This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr DB from BC Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

19

Excursions taken

1

Fabulous! Exceeded our expectations!

Namibia between 4 Oct 2019 and 3 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very satisfactory is not even close to describing our satisfaction with our experience with Expert Africa. Maruska did a superb job in communicating with us whether over the phone or by email. She answered all our questions promptly, stuck to our budget, fulfilled our request for a self guided tour and the areas we wanted to visit and provided many more useful suggestions. We followed her itinerary to a T and was never disappointed. Still there was plenty of opportunity to use the Bradt guide and add extra excursions when we wanted. I think that was only possible because of her careful, knowledgeable planning. Our group of three visited from Oct 5 - Nov 1, 2019

If we know of anyone going to Africa we would not hesitate to point out the excellent service that Expert Africa provided us.

Thank You Expert Africa and especially Maruska! You made our vacation hassle free and memorable."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

House on Olof Palme

"Friendly and caring hostess"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"It was nice and helpful to have dinner recommendations and transportation to and from the restaurants arranged for us by the hostess, Reinette, who was always readily available for any concerns. Breakfasts were excellent. Parking was good. Nice quiet neighbourhood.

The rooms opened out onto a common courtyard and you were able to enjoy the outdoors with seating areas around the pool. The main dining and living area of the house was also open for guest use.

Windhoeck was easy to access with our own car but we were disappointed being there on the weekend when most places were closed."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

"Great friendly service from Emelia"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"Loved the warm, friendly and attentive service from Emelia who made us feel welcomed and special.

The breakfast and dinner was excellent. It was good for one night's stay as there was not much to do around the farm.

Good for a relaxing stay."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Greeted by ostrich and eland as we parked!"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"We arrived early but were well taken care of. Able to have a drink while waiting for our room then later on we were helped with taking our luggage to the room. The room was clean and spacious and comfortable and had a great view of one of the watering holes where we saw oryx feeding the next morning. How exciting!

We enjoyed the walking trails on the property which were easy to follow. Our first sundowner drive was marvelous, seeing wildlife along the way and ending with drinks and snacks while watching the sun set.

The buffet meals offered good variety of choices.

Lovely gift shop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Surprising decor with old vehicles"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Pleasant check in. Quirky restaurant with old automobiles throughout. Dinner was a la carte from a simple menu. Nothing special.

There was oryx around the property eating the grass in the courtyard.

The hill behind the property was good for a hike to the top to take in the expanded view of the desert around.

It was too windy to use the pool.

The quaint petrol station added another quirkiness to the place.

Nice proximity to the Fish River Canyon and the interesting Quiver tree forest."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

"Spectacular setting"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Most spectacular setting with cottages nestled in the rocky hillside.
Gorgeous pool setting and many rock dassies running all around the pool area.

We enjoyed the extensive hiking in the hills behind the village.

Good friendly service overall."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Lots of hiking trails available"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"Provided a good brochure with trail maps but some of the trail markings were hard to find.

The traditional Namibian stew was delicious!

We enjoyed the singing performance by the staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

"Nice location on the coast"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2019
"Good location. Easy to walk into town for restaurants and visiting. The walk to the lighthouse at the end of the road is a worthwhile visit.

A very comfortable room with well equipped kitchenette and balcony with a view of the ocean.

A quiet town on the weekend with most places closed by 1:00pm on the Saturday. Still, we enjoyed a nice walk around the town following the Bradt guide book suggested walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Duwisib Guestfarm

"A relaxed farmhouse atmosphere"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"Our stay at the farm in it's beautiful setting with a surprising little pool area, just as surprising as the nearby castle which is only a short walk away and with an interesting history, was perfect for one night.

Excellent farmhouse cooking, delicious, authentic Namibian cookery was enjoyed, listening to the stories and learning more about Namibia from the host who joined us at meal time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Elegant Desert Eco Camp

"Secluded, quiet, luxurious"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"What a lovely setting of the tents taking in the beautiful desert landscape.

The tents were luxuriously appointed, spacious, private and very comfortable. We took advantage of the open air concept and slept with all the walls open and it was fabulous.

It was like a retreat with the private accommodations and hilltop pool and deck from which you could see spectacular sunsets.

There was also a private outdoor dining area where the friendly staff served a most delicious braii dinner. Unfortunately we had to have our dinner at the main lodge the second night, due to bad weather.

There were oryx at the waterhole at the main lodge as well as at the camp. We spotted most of them driving on C27 and D845 as well as one herd of zebra on the D845"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"A real retreat"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"A lovely stay at this retreat for one night. The hostess prepared a wonderful homemade dinner.

The rooms were set into the barkan dune and were very comfortable and private. Coffee was brought to the room in the morning and it was nice to have that first cup at leisure enjoying the desert morning.

A short hike up the nearby mountain was well marked and offered stunning views of the surrounds."
Excellent
Image alt

Eberwein Hotel

"great city location "

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"Friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast.

Loved that the hotel was central and easy to explore the city on foot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Not much kayaking"

19 Oct 2019 • Morning excursion

It was more floating around in the bay watching and listening to the entertaining seals.

On the drive there and back, the guide was very informative though and provided good information about the area and the wildlife.
Average
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

"Good for one night stay"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"Clean rooms, good air conditioning, onsite restaurant. Huge pool but the colour of the water was not inviting.

Friendly helpful staff arranged a desert elephant tour for us through another lodge. We had to leave early in the morning and the restaurant prepared a lovely takeaway breakfast box as we were not going to be there for breakfast.

We drove to the Brandberg White Lady Lodge to join a game drive to see the desert elephants. The sightings below were of four different groups of elephants we saw on the game drive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Tented Camp

"Wonderful tented camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"A nice welcome with cold towels to freshen up. The tents were spacious and very well appointed and located. The full board meals were all excellent.

The initial greeting on arrival was a little rushed with explaining the facilities and tours available. A little bit more time could have been allowed to settle in before we had to decide on what to do.

We declined the elephant drive as we had already done one for half the price. However we were were very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed the other activities that were offered such as hiking around the hills surrounding the property, the visit to the living museum, a visit to Twyefelfontaine and a very special sundowner drive, all with Lazarus the guide who was most friendly and informative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Picturesque"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"Beautifully located and nicely landscaped with walking paths to rooms and pool and around the property.

The Eagle's Nest restaurant at which we had the pleasure of dining was a spectacular setting on the cliff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Giraffes in your backyard!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2019
"Very convenient to the park entrance. Nice rooms and good service. Buffet meals were also very good.

Was surprised to see giraffes from our balcony.

New garage and convenience store with lovely gift shop situated between the lodge and park gate.

The self drive safari was fabulous."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Average service and food"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"To be located within the park is always good. The food and service was average. Under cover outdoor dining but birds were all over the tables stealing food and pooping which was not appealing.

The chalet rooms were clean and comfortable with good air conditioning though one room had a strong smell of disinfectant cleaner.

A nice viewing platform around the waterhole which was lit at night.

We had good sightings of animals driving from Halali to Namutoni"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Clean and comfortable"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2019
"Similar to Halali camp"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Seemed to be popular with large groups"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2019
"Check in was hectic with too many people all at once and staff seemed a little overwhelmed.

One of the only places where we can say the food was poor in quality and one night the buffet ran out of food and was not replenished even though there was still another hour to hour and a half before the dinner time was over.

Both chalets had tricky/poor locks making sliding doors difficult to open and close but maintenance could not solve the issue other than to say we had to push harder and force the key. I think the locks were just worn out and would eventually need replacing.

Good opportunities for hiking but the trails were not well marked.

Did an afternoon game drive which involved long dusty rides to two viewing points. It was very disappointing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"perfect for proximity to airport"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2019
"A lovely farm where we were greeted warmly by the owner.

We had a late flight out but were allowed to stay around the pool and reception area after check out. That was very kind and most comfortable for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team