This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

154 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 154
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Hoodia Desert lodge. Excellent and friendly "

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"We thought this lodge was the most professional of all the lodges we stayed at on this trip. It was also very friendly with great food and a comfortable room in a great location.

We enjoyed a romantic sunset sun downer trip on day of arrival.

We also took the lodges Sossusvlei excursion which managed to keep us away from the crowds. An example of this is we were arriving at dead vlei as the crowds were leaving." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Hoodia review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Liked having the Honeymoon Room in honour of my 70th." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

T & T
woodside

"beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"Set against the edge of the mountains this lodge has a visually impressive location.

We were greeted on arrival by the super friendly and ever hard-working owner. We had a lovely cabin/tent of our own. The central lodge is an attractive building.

The staff is friendly and very hardworking. Very nice meals too. For our activity we took the day trip to Sossusvlei. They also gave us a nice bag lunch for the drive out.

Couldn't be better!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms J
London

"Hoodia Desert Lodge is lovely"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2018
"Beautiful lodge, very well equipped and good food.

The only downside was lack of engagement from staff on our externally organised balloon safari. If I hadn't asked where I needed to be by when I wouldn't have known and was expecting to be picked up but we had to drive ourselves very early in the morning in the dark - so unsure of when we would get there. In the end it all worked but they could have been more forthcoming." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Winchester

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2018
"Luxurious accommodation – liked the outside shower!
Great terrace, with sundowner, looking at ‘The Lion’, carved in the mountain
Nice meals – very tender Springbok steak.
Interesting waterhole – good to watch the family of baboons.
Sundowner trip – good, but expensive for what it was." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr I P
Uk

"Hoodia Desert Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"Quite simply superb. The best lodge on our holiday.

The rooms, the staff, the food, the location, the sundowners, the guides were all amazing.

Credit must go to Thomas and Henreza for creating the most amazingly friendly, welcoming and professionally run lodge.

We will definitely be back." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Rolling Crones
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2018
"Another brilliant lodge. First impressions when approaching were not so good, but once there we were given a warm welcome. We were glad that we went to Sossevlie on the guided trip from the camp as the guide showed us so much more that we would ever have seen on our own. Once again the guides were very knowledgeable and made the trip so interesting." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peter & Helenka
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2017
"Again this is just a wonderful place to stay. Thomas is so welcoming and attentive to your every need. Lovely food especially the lunch out on Safari

Lodges so comfortable and the main dining/reception area is full of interest with some wonderful books just lying around

The trip to the Sand dunes was yet another memorable experience amongst the many we had" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Bristol

"A pleasant coupe of days spent at Hoodia Lodg"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"We were greeted by a very welcome cold drink and chat with Thomas who told us all about the excursions on offer.

The location of the lodge is quite stunning with wonderful views all around it. A good location from which to visit Sossussvlei. We opted not to join the organised excursion, preferring to spend part of one day relaxing at the lodge and walking around the site.

On our second day we went to Sossussvlei where we were so impressed by the different dunes and the amazing variety of colours." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
BarryT
Knutsford

"Extremely welcoming and 1st class"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"We drove straight to Hoodia after arriving in Windhoek as we had already lost time through our flight delay.. Roads are in the main good and it took us about 3 hours.
We loved staying here. The staff are brilliant and the chef is a magician. We stayed in Chalet No1 which has an uninterrupted view towards the West so you get fantastic sunsets. The room was really good and the lodge facilities were excellent.

It is easy to visit Sossusvlei under your own steam so we did not need a guide even so the guide told us exactly where to go and what to do.Take their advice and do dot be tempted to drive past the first car park even if you have a 4x4. The sand is very deep and even the professionals get stuck. The dunes are stunning, a photographers dream but they are a tough climb. The walk through to Dead Vlei is spectacular.
One tip. As the buses to the dunes from the first car park get busy walk to Sossusvlei to catch the bus back" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 154
97%
154 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
136
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa