This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs D from Southampton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2014 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 30 Oct 2014 and 25 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great experience, most enjoyable.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Our only comment would be that in your brochure, trip examples and prices seem to be top end and expensive, which could easily stop potential clients actually contacting you. Some mid range price examples might be a good idea.

We almost did not contact you in the first instance as we thought you would be too expensive, when in fact you are very competitive.

We were very pleased with the help and knowledge we received from Tracy, and hope to travel with Expert Africa again in the future."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"A perfect location for a first night stop, in a quiet residential area, with easy access from the airport.

A bonus, was the excellent evening meals they offer 6 days a week (excl. Saturday).

There is a small supermarket close by to stock up with a few supplies."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2014
""
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2014
"A beautifully designed lodge with large individual chalets.

The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. Where they fell down, was on delivering evening meals to the table whilst they were still hot. Clearly, a big timing problem between the kitchen and the serving staff, as both nights we were there, all four of our party had luke warm food. Although at breakfast, (maybe not so much pressure on the staff) they managed to serve the food hot.

All NWR resorts now give you a notice on arrival that any card transaction have to be done by yourself and you are not to give your card to any member of staff or let it out of your sight. They are making an effort to stop card skimmimg."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"We had room 8 which is definitely the best location of all, looking across the Swakop estuary to the sea.

There is some noise from the nearby B2 main road if you are on your deck."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"This Wilderness run Camp is faultless.

The manager Maggie makes a great effort to make your stay very special. She arranges a series of surprises, of which I won't say too much, except that they don't disappoint.

Our guide whilst staying here was Albert, who looked after us totally, nothing was too much trouble. He was very knowledgeable about the area and its wildlife and also good company.

Seeing desert elephant and a free roaming rhino were very special experiences."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"We have only rated Dolomite as good, as it is in such a stunning location.

It would appear that there are management problems here, or should I say lack of management. The staff mostly appeared to have little idea of service and did as little as possible.

Under good management, this camp would be superb."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"This camp was actually better than we were expecting.

The bush chalets, although simply furnished were a good size and pleasantly located.

Service from the staff good and efficient, especially considering the size of the resort.

The buffet food was good quality, especially the bbq meat. Food choice is similar every day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"Only stayed overnight, but a very attractive fairly new camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Kaisosi River Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kaisosi River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2014
"This lodge is in a lovely location beside the river.

The very pleasant buildings have thatched roofs, but most had polythene sheeting across areas of the roofs where the thatch had failed. The rooms need updating. The whole place badly needs some money spent on it."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"We loved this lodge, with its reception areas furnished in very traditional African style.

Pleasant meru style tents well spaced along the river.

The couple managing the lodge made it a very friendly atmosphere, and he was also our very knowledgeable guide.

Went on the sundowner boat cruise which is a must for scenery and birds.

September is the best time to visit this area for wildlife, as much of it had migrated into Botswana, so no elephants, zebra etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2014
"We have only rated this camp as average due to its superb location, and our pleasant accommodation in a Tree Chalet.

There appears to be a lack of proper management, they'd even forgotten we were arriving. Many staff from the top down appeared rather demoralised, with little effort to keep up any standards. Glasses etc. left on dirty tables or on the deck from one day to the next. Only the barman made an effort to give any service and keep his area clean. The locally recruited staff which we greatly approve of we felt were doing their best, but needed more training and support from the rarely seen management.

On the plus side there seems to be a programme of replacing the old riverside chalets with very nice new ones.
November is not a good time here for wildlife viewing, Mudumu NP was virtually empty."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2014
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Muchenje. The lodge has a real fun atmosphere, mainly down to its great managers, Robert and Joy.

We had a brilliant day trip out from 9-30am - 7pm cruising around the River Chobe channels and driving the length of Chobe NP where we saw numorous elephants. The following day we took packed breakfast and were out from 5-30am - 2-30pm, so much to see, hundreds of elephant , lion, leopard (very lucky), sable and finally wild dogs (exceptionally lucky) beside the road on the way back to the lodge.

Our guide Symack was excellent, and quite happy to stay out as long as we wanted to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2014
"Well run hotel on the edge of town.

Easy 10 minute stroll to Victoria Falls which has a good trail system with plenty of viewpoints."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team