This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp

Reviews of Waterberg Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberg Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberg Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Eland

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

50% success

White Rhino

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Enniskillen

"Waterberg Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2016
"We arrived a little late as it took a long while to collect the hire minibus at Windhoek airport and we were distracted by some great wildlife viewing en route! All was well at Waterberg Camp, good clean and comfortable chalets, good food and service in the restaurant. Good wildlife watching within the camp from first light the following morning, friendly people in general. Good breakfast with v friendly staff there and a baboon which came into the bar.

Only minor issue was that on check-out the staff at reception said we were booked for two nights. I showed the voucher I had from Expert Africa and the receptionist eventually accepted that it was only 1 night though I would say reluctantly.

There was no list of room contents and the reception was closed by the time I noticed so I was a little concerned but no one checked on the morning before we left and there was no issue" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2016
"This is not a place I would return to, the whole camp and grounds are rather run down . We were given a chalet with no water, then we were moved to another chalet which had no chairs in the room. They provided an additional chair and advised we should use the other chair from the veranda. The reception staff were polite but not engaging.
They requested a 500$ deposit for the chalet key, a really annoying condition of entry.

They do not sell diesel, and the on site shop lacked most basic items.

The chalet was rather grubby inside, and we had to give our key to the cleaner the next day to gain access, as she did not have a key. There is no street lighting from the reception to the restaurant and onto lodges, With limited lighting on the road in front of the lodges. The restaurant is housed in the old German police station and is worth a visit. The breakfasts were good and the staff were very helpful.

The real and only prize for this site is the game drive onto the Plateau. This was once again a truly fantastic experience." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Christmas at Waterberg"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2015
"A lot more people here as its Christmas than any of our previous visits but staff very helpful and everything went well.

The baboons were here in numbers as usual but there seemed to be no problems with them.

We just relaxed here and did not go on any activities or walks." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"interesting area"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"After a long drive we had difficulty finding it as the signing was very poor and we drove a long way past before someone manning a gate put us right.. It is clear this is mainly for people who want to walk, although we were not happy to do this with so many baboons about., we were warned not to open our curtains or leave the door open. The room was fairly new and well appointed.James ventured out for a short walk on three occasion and found he was being accompanied by friendly DikDiks which he loved.
We went on a drive up to the plateau, which was our main reason for going, once up there it was very difficult driving in deep red sand, we saw two sable briefly, and visited two hides, where we saw giraffe cape buffalo and a white rhino, as we spent rather a long time at the hide we had to drive as fast as possible to get back to the gate before closing time." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Great stopover"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Room (family room) very spacious but getting a bit old.

Friendly staff, but the restaurant does not have a child seat (they did put in extra effort to make a nice special dinner for our 1 year old). Nice walks in the area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Miss & Miss H
Sussex

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"Not signposted as an NWR camp from road and we drove a further 8ks before we realised our error. At reception was asked if we really wanted self- catering as there were none in the room. Brought a 2 ring stove and some plates and cutlery but no other implements or mixing bowls etc. Cannot be classed as self- catering.

Morning drive left at 5.30 and no rugs, ponchos etc were provided - we were all cold despite wearing many layers. Should have been warned to bring even more. Guide then killed time by chatting as was too dark to see anything. Could have left 45 mins later and still been at waterhole to wait for animals. Had good sightings of roan and klipspringer and a few other animals and birds. Overall no comparison with Etosha and a bit of a disappointment though unusual setting

Plenty of trails around camp but not always easy to find and boots needed in places as a bit overgrown. Plenty of baboons around." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Quiet stay this time"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2013
"Another place were you do as much or as little in the way of activity as you wish. Unfortunately I had picked up a 'bug' along the way and spent a lot of time recuperating on our short stay but we did see groups of baboons (and heard them) a few Dik Dik,
a very large group of banded Mongoose

Food was buffet style and pretty bland.

Staff very friendly at a busy time on this visit" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
New York

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2013
"Although the escarpment was quite dramatic and worth seeing I think just a day drive in for a look and a walk would be adequate.

Facilities and food were average and walking trails not very interesting. They did have a very nice pool." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Waterberg - a confortable stopover"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"From Windhoek, we split in two our 900 Km journey to the Caprivi, using the Waterberg Camp has a one night stopover.
The 320Km were easily and quietly driven on tar road from Hosea Kutako Int. We just reached the Waterberg Plateau National Park in time for lunch, which we took on the nice restaurant. The food and service was good.
After lunch we had time for a short walk (Mountain View?) which was fairly enjoyable. Nevertheless we trust that, at the entrance office they should have /sell a booklet on the wilderness trails/walks /activities in the park, so that visitors could extract more from their visit to the park. Although they offer morning and afternoon game drives, we did not hire those services.
The facilities /chalets were good.
At late afternoon /evening a couple of Steinbucks could be seen grazing on the vicinity of the chalets.

We have stayed only one night at WPNP, which proved insufficient to fully enjoy it.

On the following morning and after an excellent breakfast we re-fueled our vehicle at the filling station available and proceeded to our next destination." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Friendly and comfortable"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2013
"Our expectations were not high based on previous reviews, but it was a very pleasant place to stay for 2 nights.

After having spent 2 weeks being unable to walk without the protection of a guide, it was liberating to be able to take a hike on our own up to the top of the plateau, from where there were magnificent views across a lodge chuck of Namibia. In contrast to the government run camp in Etosha, Waterberg was a nice size and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 62
75%
62 reviews of Waterberg Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
34
16
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Waterberg Plateau National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge

Holiday in Namibia's Waterberg Plateau National Park whilst based at the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge.


81% (30 reviews)
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Although outside the Waterberg Plateau National Park, Waterberg Plateau Lodge has perhaps the most spectacular views of the lodges in this area.


82% (11 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa