This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp

Reviews of Flatdogs Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

68 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Flatdogs Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Flatdogs Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

86% success

Wild dog

63% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

90% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Eland

19% success

Sable antelope

8% success

Roan antelope

7% success

Pangolin

7% success

Aardvark

6% success

Showing 1-10 of 68
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H
Surrey

"Flatdogs Camp: stay in Jackalberry Tree House review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"We loved our time in the treehouse
The service was very good
It was very relaxing
We saw a lot of wildlife at the the waterhole" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs H
Surrey

"Flatdogs Camp: stay in luxury tent review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2022
"Jess and Ade were very welcoming.

The game drives were excellent.

Our first guide Jarvis was amazing and very knowledgeable. The second guide was not so great" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs C
Kent

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2022
"We stayed in the Jackalberry Treehouse and loved it here. Although this camp is larger than others the service was exceptional.

Kennedy was a brilliant guide, very knowledgeable but also good fun - we really enjoyed our time with him. Smart, the spotter was great too. Unfortunately our son was ill during our time here but the owners could not have been more helpful. They organised a doctor and were very flexible when we thought we might need to change our plans, fortunately we did not need to do so in the end.

The elephants and giraffe visiting the watering hole by the treehouse remains a highlight of our trip. Apparently the area around the entrance to the park is considered to be a very busy area but we didn't find it to be a problem at all." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr T
Bangkok

"Great place to start our safari"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2022
"We are very happy with our 3 nights stay at Flatdogs Camp.

Due to unavailability, we stayed first night in standard tent before moving to luxury tent for the last 2 nights. Although the camp is larger than any other camps we stayed in this trip, we never feel crowded. Dining is private and flexible which we enjoyed. Food and service were excellent.

We informed them that we want to do walking safari and they managed to arrange for us one morning - very nice. We spent 2 full days with Jonathan as our driving guide and Kenneth as walking guide - thought they were both great. On our last night drive, we saw 4 lioness killed a puku - first time we witnessed a kill and it was such a memorable experience. I thought there were too many vehicles for any leopard sightings which is probably understandable staying in this area of the park which is relatively more busy.

Would not hesitate to stay at Flatdogs Camp again next time we visit South Luangwa" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Ms AA
NZ

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2022
"Flatdogs is a large camp not too far from Mfuwe and there is more vehicular activity there than I had expected. Having said that, the camp has left its backpacker status behind, closed its camping ground and looks very smart with a welcoming bar and pool area.

The welcomes back from game drives and friendly staff made for a happy atmosphere. It was easy to meet people and enjoy company (or not) as desired. Accommodation was chalets, very comfortable, clean and spacious. The game drives were somewhat compromised for me by the number of vehicles using the park and, for me, the night spotlight drives went on a bit long.

Otherwise I think the camp is great value for money. I really enjoyed the 4.5 hour game drive to transfer me to Tafika. The vehicles gradually disappeared and the game was varied. Most people I know would be happy at Flatdogs with the comfort electricity, wifi and a pool provides. It is a great starting point for those on safari for the first time." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms H.
The Netherlands

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2022
"This was a fantastic camp.

The tent was great and it was fantastic that elephants and hippos could just walk around! Safari drives/ walk great fun.

The night drives could be shorter though." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Family C
East Sussex

"Fabulous Flatdogs "

4 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2022
"We were a family of 4 that stayed in the wonderful Crocs Nest. What a treat. Spacious and well appointed with a private pool, decking area with fire pit that was just perfect for relaxing after brilliant game drives.

Everything food & drink wise can be served in your accommodation or at the main site, brilliant efficient laundry service and someone always on hand to help you (thank you Ken!). Really was a restful brilliant place to stay would highly recommend.

Flatdogs also as a camp was wonderful.

The game drives magical and so informative our guide Yotam was fantastic, fun and so determined to get us to see what we wanted to see. We saw everything we wanted to see and more. The camp is in a great location to the national park so easy to get into the bush! We also had a whole day in the bush with a bush brunch and siesta out in the open bush fantastic food and great to have the time to take things at our own pace, a wonderful treat for Pauls 50th birthday. Thank you.

The owners Adrian and Jess are wonderful hosts and instil such friendliness throughout the whole camp and all of the staff it really does make a difference, nothing is a problem and the staff are all absolutely phenomenal.

The food - well you definitely won't go hungry there is so much on offer, great variety and wonderfully cooked a veritable treat every single day - cream tea, passionate fruit cake before your night drive yes please!

Would highly recommend !" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr B
Singapore

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2021
"Spent five days with Flatdogs Camp, for the second time after my first visit in 2017. Very happy to see that Jess, Adrian and Paolo were still around, entertaining, helpful and hospitable as always.

The addition of the new pool area is perfect. It's so good that I skipped game drives so I could fully relax in camp, especially when we encountered 43 degrees heat. Will also help you to cool down from hot nights. I found the nights still bearable even in October as there is a powerful fan in the tent. The camp is an awesome place to unwind and just chill. The restaurant has so much variety, you have to stay for a long time to finish the whole menu.

You regularly see elephants, pukus, impalas, baboons, bushbucks roaming through camp, occasionally also buffalos and hippos. Great safety measures are in place that everyone can happily coexist.

Jess and Adrian perfectly organized my Covid Test which can be taken in the camp. You get the result back and it just took 3 hours. So this is helpful, so that stop-overs in Lusaka just for the purpose of a Covid-Test are not needed. They print the test out for you, the QR code can be scanned with your mobile phone when applying for the GlobalHaven certificate (which nobody wanted to see at the airport anyway). The Covid certificate was accepted in South Africa, so it's all reliable.

The Game Drives were nice, the other travelers I was mixed with were a good fit. We actually had a lot of fun. Sightings wise, was a lucky week that the 21 wild dogs I have seen at Puku Ridge earlier moved on to the Mfuwe Lodge area and we could see them in two more game drives. Sightings of leopards and lions was less often than I experienced in 2017 (which was Aug/Sep), probably due to the heat. Still, we had some cool moments with leopards as well." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Z
Z

"Flatdogs Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2021
"Solid place. Probably only complaint is too short.

The pool area is very nice." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B and Mr C
Montana

"Flatdogs Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2021
"We stayed at the Croc's Nest. It was superb. We got there in time to swim around in the private pool watching the sunset over the river. the sounds of the bush made sleeping even harder than the jetlag! the hippos! the lions! We loved it! It was such a welcoming camp. And the food was so good that we did not think it could get any better with a choice of menu that would satisfy just anyone. Oh my gosh, the panna cotta dessert we had both nights......
Our guide Joffrey was excellent. We saw so much on the one day of safari, both mammals and birds, as well as our interesting drive to transfer us through the park to our onward camp in the north, Kaingo... Traveling at the moment in the time of Covid we only encountered one other vehicle (the couple we flew in with), even in this busier part of the park. Priceless.... The camp staff and management, Kennedy, Aiden, Jesse could not have been more welcoming . Highly recommended, especially the Croc's Nest..... and just about when we were about to leave we got to see the Wild Dogs right in the camp off the deck of the very cool Jackleberry Treehouse...." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 68
98%
68 reviews of Flatdogs Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
60
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (292 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (215 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (196 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (177 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (141 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (109 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (65 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (64 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (63 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (53 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (22 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


93% (9 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa