This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Bucks

"Great walks and location - Bullsport Farm"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2017
"Beautiful location at the foot of the Naukluft mountains. Very large, very comfortable and well designed rooms.

Family are very welcoming and we loved the communal dinners (delicious - as were the afternoon teas..), with the chance to find out more about farming and horses in Namibia. Added bonus of the canine members of the family who are are welcoming too!

There are a number of well defined walks that are a perfect antidote to the first day of driving on Namibia's gravel roads!

Guided walk to the Quivertree Gorge was super - our guide spotted many animals and birds (Hartmann's zebra and black eagles) which we would never have seen.

Only issue was the map from Expert Africa indicated that the farm was located north on the road from Reheboth. It's just south ;-)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
J Family
Washington

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2017
"We enjoyed our time at Bullsport. The accomodations were clean and fine. The food was fine as well -- better than what we had at the govt lodges and twyfelfontain but not as good as that in most of the other private lodges.

We enjoyed an afternoon hike in the hills behind Bullsport and had a great hike the following day on the 10 km Olive trails in Naukluft park. Johanna is a character and a great host. She gave us some good leads and advice. They run a bit of tight ship there - there was only one dispenser of liquid soap that we had to keep moving between the shower room and toilet room, and when we asked for a bar of soap they steered us to the farm store (which was closed).

We were also asked about the length of the shower time in our kids room -- they had taken a series of showers in a row. Anyway, these were minor points that did not undercut a satisfying stay. I would just note that if you're not a horse rider, there isn't a lot to do on the farm. As with other pools during our stay, the one here wasn't heated and too cold in August for more than a very quick dip.

Because of the drought over the past several years there was also almost no wildlife. Hiking is the only real option, and for us that worked well because our family enjoys hiking." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Middlesex

"Traditional guesthouse, Bullsport"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2017
"We had a lovely walk on our own from Bullsport accompanied by two of their dogs!

The staff at Bullsport was friendly but in comparison to both Hoodia and Corona, the accommodation, and the food were quite basic. It had a very German feel to it. " See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Kent

"Great Gorge walk at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2017
"The staff and dogs were very friendly, we were glad to be able to walk on arrival as the journey had been a long time in the car. The next day we took the Gorge trip and had a very exciting ride to the plateau and a 3hour walk by our selves through the gorge.

The accommodation was homely, the room was quite basic but large. The communal lounge was comfortable and the jack russells were great fun to watch playing.

The communal dinner was very good." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr JM & co
Portugal

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2017
"Very welcoming and helpful.

Good food and great place to stop over on a long drive." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"See previous review"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs A
Gloucs

"Good stop on returrn journey to Windhoek"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2017
"Nice spacious rooms. Comfortable stay. The Quiver tree drive and walk was a highlight of our whole trip along with the dunes. Well worth doing although being confronted by a black cobra on the path certainly made for a heart stopping moment!

Communal meals with the family were enjoyable but a little strained for English speakers as the main language was German. Anyone with an equine interest would love it." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Family Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2017
"Wish we'd had more time here as the walking opportunities looked very good.

Excellent bird watching. Good area for accessing the Namib. Really family run.

Evening meals shared at a big table including family and some staff and good varied home cooked food." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Handy stopover at Bullsport"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2017
"Beautifully designed comfortable cabins on farm with excellent meals served by friendly staff and hosted by family.

We enjoyed some walks which were well signposted and in beautiful grassy countryside." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs B
Gabriola Island

"Bullsport guest farm"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2017
"The farm was great, rooms were big and lovely. Meals were lovely and we ate outside with the owners at a communal table.

Very interesting people and glad we got to talk with them about the farm.

We took a tour to the top of quiver tree gorge and hiked down. The hike was harder than we expected and we likely should have been given a more reasonable expectation of the difficulty level." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa