This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp

Reviews of Flatdogs Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Flatdogs Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Flatdogs Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

83% success

Wild dog

50% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Eland

22% success

Pangolin

13% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Sable antelope

13% success

Aardvark

11% success

Showing 1-10 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B & A
UK

"Flatdogs Camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Really good value for money.

Excellent guiding. Dining adequate but nothing special. Accommodation was excellent with river view. Would not have wanted a tent without a view.

Being outside the park was not a drawback at all as it was very close to the gate." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr G
St. Neots

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"WE WERE VERY SATISFIED WITH THE SERVICE WE RECEIVED AT FLATDOGS AND THE GUIDING WAS EXCELLENT,
ON REFLECTION IT WOULD HAVE BEEN ADVISABLE TO ARRIVE AT THE CAMP IN DAYLIGHT HOURS , AFTER A LONG SERIES OF FLIGHTS, WE ARRIVED IN THE DARK AT OUR TREE HOUSE IN STRANGE SURROUNDINGS VERY TIRED.

WE HAD A SLIGHT PROBLEM IN SO MUCH AS THERE WAS NO FURNITURE TO UNPACK OUR CLOTHES AND WE HAD TO LEAVE ALL OUR BAGS IN A LARGE TRUNK.

WE COULD NOT LEAVE ANYTHING LYING ABOUT BECAUSE OF THE PRESENCE OF MONKEYS, WE DID STATE AT THE END OF OUR VISIT IN THE QUESTIONNAIRE A NY KIND OF CHEST OF DRAWERS WOULD HAVE BEEN APPRECIATED.

OUR REQUEST FOR A HOP UP FOR SHEILA TO BOARD THE VEHICLES WAS SUPPLIED WITHOUT ASKING. ANY OTHER NEEDS WAS SUPPLIED WHEN ASKED FOR." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

The B family
Swindon

"Staying in the Tree House"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"Flatdogs Camp is situated outside the National Park but adjacent to the entrance. Therefore it is only a short drive to enter the park however, there tends to be a lot of vehicles entering at the same time and this causes a lot of dust. It is noticeable that this part is busier than else where in South Luangwa and there are a lot more vehicle per wildlife sightings.

The guides are still very good and the hosting team are excellent. They were very attentive to all our needs.
The menu had a good variety and was excellent.

The tree house has an amazing location which is quiet. It has its own waterhole which gets plenty of visitors and is an absolute highlight to this camp. However, the monkey population can prevent you from relaxing during the afternoons and being under a tree can leave a mess on the furniture. The tree house has everything that you require and no one minded coming to collect you or bring your food. Japhit is employed to look after the treehouse and does a great job keeping the moneys away while you are out." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs S
NZ

"Return to a very special place"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2019
"It was wonderful to be welcomed back, it made me feel very special. My daughter immediately realised why I wanted to come back to this place.

We appreciated the special effort made to accommodate us and the offer of upgrade to two adjacent tents was simply marvellous!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs S.
Haslemere

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2019
"1). Accommodation
We (3 adults and 3 children) stayed for 3 nights in the very self contained Croc Nest accommodation. Whilst the rest of the camp seemed to become crowded and busy we were entirely isolated from this. It worked very well for our group and we would all recommend it to anyone. Comfortable, large, well maintained, with good views to the river. The pool (about 8mx3m) was a real bonus keeping the 3 children completely occupied during the down time between drives.

2). Food
We had all our meals apart from breakfast delivered to our tent/house. The food for lunch and dinner was good with a reasonable choice of dishes (more choice than we have had at other lodges) and arrived promptly. Drinks are not included which was unusual and possibly a negative. The predrive breakfast eaten at the main camp compares badly to other camps. Very basic. Similarly the sundowners and mid morning drive snacks were rather uninspired.

3). Game Drives
Most important, the reason for visiting! South Luangwa has the reputation of being one of the most game prolific areas of Africa. We were not disappointed.
We had Yokim as our guide, possibly Flatdogs chief guide (a previous history of safari-ing meant we were not assigned a rookie, a very good touch). He was knowledgeable and prepared to engage with the children.
Some of us are especially keen birders and he was able to show us many different species. We thought he was pleased not to have to spend his time chasing big animals. The children enjoyed filling the check list in, they ticked about 75 different birds, Mabel (our evening spotter) clearly found this odd. Our only complaint would be that on evening drives Yokim was less alert to our interests due to interaction with Mabel.
We particularly enjoyed our leopard cubs and lion cubs spottings and the huge numbers of hippos and crocodiles. Plus genets (lots, a first for me) elephants and giraffe. I would have liked to see more big buck but for this we would have to be more into the dry season. Plenty of small ones: impala and puku." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Mrs. KCW
DC

"Jackalberry treehouse"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"We loved the Jackalberry treehouse. What a cool experience! We opted to skip a drive in favor of staying back to watch the animals drink from our own watering hole one day! The caretaker was super attentive and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable.

We loved our guide.

This is very much a wild experience, which we very much appreciated! But less adventurous travelers should be aware of insects and animals in and around the treehouse." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Prof. A
Nottingham

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"Flatdogs is a lovely camp. The guiding is excellent (Yotam) and Adrian and Jess are genuinely interested in ensuring everyone has a great experience.

We stayed in Croc's Nest which is beautiful. One small drawback is you can't walk back to the main camp because of wandering animals!

We had our own pool and patio and sent the day watching elephants and baboons. Magic!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms Y
Oregon

"Lovely Experience"

4 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"Our stay at Flatdogs was terrific. Adrian, Jess, Becca, Louis and our guide Kennedy made our days at Flatdogs warm and engaging. I apologize for not mentioning all the staff as they were very good at their work and made everything flow smoothly.

The guiding with Kennedy was solid and we were able to spot everything we desired with a bit more added in.

We loved our luxury tent and it had all the amenities that you need for a stay. I loved sitting outside our tent and watching the elephant crossing everyday. Walking through camp we saw elephants, baboons, monkeys and hippos.

In adddition to leopards, lions, ellies, etc, we also saw a Honey Badger, Genet, and a number of different varieties of mongoose.

I would not hesitate to recommend staying at Flatdogs." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs S
NZ

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2018
"Great welcome, excellent and personable guide." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
dadndoc
Mawson Lakes

"Excellent game drive base camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2018
"We stayed for three nights at Flatdogs Camp which is conveniently located just outside the main entrance to South Luangwa National Park. The camp is extremely well staffed with pleasantly helpful staff. Our vehicle driver, Kennedy, was an excellent guide who also took good care of our meal requirements before each game drive. Animals within the National Park were not abundant but there were always some excellent animal encounters and leopard viewings.

Our spacious solid construction lodges were “rustic” with dated interiors but they perfectly suited our needs. We experienced numerous encounters with elephants outside our lodge and around the camp which was unexpected and enjoyable.

The kitchen offered a full day menu with a wide variety of food choices on both the regular menu and with daily specials.

Flatdogs Camp was an excellent game drive base and offers a considerably better value package than any of the camps we visited at South Luangwa National Park.
It is our first choice of safari camps within the area." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 58
98%
58 reviews of Flatdogs Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa