This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge and Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

187 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

64% success

Oryx

10% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Meerkat

5% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 187
Duration
Arrival date
HarlowJones
Oxted

"BullsPort Lodge and Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2023
"BullsPort is a bit of an outlier compared with other accommodation as it’s a working farm and quite rustic which we enjoyed but may not be everyone’s expectation.

We were well looked after by the owner and did all of the local walks which were a good introduction to Namibia and allowed us to start spotting wildlife (mainly baboons, kudu, klipspringer and hyrax and one very surprised snake.). Food was simple but generous - we ate zebra two nights running and would have preferred some variation.

Overall clean, well located for a two night stop and a good insight into farm life in a desert.

We visited the Neuras vineyard after BullsPort and would recommend it for novelty value and a good cheese board." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs S
Bedfordshire

"BullsPort Lodge and Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2023
"We loved Bullsport.

Johanna and her family were very welcoming and the home cooked food was delicious.

We did the Quiver Tree Gorge excursion which was excellent.

Rooms were spacious and comfortable." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
VicJ
Perth

"BullsPort Lodge and Farm review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jan 2023
"Very friendly welcome from owner/manager.

Lovely room in a purpose built facility on a working farm.

Food very good - good wholesome food cooked to perfection.

Helpful advice and we managed two of the recommended hikes." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Perfect base for exploring Naukluft Mountains"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2022
"BuellsPort Lodge & Farmhouse is the perfect base for exploring the Naukluft Mountains. It´s run by the Sauber family, who has been living here for decades. It´s not a fancy lodge at all, but a genuine Namibian guest farm where we felt very welcome.

Every evening, we had a solid three-course dinner on the terrace outside the main living room. In the morning, a small buffet breakfast. On demand, lunch. You can select anything to drink from the small self-service bar, register your purchase in a small notebook, and settle the account at departure.

We stayed in one of the “luxury rooms” behind the main house. It was perfect with all necessities and air-condition. A small pool and sun chairs next to the farm-house came in handy in the heat.

The staff were all extraordinary kind, and it was also a pleasure to talk to the owners of the farm; J & E - and play with their three kind dogs.

The main attraction at BullsPort are all the walking tracks in Naukluft Mountains and the horse riding (if you ride). We enjoyed the two most scenic (?) walking tracks in the area, a) the Quivertree George Trail and the Arch Trail.

BullsPort Lodge & Farmhouse:

PROs
- Perfect walking area with well-marked trails
- Genuine “guest farm” atmosphere with kind staff (and dog)
- Solid and good quality food “farm style”
- Nice “luxury” room
- We loved it

CONs
- Do not expect luxury lodge designer style
- Pool / guest areas could need an update" See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"BullsPort Lodge and Farm review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2022
"We were very disappointed at the reception we received on our arrival at Bullsport.

Unfortunately the staff weren't expecting us, we had this bizarre conversation with the person who greeted us who insisted we weren't booked in at all and said the only option we could have was to camp!! This was the last thing we needed after an extremely long drive. 20minutes later it was only sorted out when the owner appeared and said it was OK!! They then had to prepare a room for us.

The evening meal was served at 19.00 and no later. The food was basic, but OK.
We were also informed at 20.15 we had to clear the table ourselves if we wanted to sit and chat to other guests.

The owner was very nice and helpful which was the only positive comment we could make about Bullsport." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Kartik
Patel

"BullsPort Lodge and Farm review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"Only stayed one night on the return before flying home.

So difficult to review’s activities but comfortable for 1 night stay to break up the drive" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Service:
Good
Mr G.
Wantage

"BullsPort Lodge & Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2022
"We loved it here, not least because one of the members of staff (Sally) was so welcoming and informative and we had a good laugh with her. The place had a lovely feel and is well-situated for the Naukluft mountains, sitting at their feet. The room was simple but lovely, and there are some good walks without taking the car out.

I think we'd be very lucky indeed to see some of the wildlife listed below at this location, but the zebra we saw were Hartmann's Mountain Zebra, suitably situated halfway up the slopes of the Naukluft and quite wary, with young foals, a lovely sight to see. We also saw springbok and ground squirrel here, and Klipspringer on the mountain ridge on a walk from the camp.

For birders, there was a good range of species on walks from the camp, including Black (Verreaux's) Eagle at the mountains, and we had barn owl over the camp at night calling, the first time I've seen them in Africa. On a walk in the Naukluft a little further west the day we left BullsPort, we saw Klipspringer again as well as rock hyrax and slender mongoose." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs D.
Cheshire

"BullsPort Lodge & Farm review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2022
"A warm, friendly, family run establishment.

Johanna was very helpful and informative. We enjoyed several of the well-marked walking trails. It was an excellent stop on the way to the Namib.

The food was plentiful and great." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J.
Makati

"Interesting area to hike in a canyon"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2022
"One of the better meals we had. Farm to table and fresh game. Excellent hosts.

Best wifi of our extended trip around Namibia.

Hiking was a nice break to our otherwise car-bound trip, and instead of just another game drive." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"BullsPort Lodge & Farm review"

1 night Arrived 4 Mar 2022
"This is a lovely guest farm but also remains a working farm. We had stayed before a number of years ago and the property remains of a high quality with very clean and comfortable rooms, excellent wi-fi coverage across the whole property (sufficient to live stream etc).

The owners and staff are exceptionally welcoming and friendly and spent time chatting to us when we were in the public areas. The food is homemade, most grown / produced in the property and that which is not, is purchased locally. We enjoyed a lovely 3 course dinner with exceptionally tasty vegetables and meat, homemade bread and with dairy elements produced from their cows. It tasted amazing. This was also true of our very fresh breakfast.

A good place to stop on the way to the dunes of Sossusvlei, with walking trails and the chance to walk the very scenic Quiver Tree Gorge." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 187
89%
187 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
104
70
10
1
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (342 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (182 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (103 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (70 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (13 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


98% (10 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa