This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp

Reviews of Waterberg Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberg Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberg Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Eland

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

50% success

White Rhino

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Seemed to be popular with large groups"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2019
"Check in was hectic with too many people all at once and staff seemed a little overwhelmed.

One of the only places where we can say the food was poor in quality and one night the buffet ran out of food and was not replenished even though there was still another hour to hour and a half before the dinner time was over.

Both chalets had tricky/poor locks making sliding doors difficult to open and close but maintenance could not solve the issue other than to say we had to push harder and force the key. I think the locks were just worn out and would eventually need replacing.

Good opportunities for hiking but the trails were not well marked.

Did an afternoon game drive which involved long dusty rides to two viewing points. It was very disappointing." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mr L
Leicestershire

"Basic room but good."

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Had a good stay here although the room was a little dated. had a good game drive and saw many animals and we were happy we had added it to our schedule." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2018
"Government run camp so more spartan than private lodges (but also cheaper). Rooms have been refurbished since our stay in 2017 and had improved though the staff on the registration desk need customer relations training - not rude just a bit hopeless.

Good place for trails which makes a change from being in the car on safari. Excellent birding and other small wildlife both day and at night.

Safari a bit disappointing as during April too much vegetation to see much." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms F
Southampton

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2017
"Not as much wildlife as in the other parks/locations we visited but still a very nice place to spend a few days." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2017
"Accommodation old, basic but adequate. No problems with inventory or payments. Dining room atmospheric but food not very good.

Drive in for 20kms on the D2512 road was shocking-corrugations. The gateman played a great joke on us when we arrived as told us we were to drive up a km, turn left and then another 80kms. Surely you mean “one eight kms” we said. No, no, 80. The he burst out laughing-as did we, with great relief! The ladies at check-in said he got most people on that.

Really enjoyed the walk up to the top of the escarpment - both for exercise and the views." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"slightly unloved camp in spectacular setting"

1 night Arrived 30 Mar 2017
"Waterberg camp feels unloved.

The cabins are clean but basic and some of the facilities also require a facelift. For example the trails which were signposted were completely unpassable and this is a disappontment.

Staff tried to be helpful staff but none seemed to be in charge overall.

So in the morning there was no water in our cabin (or any other cabin at the top of the sight) and staff in the restaurant and reception were unaware of this so that cleaning staff could not do their jobs." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Lovely setting with Baboon issues"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2016
"The lodging at Waterberg was the most spacious of all the places we stayed. the palteaus itself is a lovely setting and we had some of the best walks here of anyplace we stayed. Unfortunately there is no AC and the ceiling fans are not very effective. To compound the problem, the baboons have become very intrusive, having learned that all the humans in the buildings and the campsites equates to easy food.

The staff is very good overall, but in particular they were good about warning you to keep you blinds drawn and windows closed (unless you are in the room) and food hidden in cupboards and not visible from the windows as the baboons have been known to break windows to get in. A couple times a day you can hear a ruckus from the campgrounds, presumably humans chasing away baboons. While we had no room intrusions, the baboon restrictions made it hard to get any circulation in the room and temperatures were well in the 40s the day we were there.

The pool is like most of the other pools in Etosha and NP camps with minimal chemical treatment and an opaque green color. I would prefer to see all the lodges just get rid of their pools in the name of water conservation and just not have that fetid looking pool in otherwise gorgeous settings. We did have a close encounter with a zebra snake (highly venomous with no effective anti-venom we found out later) so we would just caution people to check under the outdoor patio tables before using them!" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr H
Michigan

"great walk"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2016
"Rooms were big and nice but there's NO air flow. It was unbelievably hot. Safari ride was wonderful" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs J
IOW

"Pretty good for a Govt camp, excellent game"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"The bungalow was spacious though a bit shabby.

A long cold drive to the plateau in the morning, but worth it for the game." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Kingsley

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"The lodge is in a good location with walks and views of the plateau. The rooms are basic but adequate although it took us a while to realise we were in a refurbished one! However the outside areas around the rooms are lovely and the visit of the dik diks,a hare and a variety of birds more than compensated.

The massive disappointment were the facilities. There is a bar but whilst there is an outside sitting area there are no tables and chairs and the paving is breaking up. We ate in the restaurant as there is nowhere else to go and the first night was a buffet and although chaotic with queues the food was quite good. The second night was a la carte and again was OK as long as you didn't want exactly what you ordered, we settled for near enough.

The swimming pool was very dirty, full of leaves and the filtration system didn't seem to be working at all with some of the grids around the edge broken and quite dangerous.

We took an early morning safari drive up on to the plateau and that was excellent with a very good guide" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Showing 1-10 of 62
75%
62 reviews of Waterberg Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
34
16
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Waterberg Plateau National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge

Holiday in Namibia's Waterberg Plateau National Park whilst based at the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge.


81% (30 reviews)
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Although outside the Waterberg Plateau National Park, Waterberg Plateau Lodge has perhaps the most spectacular views of the lodges in this area.


82% (11 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa