This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp

Reviews of Flatdogs Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

73 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Flatdogs Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Flatdogs Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

84% success

Wild dog

61% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

48% success

Eland

19% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Aardvark

6% success

Roan antelope

6% success

Pangolin

5% success

Showing 1-10 of 73
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S. from
Westport,

"Flatdogs Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2022
"We booked Flatdogs as a camp to visit before our walking safari - giving us a chance to chill out after our long journey from Ireland and prepare for our safari.

The camp was great - a different lodge experience for us in that you could book drives, eat etc if and when you wanted. The location was perfect - not too far from the airport and not too far from the entrance to the park.

We were able to see elephants, impala, hippos, wart hogs in the grounds of the camp itself which was a real bonus.

The staff were friendly, helpful and we particularly liked the real "laid back vibe" of the place." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Flatdogs Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2022
"Although the owners were away for the weekend the staff left in charge (Faith and colleagues) were very welcoming and helpful.
Our guide Joffre was excellent and we particularly liked his friendly manner combined with excellent knowledge.
Flat dogs was our busiest camp with about 34 guests but we still had small guided tours and never felt we lacked attention.
I particularly liked the huge range of choice in the menu and all food was delicious.
Our tent was in a good position overlooking the river and had everything we needed.
A big highlight was the elephants walking through the camp every day.
The pools looked like they could do with better cleaning, slightly green and murky." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Solihull

"Flatdogs Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2022
"Just a short stop off for us but would have been happy to stay longer." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrwebbo
Sussex

"Flatdogs Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2022
"Really lovely place to start our trip, much better than stopping in Lusaka as we originally planned.

The safari tents were very comfortable and the camp very well organised and laid out. The staff were superb, we arrived in time for dinner which was excellent.

Our guide Jonathan was superb and we saw almost everything on our list on the first drive. We all agreed that although the rest of the trip was great, we wished we stayed at flatdogs for longer.

Really well run, friendly staff, great guides, great food and Eles joining us for brunch. Loved it" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Charity
Scottsdale, A

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2022
"Flatdogs is a simple, no frills camp, but an excellent choice for people on a budget.

They did several things very well; they had a varied menu, the food was good (not elaborate or fancy, but good), they had their own well and filtration system making their water out of the tap the best I’ve had at any camp anywhere. Our guide was knowledgeable and very personable; our spotter was the best of the three camps we visited. The staff was outstanding and very welcoming as was Jess, one of the owners. The game drives went longer than other camps I’ve visited in the past, which was nice, that’s why we were there, but made for very little downtime.

We enjoyed seeing the elephants in the camp. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Flatdogs for budget conscious travelers. It was simple, but they did everything well." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs H
Surrey

"Flatdogs Camp: stay in Jackalberry Tree House review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"We loved our time in the treehouse
The service was very good
It was very relaxing
We saw a lot of wildlife at the the waterhole" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs H
Surrey

"Flatdogs Camp: stay in luxury tent review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"Jess and Ade were very welcoming.

The game drives were excellent.

Our first guide Jarvis was amazing and very knowledgeable. The second guide was not so great" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs C
Kent

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2022
"We stayed in the Jackalberry Treehouse and loved it here. Although this camp is larger than others the service was exceptional.

Kennedy was a brilliant guide, very knowledgeable but also good fun - we really enjoyed our time with him. Smart, the spotter was great too. Unfortunately our son was ill during our time here but the owners could not have been more helpful. They organised a doctor and were very flexible when we thought we might need to change our plans, fortunately we did not need to do so in the end.

The elephants and giraffe visiting the watering hole by the treehouse remains a highlight of our trip. Apparently the area around the entrance to the park is considered to be a very busy area but we didn't find it to be a problem at all." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr T
Bangkok

"Great place to start our safari"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2022
"We are very happy with our 3 nights stay at Flatdogs Camp.

Due to unavailability, we stayed first night in standard tent before moving to luxury tent for the last 2 nights. Although the camp is larger than any other camps we stayed in this trip, we never feel crowded. Dining is private and flexible which we enjoyed. Food and service were excellent.

We informed them that we want to do walking safari and they managed to arrange for us one morning - very nice. We spent 2 full days with Jonathan as our driving guide and Kenneth as walking guide - thought they were both great. On our last night drive, we saw 4 lioness killed a puku - first time we witnessed a kill and it was such a memorable experience. I thought there were too many vehicles for any leopard sightings which is probably understandable staying in this area of the park which is relatively more busy.

Would not hesitate to stay at Flatdogs Camp again next time we visit South Luangwa" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Ms AA
NZ

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2022
"Flatdogs is a large camp not too far from Mfuwe and there is more vehicular activity there than I had expected. Having said that, the camp has left its backpacker status behind, closed its camping ground and looks very smart with a welcoming bar and pool area.

The welcomes back from game drives and friendly staff made for a happy atmosphere. It was easy to meet people and enjoy company (or not) as desired. Accommodation was chalets, very comfortable, clean and spacious. The game drives were somewhat compromised for me by the number of vehicles using the park and, for me, the night spotlight drives went on a bit long.

Otherwise I think the camp is great value for money. I really enjoyed the 4.5 hour game drive to transfer me to Tafika. The vehicles gradually disappeared and the game was varied. Most people I know would be happy at Flatdogs with the comfort electricity, wifi and a pool provides. It is a great starting point for those on safari for the first time." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 73
98%
73 reviews of Flatdogs Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
65
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (303 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (222 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (204 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (183 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (114 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (88 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (66 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (41 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa