This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Great Lodge outside Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2018
"We really liked this lodge.

We were given a very warm welcome, the main lodge was very comfortable and our room was great, especially the outside shower! All the food was delicious, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs & Mr H
California

"Beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2018
"We loved this place! The all day activity was great, our guide was good not excellent. We asked for a wake up call and never got one so were running late. The guide told the staff we were lying? Not a big deal but surprising. By the end of the day, the guide started to smile and laugh but it really took some effort.
The folks we shared a vehicle with really made our stay! So glad we did not have a private tour!
The food was good
The lodge was impeccable
The service was attentive and amazing despite no obvious manager around.
Our guide did an AWESOME job finding a white dancing lady spider and scorpion :). He made us a beautiful lunch too." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs A & Mr M
London

"Outstanding"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2018
"It all started with a terrific welcome from Enos and never went downhill. The staff were outstanding in their attention to detail and were particularly helpful when we discovered we had a puncture (must have happened on the drive in to the Lodge). Staff were dispatched "to help" and then proceeded to remove the punctured wheel and fit the spare.

The chalet, the restaurant and the swimming pool could not be faulted.

Staying here was one of the highlights of our holiday. There is a lovely atmosphere around the place.

The kitchen staff were extremely attentive to my food intolerances." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

4 sightings

Ms T.
London

"Luxurious"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Beautiful setting, great private chalets, well appointed, the best food we had on the trip, very attentive service.

We loved the outdoor shower and the lounge/veranda area in the main building." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr M & Mrs R
London

"Large, dramatic, theatrical sitting area"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"The lounge area is large and dramatic, with plenty of seating areas and lavishly furnished, with many beautiful books on Namibia.

The individual tables in the spacious dining area are set in a semi-circle near to large picture windows. There is a deck outside where you can have drinks and watch the sun set, with a pool area one level below that. The manager was very attentive and the service was good.

The guide we had was excellent and very knowledgeable.

We stayed at the lodge for access to Sossusvlei and did not see, or expect to see, animals there." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
K+R, J+P
Stirling

"Beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"A luxurious lodge in a beautiful location.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms were beautifully designed, and the outside shower was a delight." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Fabulous place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Very comfortable chalet. Good food." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"Great dune experience in a comfortable lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"Excellent friendly staff. Very welcoming and very good food.

The camp is some way from the Sossusvlei area, but is certainly very comfortable." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr D.
Egham

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"Hoodia has a great location and is fairly modern.

We received an extensive welcome by the owner and he clearly takes great pride in his lodge. He spent time with every guest, greeted people back from their excursions and made sure service was to his standards.

The views are extensive and just sitting by our room looking over the dry river valley was enjoyable in itself. The lodge is well laid out and the food was good.

A small point, but being able to drive your vehicle right up to your room made everything very easy." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Hoodia Desert lodge. Excellent and friendly "

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"We thought this lodge was the most professional of all the lodges we stayed at on this trip. It was also very friendly with great food and a comfortable room in a great location.

We enjoyed a romantic sunset sun downer trip on day of arrival.

We also took the lodges Sossusvlei excursion which managed to keep us away from the crowds. An example of this is we were arriving at dead vlei as the crowds were leaving." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Showing 21-30 of 153
97%
153 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
135
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa