This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I P
Uk

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2018
"A nice working farm with very friendly hosts who were happy to answer our many questions regarding the issues that face farmers in Namibia - we found this very interesting.

The room was excellent; it was well designed, had a very comfortable bed, had A/C that had recently been installed and, had good hot showers!

Dinner is an occasion when all guests and hosts meet and sit around 1 or 2 tables for a communal meal - the food is hearty and there was certainly plenty of it. One minor issue for us was that the meal is served very quickly and it was all over in about 45 mins - we would have preferred a bit longer. We walked the Quiver Tree trail which was a amazing - it had superb views and we are so pleased that we made the effort to do this!

Special thanks to Jonathan who took us on a landrover ride to the top of the Quiver Tree Trail." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Great location for independent walking"

4 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2017
"We had visited Bullsport in 1999 and were happy to return. It is not designer Africa but none the worse for that - Bullsport is still a working farm.

It is an excellent location for a variety walks on clearly marked trails. The scenery is impressive, the geology is interesting and the plant life surprisingly varied. There is also good bird life around the farm. The accommodation is comfortable but not fancy - brand new AC units had just been installed and were wonderfully quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all our meals although mosquitos were a nuisance when we ate outside.

We stayed for four nights but would have liked a least one more day to complete all the walks." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Frank & Cath
Retford

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2017
"We were pleased that the afternoon farm drive that had to be called off because of a thunderstorm was rearranged (as a modified quiver tree drive) the following morning before our departure. We didn’t ask for this so excellent service." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"Because of our flight delay we were only able to stay at Bullsport for one night, but actually that proved to be enough. It is a useful stop off on what otherwise would have been a long drive to our next destination. Because our visit was curtailed we were very kindly offered an afternoon trip to the Quiver Tree Gorge for just the 2 of us. We were driven there and escorted by our excellent guide David, and felt we learnt so much more than if we had done the hike on our own, which is what usually happens. He pointed out so many interesting features regarding plant life, geology, animals and birds.

The accommodation at Bullsport is quite simple, but spacious and comfortable. The meals were fine but they have a system of allotting you tables which wasn't explained and we kept getting moved around." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Bristol

"Lovely family atmosphere at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Bullsport.

We particularly enjoyed the family atmosphere where we were greeted by Jonathon and his dad who also joined us for our evening meal.

We didn't take part in any of the organised activities but enjoyed walking along the well sign posted trails around the estate and enjoyed the views as well, as seeing some "plains game" on the way." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F & Mr N
Surrey

"Good walking base"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"We only had 1 night here but would have liked 2.

Well ordered farm with a small swimming pool and large lounge area in the farmhouse to si read, drink, wifi etc. The owners were friendly, lovely dinner outside that included zebra and helpful staff.

Several self guided walks and we did one after breakfast before leaving. Horse riding options, even for beginners, that I would try if we returned" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Herts

"Very homely and welcoming stay"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"This was a very homely and relaxed place to stop at. On both evenings we sat outside for dinner with our hosts and enjoyed excellent food and company.

We walked one of their trails on our own in the morning and in the afternoon we were taken to Quiver Gorge and walked about half of the way up with a one of the staff. This was not on their list of activities but when we said that we didn't want to do the whole of the trail from the top the owners offered to do this for us. The Quiver trees, Baobabs and other sights in the gorge were stunning." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Muz
Colchester

"Great fund at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"great fun on the early morning 4 x 4 trip up the mountains and the 5k walk back to the farm

Second morning we really enjoyed a couple of hours on horseback

We had the large guest room at the end of the cottages, it was excellent" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Heathfield

"Homely farm for a short stay"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"We loved the location of Bullsport Guest Farm and managed to do some walking in the beautiful surroundings during our short stay (they provide information about guided walks from the farm).

Our room was spacious, clean and quite basic, providing everything we needed for just one night. We enjoyed the communal meal in the evening, when the owners and their team joined us and were able to give us an insight into what it is like to live and work near the Naukluft Mountains.

We would certainly recommend Bullsport Guest Farm for a short stay, especially if you like walking or horse riding." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Fleet

"Fascinating window into a working farm"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2017
"We really enjoyed the farm drive and the chance to learn about the practical and political issues involved with running a large farm in very challenging conditions. Our visit gave us insights into the difficulties of raising stock in a very arid area. It provided a very good introduction to Namibia.

I also enjoyed the chance to wander by myself over the farm along the suggested trails, looking at birds. We liked the chance to meet interesting people at dinner and enjoyed the food.

The room was simple, the bed very comfortable.

It made a very good stopping off point on our way from Windhoek to Sesriem." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa