This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge

Reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossus Dune Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossus Dune Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
safari lovers
UK

"Perfect Location"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2020
"Would highly recommend staying here because of its location within the National Park, thus allowing access before and after the gates shut. It really is worth the money. We visited Big Daddy with the guide at sunrise before any other tourists arrived. (It takes about an hour from the lodge, and probably an extra 20 mins approx on top of that if you are coming from the gate). The area of Sossusvlei is absolutely stunning particularly when you can see it before the masses arrive, and they do. It looked very different when we left because of the number of cars, minibuses, buses etc.

The lodge itself is spacious with the lovely individual villas really well spaced along walkways. They are very generous in size and all have magnificent views, and were very comfortable. Small pool which was appreciated in the stifling heat.

Food slightly variable. OK but not a highlight.

Staff mostly lovely." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Oryx

8 sightings

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"This camp could be so much better, but it has one good point and that's its location and the early start and late finish in the dunes and for that alone, it is a good place to stay.

The staff were not over friendly but tried real hard. The rooms were clean and functional but this is not a place to be staying in your room as there is so much more going on just down the road.

Got engaged in Dead Vlei so possibly one to remember in future years although the lodge may dwindle from the memory much sooner." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cambridge

"Great Location for Sossusvlei and Deadvlei."

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"What a brilliant place this is.

When we arrived, we had to park the car at the designated parking spaces and pull our cases about 400 meters up a bumpy unmade gravel track. There should be someone in a vehicle to meet you on arrival at the car park. However when we got to the lodge, the man apologised to us for being busy when we arrived.

There are 25 separate chalets in the camp. They are all in a line, with number 25 being the furthest away. You guessed it, we were in number 25. This was just like a route march to get to the room. You certainly were ready for your meal when you had walked all the way back to the dining room. People need to be asked questions relating to age and ability, before being given the higher number rooms.

The food was good but the service left a bit to be desired, the female waitresses were abrupt and rude. When we were in the middle of our meal, a group of guests arrived for their meal. we were then forgotten about and had to wait a very long time to get our next course. The group had been served two courses before we were able to get our next course.

Because we stayed inside the park, we were allowed to go to Deadvlei before the park opened to the outside public. This allowed us to take photos before the sun came up and after, before anyone else even got there." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs L.
Leatherhead

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2019
"Great Lodge to stay at as it's inside the park and you have ....

Similar to other lodges where there is no option to eat elsewhere, it would be helpful to offer a half board option. Delightful staff." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Ms B
N London

"Unbeatable View"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"Great lodge but the service/food was not as great as in the other lodges of the same categories (still good but not great)

activities seem overpriced (we finally decided to do it by ourselves which was a great decision as what they told us we would have done with them was not 100% true based on feedback from some of the travellers)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs B - family
UK

"Great stay at Sossus Dune Lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"I think this must be the best place to stay for visiting the dunes as you are inside the park and can reach the dunes for sunrise. We had only one night here but on our first day we were able to spend time at the pool (one of the best we encountered in Namibia), walk to the canyon from the lodge and later drive to Elim Dune for sunset.

The next morning we departed for the dunes at around 6AM with a picnic breakfast prepared by the lodge. The checkout was painless - we experienced none of the difficulties referred to by Expert Africa in their guidance notes - we had paid our bill by card the night before after dinner. We spent several hours exploring the dunes, and climbing them in the cool of the morning. We drove all the way to the dunes but did get stuck in the sand, so maybe the shuttle would have been better !

The lodge itself was perfect - we had comfortable spacious rooms with sun-loungers from which to enjoy the great views; the food was very good - a la carte not buffet, and most importantly the staff were all friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
California

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"Because they were in the National Park, staff really did not provide good service." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Linda & Paul
UK

"Exceptionally friendly staff and great room"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2018
"Lovely spacious room and exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. We were very well looked after even though they also had to take care of several large groups of guests.

The food was adequate but this is an aspect that they could seek to improve, otherwise we would have given it an excellent rating." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2018
"Much better than anticipated.

No hassle with credit cards as advised in the tour guide.

Friendly staff and great location" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Linda & Paul
UK

"Very characterful and wonderful lodges"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2018
"See comments on previous page" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 136
89%
136 reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
48
6
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa