Sandwich Harbour, which we felt was a highlight of our trip. I would recommend anyone to do it!

We also enjoyed the handmade wind glasses supplied with the mini bar. It all was very well organized and the place well tended.

Whilst here, Expert Africa organised a day-trip to Sandwich Harbour. These travellers commented:

We had great expectations and were not disappointed. Our driver and guide Ernst, was very knowledgeable and easy-going. We passes the guano islands and salt mines, saw masses of flamingoes and pelicans and decided to have lunch amid the dunes, as it seemed too windy at the ocean.

The picknick lunch privided by Ernst was delicious and the location superb. We then waited for low tide in order to continue our trip to sandwich harbour, left the car and continued barefoot on top of a dune in order to enjoy the view over the mounth of the Swakop river and enjoyed hearing the dunes "sing" as we run down again. On our return the fogs moved in, we could hardly see a thing, but enormous flocks of cormorans overtaking us. The day was one of our highlights and I would highly recommend it to anyone!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P, Miss H & P
UK

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2011
"We stayed in one of the bungalows overlooking the sea. The welcome was very friendly indeed. The location good - lovely and quiet.

The accommodation was first class, the breakfast was excellent, the decor was excellent, the beds really comfortable, spotlessly clean - absolutely no complaints and could not recommend highly enough" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Leeds

"Up on stiltz"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2010
"We thought we were booked in room 6, 7or 8, but ended up in one of the 2 villas. It had 2 levels and 3 bedrooms as well as loads of space to lounge around in. As a result, we were more than happy with the change.

We walked from here into town - it took about 10 minutes but seemed quite safe even in the dark. The breakfast was fairly standard but taken in very pleasant surroundings.

These travellers arranged a kayaking trip with Expert Africa, about which they commented:

Sea and seals - excellent

Despite the original vehicle breaking down, the experience overall was great. This was our first try at kayaking, you really do get in close amongst the wildlife.

The leader obviously knew her stuff and as it was a small group - 6 of us - was able to spend time with each couple explaining what was happening with regard to the colonies of animals we encountered.

This trip is excellent value for money and well worth undertaking." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Woking

"A cold night by the sea"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2010
"We were in room 7 - the last and therefore only one with uninterrupted views although the wind was so strong that we couldn't use the balcony to enjoy them.

The wonderful Margaret was friendly, welcoming, helpful and efficient - she gave advice on where to eat and had reservations made at both our choices within half an hour of our arrival - including the last table at the Tug. Worth booking that one before you get to Swapkomund as the food is excellent.

The Stiltz was lovely despite our discovering what an electric blanket is for but the highlight of the stay was the kayaking trip with Jeanne. I had one of those 'ohmigod what have I let myself in for' moments but Jeanne was so professional and reassuring (as well as just plain nice) that we had a wonderful morning. She provides everything you need, takes great pictures and emails them to you (we didn't realise we could have taken cameras) and provides coffee and sandwiches - and a very practical bush toilet for the ladies - on the sand once you come out of the water.

Swakopmund was an interesting town to spend time in and very different to anywhere else we stayed. A good mid point of our trip." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms S
UK

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"Lovely location and room. One thing for the new guide, Chris: The Tug is open on Sundays!

Kayaking was fun." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 62
87%
62 reviews of The Stiltz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
23
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (230 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (49 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa