This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from W. Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

1

Fantastic Namibia trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 4 Aug 2016 and 20 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We weren't sure if this trip would be as good as our 1st trip to Namibia 2 years ago. I'm delighted to say it was at least as good if not better.

Our thanks go to Sabina for all her patience and help in putting our trip together. We have got some wonderful photographs and memories from this trip to treasure. Thanks again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really, we think you guys do a great job and we have no hesitation in telling people considering Namibia as a destination to speak to you."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Great place for first night in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"Really liked Villa Violet.

Comfortable rooms and friendly hosts, ideal for the first night in preparation for the driving to come."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Fantastic again"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"We didn't think we could better our visit here 2 years ago. How wrong we were. From the moment we were upgraded to Bush Camp this became a very, very special place for us. Our guide Richard was truly excellent and he took us to parts of Okonjima we hadn't seen before. Food was very good and activities awesome.

Saw Shanti twice, a leopard my wife had sponsored 2 years ago, as well as seeing a rare pangolin. A great way to start our Namibia trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Very good place to relax after long drive"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"Friendly staff, lovely location on the banks of the Okavango. Went to the Living Museum close by and enjoyed the Sundowner cruise on the river, though this no longer is free to guests staying 2 nights.

Food was buffet style largely with good choices.

Road off the B8 before Rundu is now the B10 and is fully tarred. Hakusembe is signposted off the B10 onto a gravel road."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Another great location"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"Situated on the banks of the Okavango just before the river begins forming its delta. The tents were very comfortable and Klaus, the manager, took us on our own personal safari into Mahango National Park. We saw numerous hippo, elephant and ostriches being chased by around 50 baboons who were after their 12 chicks!

We also enjoyed the sundowner cruise here and saw our first snake - a Western African Green Snake.

The owners dog was lovely as well!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"This is a 'must visit' place!"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"Nkasa was a truly memorable experience for us, almost on a par with Okonjima. It is definitely worth the 40 minute jeep ride to find it. The owners are great and always looking to help guests get the best out of their stay. It is situated in Mamili National Park, it is unfenced and therefore animals are free to wander into the lodge grounds. Elephants came through on our first night and a baby and mother were about 6 foot from our tent, preventing us from going down the steps and to dinner. ON the second night they came through again and at least one elephant bumped into the side of our tent!!

We opted for the Combo activity, comprising game drive and river cruise. On the game drive we came across 5 lions after a kill, and on the river our boat was charged at by a hippo!! All very exciting, but safe!

Apart from one meal where the vegetables were cold the food was excellent. We would suggest that anyone going to this area should make a point of staying here, it's just fabulous."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Good, but not great"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"We thought our stay on the Chobe Princess would be the highlight of our trip. Somehow it wasn't quite that. Our room was lovely though the aircon controller holder was falling off the wall, and the toilet seat was wobbly, even after trying to adjust it myself. We had a deck all to ourselves and that was brilliant.

The activities consisted of the same thing - trips in the tender boat up and down the river. We saw lots of elephants and hippo, water monitors and birds, though we felt it was all a bit of the same each time, and we seemed to spend ages just going slowly next to reeds. Most of the water activity involved the tender boats whereas we had thought we'd be cruising up and down on the main boat.

The plunge pool seemed to be filled with brown river water rather than clear water and as a result nobody got in despite the heat, which was a pity and didn't match up to the images of clean clear water on their website.

Food was OK but had the feel of microwaved pub food you get in the UK. The staff were perfectly nice and friendly though we felt they didn't go out of their way to make sure we had a good time as much as other lodges. It was still a good experience but in our opinion we would only do this once."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Great place to finish our trip"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"We really enjoyed the Avani. From animals in the grounds, including a croc! to eating at the Royal Livingstone we had a great couple of days. It was a shame we were visiting Victoria Falls in low season as the main Zambezi river flow goes over on the Zimbabwe side. However we took a helicopter ride over the Falls and this was a great way to see them without involving border check points, passports, park entry fees etc.

Food was good and served buffet style with plenty of choice, and our room was equally good. We would stay here again if coming back to Victoria Falls."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

We hoped it would be good - it was stunning!

Namibia between 1 Aug 2014 and 16 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Best holiday we've ever had. Almost perfect from start to finish.

Only negative was Johannesburg airport on the return journey. Their concept of customer service is negative as far as getting people through Passport Control and Security as quickly as possible. We made our flight with about 5 minutes to spare.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Cannot fault Expert Africa - Sabina in particular. You guys have been superb.

We'll be re-booking in 2 years time - finances permitting! We have to return to Okonjima and see how our Leopard is getting on!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Pleasant enough for first night in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"Welcome was good we were offered a juice drink straighaway. Very refreshing after the long journey from England!

Food of good standard and room spacious and comfortable. Did hear that this was part of a group and other Lodges in the group had been sold off. Would imagine River Crossing could be on the market as well."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Quiver Tree Gorge Hike is a must"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"We thought Bullsport might be disappointing. Far from it, we really enjoyed our stay there.

Our room was excellent, food good and the hosts very pleasant. Quiver Tree Gorge hike was really enjoyable seeing Mountain Zebra, Kudu, Dassies, Klipspringers, Dijk-Dijk and Baboons. Fortunately no sign of Amanda the Spitting Cobra!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Fabulous!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special by Thomas, the owner. The room was superb, the views excellent and our guided trip to Sesriem & Sossusvlei was excellent.

Food was very good, but not quite excellent. Some people may think that a little harsh but when you visit a place like Hoodia where pretty much everything is excellent, but that was our opinion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Friendly and welcoming"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"Great place to stay if you visit Swakopmund.

However we may well have enjoyed staying at Walvis Bay more as that was where we kayaked with seals - great fun! My wife also had one of the best meals of our trip there in a restaurant called Anchors Aweigh - fantastic Prawns & Wings!

Whilst here, Expert Africa organised a Kayaking at Pelican Point trip. They commented:

We were really glad we did this trip. Well organised by Jeanne who very quickly after send us emails and videos of our time in the water with the seals.

Thoroughly recommend this trip and would say you need to book in advance with Jeanne as her trip is by far and away the best. 3 others offer a similar thing and we spoke to a Dutch family who went with one of the others and whilst enjoying what they did, they didn't get Jeanne's personal touch."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Great Fun"

7 Aug 2014 • Morning excursion

We were really glad we did this trip. Well organised by Jeanne who very quickly after send us emails and videos of our time in the water with the seals.

Thoroughly recommend this trip and would say you need to book in advance with Jeanne as her trip is by far and away the best. 3 others offer a similar thing and we spoke to a Dutch family who went with one of the others and whilst enjoying what they did, they didn't get Jeanne's personal touch.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Must learn !Click language"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"Fabulous accommodation, view and scenery. Lovely people who would do anything to help, especially if you tried to engage with !Click language! Desert Elephant trip also brilliant.

Don't miss this Lodge is our opinion, if it's cold they'll put hot water bottles in your bed. This touch certainly appealed to my wife so 10 out of 10 was always going to be their score from us!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Good for 1 night"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2014
"We stayed 1 night prior to going to Okuewejo. Room pleasant, food good and lovely views from their elevated deck overlooking the savannah."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Floodlit Waterhole absolutely brilliant"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"Despite reviews we'd read Okaukuejo exceeded expectations. Check in/out was easy and quick, our room was very nice indeed and plenty of food choice, which was always of a good standard.

The waterhole was fantastic. We counted 32 elephants including 4 calves there just before we went to bed. We also saw 5 or 6 rhino come and go and a leopard ambush a jackal, not to mention, numerous giraffe, zebra, springbok etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Great feel to the place"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2014
"Lovely staff, great atmosphere and possibly one evening meal that was the best of our trip! We also dined underneath the stars in the Boma. We would recommend Mushara to anyone and particularly those taking younger children.

Room was a tent plus walled rear area accommodating the WC and shower. Another place where hot water bottles were put in our beds!

Warthogs on the lawn - what more could you ask for!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"We have to return!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"Great place to finish a fabulous holiday. Staff attentive and not too pushy as far as trips etc concerned. We tracked and found Leopard and Cheetah and walked with the Cheetah. Our guide Gideon was the best guide we have encountered, not just on this trip, but on previous trips.

They provided us with a bottle of Champagne to celebrate our anniversary which was a lovely touch. Our room had a great view out over the plain with hills in the distance, and Warthogs, Oryx and Impala in sight. In fact our room was stunningly spacious.

We have to return as we have adopted a Leopard - 2 years time all being well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team