This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2013 trip

Namibia and 3 other countries between 20 Sep 2013 and 13 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was wonderful from start to finish and thank you to Maruska for her brilliant organisation and in depth knowledge of the region.

The combination of Zambia with Namibia worked very well, as we were able to spend time in one of the prime game viewing areas of Africa as well as have the freedom to see things for ourselves once we had the use of our vehicle. We will be back as soon as we can!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The only suggestion we would have for improving our itinerary would be to spend 2 days driving across Etosha national park rather than one, and staying in the intermediate camp. This would allow more time for game viewing while making the transit on what were quite rough roads.

On the other hand, the gravel road to Waterberg plateau was much better than expected and only took about 20 minutes to transit.

Overall, we were very glad that we had upgraded from a standard car to a SUV."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Brilliant camp"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Excellent location, right on the banks of the Luangwa river, with elephant, giraffe and hippo free just to wander through the camp as they please.

This was quite a large camp/lodge by the standards of others in the area, but you wouldn't know it as the friendliness of the staff, and the way they went out of their way to make us feel at home, gave the place quite an intimate feel.

There was a real restaurant, so we could eat what we liked, when we liked and with whom we liked. Guiding from Ed, our guide, was absolutely first class. This was probably the busiest part of the park, but we only saw 2 or 3 other vehicles on each 4 hour game drive.

Really good value for money too compared to some of the other lodges."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Perfection"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"Absolutely wonderful experience.

The camp was quite simply constructed, as a remote bush camp should be, but everything we needed was provided. The standard of service at the camp was extraordinarily good, especially considering that everything had to be carried in from the nearest river crossing.

The food in particular was wonderful, all cooked from fresh on site. The game walks were brilliant, a 4 hour walk at sunrise and a 2 hour walk late afternoon), brilliantly led by Alex, our guide and camp manager."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Perfect"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2013
"Absolutely wonderful experience.

The camp was quite simply constructed, as a remote bush camp should be, but everything we needed was provided. The standard of service at the camp was extraordinarily good, especially considering that everything had to be carried in from the nearest river crossing. The food in particular was wonderful, all cooked from fresh on site.

The game walks were fantastic - we saw a leopard kill hidden away and were able to come back later and actually see the leopard. We also had a herd of buffalo pass in from of us at the same time as a herd of elephant were approaching from the side. And best of all, we came across a pride of 13 lion eating a freshly killed buffalo, or at least they were until they spotted us - a moment not for the faint-hearted! All thanks to our brilliant guide, Bryan."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

"Excellent facilities"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"Nicely located away from the main town and backing on to the national park. There was a water hole viewable from the lodge, though it has to be said that game activity was limited while we were staying.

Our room was well appointed and staff were helpful at all times. The atmosphere was quite impersonal, due to high number of guests staying. Food at the restaurant could have been better, and was expensive. We had a much better experience when we ate in the bar on the following evening.

Overall, a good place to stay in what is inevitably an extremely touristy location."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Friendly"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"This was one of many lodges located on the banks of the Chobe river, and indeed it was possible to walk from the lodge through the verdant back gardens right to the river.

The atmosphere was friendly and informal, with guests sitting together with lodge staff members at a big table at meal times. Our room was pleasant, with a veranda overlooking the back garden.

The day activities consisted of a morning game drive and an afternoon river cruise. It has to be said that this area of Chobe National Park is very touristy, and neither of these activities felt like a wilderness experience. Nevertheless, we got some excellent sightings. And, most impressively, after we returned from a cruise, the lodge manager informed us that three male lions were relaxing at the roadside a few miles away. Without further ado, he personally drove a group of us to see them, and there they were in their full glory."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Friendly and quirky"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"We were in awe of the wonderful location of the lodge, accessible only through being taken by boat along a narrow waterway for about 3km from the designated parking area.

Andre, the owner, and his staff were very welcoming. Meals were buffet style, sat at individual tables. Sleeping cabins were ok, though a little basic and lacking in natural light.

We had a brilliant game drive in beautiful scenery (much greener than other areas we stayed) and we were treated to the sight of huge herds of elephant drinking at the ox bow lakes."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"High quality lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"This was one of a number of quality lodges situated on the banks of the Okavango river. Because of the proximity of the other lodges and nearby villages, this did not feel as much like a wilderness experience as some of the other lodges we stayed at.

Our game tent was very comfortable, light and airy and the restaurant was very good. We took a cultural visit to the local village, accompanied by a lodge guide who lives in the village and this was absolutely fascinating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Very friendly service"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"This had a location to die for, on the banks of the Okavango river, several miles upstream from Rundu, and with Angola on the other side of the river.

We could not have been made more welcome - exceptionally friendly staff throughout. Although there wasn't a lot to do in the area, the lodge served as an excellent stopping off point between Etosha and the Zambezi region.

Nice accommodation in a hut with air conditioning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Boutique meets bush"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2013
"This camp is conveniently located about 10 minutes drive from the entrance to Etosha. Although presented as a bush camp, it actually had the feel and atmosphere of a boutique hotel, complete with colour coordinated mosquito nets in our tents.

The tents themselves were exceptionally well-appointed and the main buildings were beautifully designed. The place lacked a little in warmth however, with the staff appearing to be slightly hassled and over-stretched. Consequently, the service at the restaurant and barbecue was rather slow. It was nice being surrounded by bush and the tents were very well spaced apart for privacy."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Busy and impersonal"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"What this camp lacked in the personal touch and quality services, it more than made up for with its location inside Etosha national park and its floodlit waterhole. Here, we could sit in comfort for as long as we wished watching a procession of animals coming to drink at the water hole right under our noses.

Our cabin was nice, but the overall welcome and restaurant service were no better than average. The camp was very large, busy and not very attractive looking. But then that is reflected in the price, which is considerably less than the luxury lodges outside the park."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Friendly and comfortable"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2013
"Our expectations were not high based on previous reviews, but it was a very pleasant place to stay for 2 nights.

After having spent 2 weeks being unable to walk without the protection of a guide, it was liberating to be able to take a hike on our own up to the top of the plateau, from where there were magnificent views across a lodge chuck of Namibia. In contrast to the government run camp in Etosha, Waterberg was a nice size and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Galton House

Galton House

"Good transit place"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"We stayed here at the end of our trip before flying home the following morning. This small hotel was located in a quiet area on the outskirts of Windhoek and had a pool. Good for wiling away a few hours.

Friendly staff and nice public rooms and probably the best food we had in Namibia."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team