This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat


23°45’43.3"S 16°2’7.2"E

Reviews of Barkhan Dune Retreat

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Barkhan Dune Retreat and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Barkhan Dune Retreat.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Meerkat

75% success

Zebra

60% success

Oryx

50% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"A real retreat"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"A lovely stay at this retreat for one night. The hostess prepared a wonderful homemade dinner.

The rooms were set into the barkan dune and were very comfortable and private. Coffee was brought to the room in the morning and it was nice to have that first cup at leisure enjoying the desert morning.

A short hike up the nearby mountain was well marked and offered stunning views of the surrounds." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Oryx

7 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs B - family
UK

"Barchan Dune Retreat stopover"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2019
"This was a convenient stop between Sossusvlei and Walvis Bay. We didn't leave Sesriem until lunchtime so it would have been too long a day driving straight through to Walvis Bay.

The lodge was in a lovely setting; the rooms were excellent; the drive to the top of the nearby Spreetshoogte Pass was a very worthwhile diversion - the views were terrific; but the food let this place down for us.

I don't think it was freshly prepared - we appeared to be given ready meals from the freezer. Dinner was served at a large communal table but we were the only guests. Excellent wines were included with dinner.

The hosts were very pleasant - they are currently building more rooms and are installing a swimming pool." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Ms W
Berkley, CA

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Just a nights rest. Very good food perhaps our best meal in Namibia.

Had a nice walk and a break up of the drive." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Picton, NZ

"Stay among the rocks @Barchan Dune Retreat"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2019
"Very friendly hosts who aimed to please us and provide a good service.

Unfortunately the water for the shower was cold but otherwise the room was very comfortable.

We were advised to travel up to the nearby Spreetshoogte Pass to watch the sunset which was well worthwhile." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2018
"The lodge changed ownership recently and the new managers Niekie and Gerde had only been there for about 3 months. A lovely couple - we were the only guests there that evening - and we had an excellent meal with them, Gerde even printing off the recipe of the excellent and unusual starter she had made.

The lodge is set in stunning scenery, and the room we had was built into a dune. It was very hot during our stay, and the room was a little difficult to cool.

We went on the sundowner farm drive which was interesting, with quite a lot of game on show.

We liked Barchan Dune last time we stayed there, and still do" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 9 Jan 2018
"We really felt welcome & invited to join in the family evening meal, it was really home from home.

The drive there was a long way off the 'main' highway, we found the driving around this area quite tiring though in beautiful scenery.

A beautiful house with very cleverly designed, hidden rooms tucked under the dunes in their grounds. The gardens & birds were wonderful.

The hosts & staff were really friendly & welcoming & gave us really lovely home cooked food." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Retreat is an apt word"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2017
"We really liked this one. It is just about to change hands (although there is to be a year's hand-over) so it may alter.

The retreat is well off the beaten track in an isolated valley. I loved its solitude. It doesn't feel the least bit like a business, just somebody's house with a few rooms. The current owners are most interesting and great hosts. You dine with them and I find that much more entertaining and informative than sitting in a restaurant.

The food, dinner and breakfast, was very good and beautifully served. Well done the (silent) kitchen team!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"A good stopover for us. Did try to contact them as I left my contact lenses behind, but no luck Maybe had the wrong phone number" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Barchan Dune Retreat... a great farm stay"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2017
"The Barchan Dune Retreat web site is quite modest. Don't let that put you off. We had a delightful stay. It was our only farm stay with a private family and a nice change from bigger lodges.

We really enjoyed meeting Willem and Hannetjie and sharing their hospitality over a sundowner drink and our evening meal.

The rooms are architecturally interesting, being individual cabins built into the sand dunes. Very comfortable." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Retreat is just the right name for this place"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"We had a very good two night stay at Barchan Dunes enroute from Wolwedans. Wileem and Hannjete were perfect hosts.

They have done a clever and nice job building the individual chalets into the dunes, at the end of a lovely and very quiet valley. Hannjete quietly ensured tea/coffee/beer was provided at multiple points through the day whenever we were back at the home.

Dinner around the table with the hosts were excellent and it felt like being house guests rather than paying guests. We had two enjoyable discussions with the hosts and other guests whilst drinks flowed (especially reducing Willem's whiskey stocks).

The walk up the hill behind the farm is well worth it for fabulous views.

Other guests went on agame drive with Willem and saw a great range of game including a very large herd of Oryx plus Zebra.

The Spreetshoogte Pass is also worth a visit - a very steep and twisting road up that gives incredible views across the plain and only 20 minutes from Barchan Dunes.

Overall a very nice place to relax in the middle of nowhere!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 37
93%
37 reviews of Barkhan Dune Retreat by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa