This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

202 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 62 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

87% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

31% success

Giraffe

11% success

Meerkat

7% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Spotted Hyena

2% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 202
Duration
Arrival date
A & J
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2024
"Really enjoyed Hoodia - great location, facilities, accommodation and staff. We were made to feel very welcome with a personal greeting, refreshments and talk-through the plans for our stay at the lodge.

The Lodge had real character and we were really impressed and enjoyed all aspects.

Catering (gluten free options) were very nicely done and personalised, with menus adapted carefully.

All the staff were positive and engaging and our experiences with our guide (Enos) on the Sossusvlei day exceeded expectations.

A huge number of animal and bird sightings not listed below..." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

John
Western Canada

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2023
"Awesome stay here. Really enjoyed the staff, they all were super friendly and fun to be with.

Guide, Enos, was excellent as was the tour to Sossusvlei and the sundowner. Sundowner at Hoodia was the BEST sundowner on the whole trip for both setting and food.

Food was very good, better than Anib.

Only minor quibble and this probably has more to do with us traveling in the warmest part of the year was the AC in the rooms could be better." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs M
Scotland

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2023
"Hoodia was a very welcoming and comfortable lodge fairly close to Seisreim for Sossusvlei access.

It has great food and friendly staff and a nice little pool to cool off in.

The individual lodge was good with inside and outside showers and nice sitting area.

Would highly recommend Hoodia" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mrs A
London

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2023
"We stayed at Hoodia for 2 nights and were slightly disappointed with our stay. The rooms were OK but unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't quite strong enough to cope with the 40 degree heat.

The food was good but the service was somewhat lacking. Despite being the only guests at the lodge, we were allocated the room furthest from the reception area, meaning we had no wifi (not a huge issue). We later discovered that the owners were away and the staff were sleeping in the rooms closer to reception and hosting parties with loud music in the reception area.

The Sossusvlei tour was brilliant although we did feel that our guide was angling for tips.

This is a lovely lodge with a nice pool and beautiful scenery, but overall disappointing service." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr N
United Kingdom

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2023
"Everything about Hoodia desert lodge was good, except for the owner Thomas who, although nice, practically told us off for saying that we'd love to try some local Namibian dishes if they have that option over the next three days.

It was a long conversation, but I think he could have been a little nicer about our request, even if he was still going to say no!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Paul
Surrey

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2023
"the location was spectacular, service superb and staff very friendly.

Very quiet and tranquil, only wildlife on the reserve we saw was birds.

The rooms were huge and amenities great although we weren't able to use too much due to the drought.

Pool was a welcome relief and the pack lunch very much appreciated for the next part of our drive!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr. & Mrs. E
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2023
"The lodge was superb in every respect.

The room was comfortable without being over-elaborate, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good.

The Sossusviel excursion was excellent, especially the living desert talk.

The guide went out of his way to make it an individual experience to make it memorable, which it certainly was." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Exceptional sundowner experience"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2023
"Another exceptional lodge, individual chalets either side of the main dining/reception buildings. The meals were well conceived and delicious. Our chalet was spacious, a large comfortable bed, outdoor and indoor showers.

The sundowner experience here was exceptional. We were driven from the lodge at 6pm to a hill a short distance away. There we discovered individual tables on the side of the hill overlooking the plain. Tables were already set up with snacks and our choice of drinks.

Once we were all settled Daniel, our guide, left and we had relaxing hour and a half enjoying the sunset and the atmosphere. Really something special and very professionally done." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Bintang
Cambridge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2023
"A beautiful place to stay and ideal to view the dunes.

The sundowner drive was not so much a drive as a romantic drink at sunset.

As the tiny swimming pool was rather overcrowded we cooled off in the bath tub (once we'd borrowed a bath plug from reception). Not the most comfortable bath, built for style not comfort!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W
Bath

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2023
"This is a beautiful lodge in a stunning location. The rooms were lovely and very well equipped and the food was good.

Our one issue was the Soussusvlei excursion. Overall we were very disappointed with this activity – except the lunch which was fantastic.

[ Ed: See their comments on this trip amongst our reviews of the Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion. ]

Although there’s lots of positives about the lodge we probably wouldn’t have stayed here if we’d known what the excursion was going to be like. I would have done more research and either found someone who does give an ‘off the beaten track’ experience or found somewhere we could have self-driven to the sites as early as possible and to our own timetable.

We didn’t do the Sundowner experience which at N$850 each (~£38) seemed pretty expensive.

If you are not worried about getting off the beaten track then this lodge is a great option." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 202
97%
202 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
177
22
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (353 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (191 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (139 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (105 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (73 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (44 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (20 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (17 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (15 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


98% (10 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


74% (7 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (3 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa