This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"A destination on its own"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"We enjoyed the stay in this lodge.

We were able to do three hikes in their premise, one is a self guide with good marking. Another two with a guide and the 4 Wheel drive.

The Quiver tree gorge walk as well as the arch walk are beautiful. We saw mountain zébras, plants ....." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

P & B,
UK

"BullsPort Lodge & Farm review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"Lovely place with great self-walking trails.

And not too far from Windhoek for a first day's drive.

Really nice people - and great cake!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
Cambridge

"Bullsport was a Great Place to Stay"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"Bullsport was again a place in transit to our southerly destination of Soussesvlei.

Having said that, the hosts were fantastic and made us feel very welcome.

The food was wholesome and served with the hosts and guests, all sat around a large table for all to enjoy.

We asked to go on the afternoon horse and carriage drive around the farm and were treated to a very informative hour or two looking around and watching the wildlife.

We enjoyed our stay very much." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Mike
Oxford

"Real Family Feel"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2019
"Really enjoyed our day out with Looda. Seeing loads of Hartmann's Mountain Zebra and getting the panoramic view from high up in the Naukluft Mountains. Then the magical hike through Quiver Tree Canyon - a bit exciting in places!! We also did a couple of pleasant way-marked walks from the Farm.

Sanny was particularly helpful and very personable.

Food was great and dining arrangements just like being part of a big family - Johanna and Ernst were lovely hosts." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms B
N London

"Very charming and quiet place"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Above expectations (we had heard mixed feedback about this place).

The lodge is lovely, ideally located next to the mountains, a few trails to do where you can spot mountain zebras! the host was lovely and great atmosphere." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"To be avoided"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2019
"The only reason we stayed here was because of the advertised kloof that Bullspoort is supposedly at the base of for "easy access" and walking. It turns out that the kloof is about 5km away and the rock pools only accessable if you do the all day walk which requires ferrying to and from by vehicle.

The staff were not particularly friendly and one got the sense that everything needed to be done according to the way the owner wanted it done otherwise the staff would be in trouble. Examples were "sorry I cannot give you the wifi code, you need to get that from the manager, we are not allowed to know what it is" to the staff getting extremely agitated when we were not all seated at 7.30 for dinner. Then the poor staff members have to serve you dinner and then sit at the table with you making small talk which was very awkward.

When we did have any dealings with the owner he was pretty surly." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Terrible
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Pavel
Eleebana

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2019
"One of the finds on this trip.

Highlight were the activities incl. gorge walk and the location." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Ludocie
Sheen

"Very poor management"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2019
"It's a working farm that relies on paying guests.

NB Offers mainly hiking and horses. The Quiver Tree hike is a real test and to be done very carefully but well worth it.

The facilities, kitchen staff and guides are great but if the owners, who were absent on our 2 nights, really want the communal supper to be enjoyable, they need to train their middle management to be able to converse.

The dogs, however, are very amusing and entertaining!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Four poms
Somerset

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2019
"At first sight a bit alarmed by the orange and lime green paintwork, but warm and welcoming service and comfortable rooms soon put paid to that. Really great to sit down to dinner with husband and wife owners and getting an insight into the challenges and joys of living in the area.

No real rain for seven years means farming has ground to a halt, although we did see a healthy herd of cattle which surprisingly were able to find nourishment in the mountains.

Excellent walk in the mountains with a very good guide. Bereft of wildlife however. Saw two rock eagles, skittish hyraxes, guinea fowl, squirrels" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms T.
London

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"We didn't expect Bullsport to be as pleasant, relaxed and comfortable as it was. Our luxury room was great - simple, but spacious, with comfortable bed, nice bathroom and shower.

The estate itself and the surrounding countryside are beautiful and interesting. I managed to fit in a 2.5 hour horse ride in the morning of departure which I loved. Their horses are lovely and they also have a few very friendly old dogs around.

Although we personally don't like communal dining and were very tired that evening, it was not unpleasant and the food was good. We were glad we could serve ourselves so that we can have the right size portions (in our case small). Staff were pleasant.

I wish we stayed for more than one night as there are great walks in the vicinity." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa