This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
Desert Camp

Reviews of Desert Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Mrs G
Malaga

"Fantastic camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2016
"We arrived in searing 34 degree heat to find that our tent had some much needed A/C which made it perfect.

Great views, quiet location, excellent tents and the food at Sossusviei Lodge 5 mins away was very good.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R Family
San Diego

"An experience not to forget"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2014
"If not for my husband calling your office we had to repay for accommodation
After expert Africa got involved we got rooms closer to each other and my son even got a tent with more open space for restrooms.
It was freezing at night...but we had enough blankets.
It is almost like living outdoors.
In warmer season...probably nicer experience.
It was funny that from all other better facilities this one had an outdoor entertainment TV set." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Desert Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"Good quality tented camp near the dunes at Sossusvlei.The only downside was that the tents are fairly close together and if you have a large group nearby you know about it..

But the tents themselves were lovely and comfortable and the bar and swimming pool area a bonus. Sitting in the middle of the desert watching the World Cup and having a beer was a bit surreal!

It was nice driving to the nearby Sossusvlei lodge at night for dinner. The food was wonderful and a massive range of things to choose from." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Oasis in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2014
"Great base for exploring the dunes. Food at desert lodge was outstanding - went out of their way for vegetarians.

Superb location and the pool and bar are simply beautiful.

Were not told that utensils were at reception though so missed our morning coffees!!!

Decided to go hot air ballooning over the dunes - would highly recommend - this is a must - beautiful sights and lovely champagne breakfast!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & family
UK

"Great location fantastic views"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"We loved our stay here , great walks , canyon walk and loved barbecuing for ourselves .

Jakobus on reception when we arrived was so helpful and informative ... Got us organised for the next day and his recommendations were the best for us as a family . We probably got the most out of our stay in this area due to his recommendations ." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wandsworth

"I just doesn't get better than this"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2013
"When I saw Desert Camp, my heart sank into my shoes, as it was only our second stop and I couldn't imagine how anything else could beat this. You cannot beat the scenery. The tents are set up with everything you might possibly need. We didn't want to leave our area. You are so spoilt out there with serenity that you get annoyed if you even hear a whisper from others in the area.

We made use of the bbq packs they supply and over ordered both nights. Really cheap and tasty salads and meat. I was surprised that not more people lit their camp fires at night and just sat outside and star gazed. It was even hot enough for us to swim in the height of winter. What a magical place." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Desert Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2013
"location was good for access to dunes. meals at the lodge were very good. was windy one night and had problems with the tent flapping against the bed which we had to move. breakfast arrangements worked ok." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family A
New Zealand

"Desert Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2012
"The food and the service at Soussusvlei Lodge was exceptional" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Sacramento

"Desert Camp"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2012
"Wonderful spot... again, wish I/we could have stayed a few days to lower the blood pressure a bit.

Food at Sossusvlei "sister" lodge was excellent for dinner and breakfast. We didn't self-cater, but amenities to do so were excellent. Nice touch with a pool in the middle of the desert." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H family
Sweden

"Desert Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2012
"Excellent location. Cold at nights but warm extra blankets available. Wear a warm hat and you sleep well!

Most professional staff. Easy to order excellent food from Sossusvlei Lodge and get it delivered at the tent at 17:30-18:00. The meat was fresh and very tasty, but bring a good knife to cut some of the logs of wood in smaller pieces if you barbecue on your own.

Very good breakfast at Sossusvlei Lodge." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 14
93%
14 reviews of Desert Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa