This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

179 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

87% success

Wildebeest

43% success

Zebra

32% success

Giraffe

9% success

Brown Hyena

6% success

Meerkat

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 179
Duration
Arrival date
Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2022
"Hoodia Desert Lodge is located 22 km from Sesriem, the entrance gate to the famous Sossusvlei area. The lodge sits on the dry banks of Tsauchab River and it is surrounded by mountains in a rather harsh landscape with stony plains and limited vegetation.

It´s in a modern and design´ish style, but perhaps lacks a bit of personality. This is however offset by the many comforts: Shared pool with a view to the dry riverbed, large seating area with comfortable sofas and chairs. Large dining room with central fireplace, and a shaded terrace. In addition, good internet.

In the private thatched bungalows, there is a wonderful bathroom with both indoor and outdoor bathing facilities, including an outdoor bathtub. All in beautiful terracotta colors. Furthermore, large double bed, fridge and air con.

We stayed on a half board basis. Both breakfast and dinner were of high quality.

The day after arrival, we did the full day excursion to Sossusvlei from Hoodia Desert Lodge. It´s recommended.

PRO´s
- Completely modern and in perfect condition
- Large, beautiful rooms with a romantic outdoor bathtub
- High food quality
- Fantastic full day excursion to Sossusvlei

CON´s
- Slightly impersonal "designer style lodge"
- Exposed isolated location on the dry riverbed and stony plain" See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2022
"Hoodia was wonderful, it was lovely to be greeted at the door with a warm friendly welcome from Thomas and the staff.

The central area of the lodge is stylish but welcoming, the restaurant is the same with food quality to match the surroundings.

The Sundowner evening excursion was absolutely the best of our trip, set up with individual tables for each couple, you felt you were on your own with no one else around! We were lucky it was a beautiful clear evening to see the sun setting.

Ineos was our guide to the Dunes, he was very informative about the desert and the area around. The lunch set up was amazing.

All in all we really enjoyed Hoodia Desert Lodge." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr G & Ms B
Hove

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2022
"Excellent lodge with great attention to detail and personal service. The sundowner experience was the best of our trip and the memory of it will stay with us forever.

The restaurant was well designed with a great ambience and a food quality to match. The lounge area of the lodge was similarly well designed and a lovely place to relax.

I have a very minor quibble that the lighting in the individual lodges was a bit underpowered, so I sometimes needed a torch to find things in my luggage, but it feels churlish to mention such a trivial point on what was an amazing stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2022
"Very enthusiastic welcome from Thomas, one of the owners with a lovely home-made iced tea. We were booked for a day trip to Sossusvlei and Thomas sat us down to go through any food allergies and what drinks we would like during our outing, something that I particularly appreciated as I usually end up with water because I don’t like alcohol or carbonated drinks.

The trip itself was great (although a long & hot day) and it was really nice that we weren’t automatically taken to the most popular dunes for the sake of it, going instead to a dune where it was just us climbing it but the view at the top was worth it. The guide was really informative and also provided a really useful commentary about which toilets were the best to go for!

The picnic lunch was amazing, both for the scenery and the fact that we had a full table and chair set up complete with table runners, different size glasses and full china and cutlery!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Kartik
Patel

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2022
"We really enjoyed our stay at Hoodia. Thomas, the owner, is a fun, warm and welcoming character, and all of the staff there are very friendly - Deshi and Karina looked after us well.

The sundowner was incredible, we had a private set up on a hill and they gave us plenty of time to see all of the changing colours of the sunset (and hear some howling jackals).

The day excursion to Sossusvlei with Paulos was just as memorable, with a proper lunch set up in the desert under a shady tree (our apologies to the disgruntled oryx who were previously resting under said tree)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"Lovely place to stay - staff couldn't do enough for you.

Had a wonderful day trip to Sossusvlei as part of our stay" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2022
"A wonderful stay! The main area and the rooms were all beautifully decorated and maintained. The staff were welcoming and attentive. There was a tremendous attention to detail in all aspects.

Dinner was excellent; great food and good service. Particular care was taken over a dietary allergy. In comparison, breakfast, whether for the early 6am call or later, was surprisingly spartan and DIY, with the waiting staff paying little attention. Half a croissant per person seemed rather mean!

Personally, I began to feel that everything here was manufactured, the "welcome back" greeting after our trip felt OTT and false. I felt that we were simply on a two day conveyor belt, albeit a very comfortable one. For instance, I noticed that the reception/lounge area wasn’t used by guests, as if it was too much of a showpiece. I certainly felt that if I sat down, someone would be hovering, ready to tidy and 'karate-chop' the cushions.

Nevertheless, we would stay here again and it seems 'the' place to stay to visit Sossussvlei. Clearly they are selling it well, because there was a very international range of guests here." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Lovely lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"We are so happy that this lodge was proposed to us by Sabina (Expert Africa)! One of the best decorated lobbies of lodges and hotels that we have been and with a very nice dining area ( pity that the food didn’t match it but you cant have it all 😊…).

Extremely friendly and service-orientated staff, including the ‘bubbly’ owner – grateful for pointing out a very nice sauvignon to us and sharing some of his scotch with me. Gorgeous setting, albeit windy, with great activities and very experienced guide with perfect narration style. The sun-downer, one of the best!

A must experience in this area of Namibia – tow nights will suffice to our view." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mrs N.
Rickmansworth

"Hoodia Desert Lodge Post Covid Sept 2022"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Our stay at Hoodia was wonderful - we took a Sundowner trip on the first evening which was magical - a great sunset followed by an almost full moon.

The rooms at Hoodia and the facilities in the main lodge were wonderful and the food was well cooked and presented. A special thank you for the efforts made catering for 2 vegans - they were very impressed with all meals." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs Z
Saratoga

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2022
"The lodge was great and situated in a beautiful spot. Our guide was in training, and he didn't seem to have a feel for 'reading' guests and to be receptive of their needs. The senior person with him had a much greater depth of explaining things and his experience definitely showed. So it was great having him along and it made a big difference.

It had not been made clear to us that because we were outside of the Park, we could not view the dunes at sunrise.

It also would have been nice to have time to do the balloon ride, but because we were leaving relatively early the next day, there wasn't time. That being said, a two night stay here was adequate. The spot they chose for the "Sundowner" was beautiful and memorable.

We were a bit rushed here, and couldn't have the "Sundowner" on the day we arrived because of a flight delay from Windhoek, which was totally out of everyone's control. But a beautiful spot, and I loved seeing the beautiful dunes, which was always on my bucket list.

The tented room we had, while it had A/C, had open access to the air outdoors, so consequently the room was quite hot. John did mention this to Mr. Thomas, the owner, that was there at the lodge.

The lodge itself was beautifully constructed, with unique architecture." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 179
97%
179 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
20
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (340 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (184 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (103 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (69 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (12 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa