This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Spectacular experience on all levels!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2020
"The location is about 1/2 hour drive from the park entrance. The lodge overlooks a dry river bed and there is a watering hole, so you can sit and look for animals. We visited in the off season and saw baboons and lots of birds, but we had the place to ourselves, so lots of service from the staff. Food was excellent with oryx on the menu.

Our day tour to the dunes was excellent. Very knowledgeable guide that took us on a walking tour to look for animal tracks, had us hike up a dune and down into Deadvlie from a different route than all the other tourists so we got a unique perspective. The sundowner was a unique experience as well, unlike any other one we had before. Left atop a small mountain, with table, chairs, candles, drinks and food to enjoy the setting sun on the red dunes.

Highly recommend this lodge." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Ms K & Mr J
USA

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2020
"Nice lodge and very comfortable rooms. The rooms are air-conditioned and have mosquito nets - comfortable for sleeping. The pool was small but pleasantly cool and was a nice place to spend some down-time. Our guide picked us up from the airstrip, and took great care of us throughout our stay until he took us back to catch our next flight.

He was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of Sossusvlei park and gave us a fantastic tour. There were four people in our tour group and he was able to support different needs or desires of all tour members. In particular since I was the only person interested in climbing part of Big Daddy, he gave me directions on where to go and how to reconnect with the group so that I never felt like I was on my own. Lunch under a tree in a secluded area was spectacular, as was the sun-downer drink on a hilltop near the lodge.

It should be noted that this tour doesn't get you to the dunes for sunrise. Anyone looking for that experience should stay at a lodge within the park.

Our guidebook needs updating regarding the Sesriem Canyon - it indicates that swimming in the pools may be possible. Since it hasn't rained in 10 years, these pools are now only likely to attract tadpoles!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Ms S.
Surrey

"Fantastic Stay at Hoodia"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2019
"Amazing welcome, staff couldn't have been better.

Beautiful décor. Little stay in paradise. Fantastic food. Great desert tour. Would highly recommend.

Nothing to do with the hotel service but one point to note, the 'entrance' gate listed on sat nav (and the map we were provided with) on the D854 is locked so the entrance on the C19 needs to be used." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Desert paradise"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Hoodia was a very close runner up to Onguma in terms of our favourite place to stay.

The lodge itself was beautiful and we really liked the fact that the people working there were keen to chat, which created a really nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The view from the pool was amazing, the food was great, and the ability to have the car next to the chalet was actually really handy!

The sundowner drink was absolutely magical and one of our trip highlights." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

FunOnly
Calgary

"More than just a stop to see the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"Hoodia Desert Lodge is a permanent structured camp with African styled architecture. The chalets are very comfortable and modern and have efficient air-conditioning. There are no dangerous predators nearby so we could walk back to the main and forth to the main lodge after dark.

The owner operators of the lodge live on site and has an excellent relationship with all the staff. They are passionate about the environment and spent extra to get their electrical power from non polluting renewable energy. The owner was driving us to the airport when he stopped suddenly by the roadside of the public road and got out of the SUV, on his return we realized that he had spotted a random bit of garbage in the ditch that he retrieved!

The common areas in the main lodge are very comfortable with excellent sitting area and bar. There is also a fast complimentary Internet, unfortunately they do not have repeater WiFi in the so it is unavailable in the rooms. If we had our trip to plan again we would have spent one or two extra days here lazing around the pool and recharging after two weeks of hectic daily sightseeing.

The dining experience was outstanding with very tasty choices on a menu that varied each day. Our guide to Sossusvlei, Lucas also coordinated the sundowner experience. Lucas was extremely, knowledgeable about the desert environment and also planned our day to minimize the crowds at the most popular attractions. He took us to a quiet location under Acacia trees where he rolled out a gourmet lunch, including a basin for hand washing! Sitting with a glass of cold sparkling wine and watching the Oryx and Ostrich wander by will be a lasting memory.

The private sundowner cocktails on the mountains were an exceptional experience and will be our lasting pleasant memory of Namibia for many years to come." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"A really nice lodge with staff who really did to seem to care about their guests" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Spectacular setting for Hoodia Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"Hoodia has beautifully designed individual chalets in a spectacular location in the Namib Desert, close to very colourful mountain ranges. The chalets were very well appointed and had both indoor and outdoor shower areas. We were welcomed by very friendly staff who explained in detail the planned events for the following day. The main part of the lodge has a very relaxing lounge and bar area with an adjoining dining area leading to a outdoor deck with great overview of the surrounding landscape.
Food and service in the restaurant was very good, although as with many of the smaller Namibian lodges we stayed at, the choices for main courses at dinner were somewhat limited.. Not really a complaint, just an observation, and we did enjoy the vast majority of our meals at the lodges." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Paula
Atlanta

"Loved the experience"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"I found the experience to be great. Beautiful lodge, not far from the park, and the staff were wonderful." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs C.
Blauzac

"Loved this lodge, would like to go back."

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"This lodge was wonderful, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and welcoming.

The rooms and main lodge were beautiful, the Gaudiesque outside bath / shower was great. We loved the location in front of the mountain & enjoyed the pool and terrace. We would love to comeback here just for 3 days of rest.

I the middle of nowhere the lodge gave us gluten free bread with our meals. The guided day in the dunes was so interesting and the lovely lunch laid out in the shade was great." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"Wonderful room. We felt the lodge was a little removed from its setting. Eve and I deliberately walk out across a swale to get a better sense of our environment.

A high point, indeed one of the many high points on our trip, was the “activity “ to visit the dunes at Sossusvlei. Not only were the dunes spectacular, our guide (whose name sadly escapes me) was extremely knowledgeable about the geology, the wildlife and the scanty history of the area. All of which he generously shared with us. On a human level, he rescued a family suffering from heat exhaustion and dehydration." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 153
97%
153 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
135
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa