This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pumulani
Pumulani
Pumulani
Pumulani
Pumulani

Reviews of Pumulani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pumulani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs. E.
Zurich

"Pumulani review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2022
"+ Jen surprised us with her being the host, what a nice suprise
+ sundowner on the boat
+ fish eagle feeding (a suprise)
+ snorkeling was beautiful
+ hike up the mountain was lovely
+ nice pool areas
+ star gazing with Godfrey was brilliant
+ Jen offering new mocktails and cocktails was a treat
+ Jen was very forthcoming in that we could change our villa
- the villas were stunning but - when we were there - way too hot. Only the bedroom had air conditioning, the other rooms were so hot we couldn't spend time in them
- depending on the villas there was little space to store items/cloths
- the board walk needs attention" See all these reviews: 11n in Malawi; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Pumulani review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"From the moment we arrived and were told we were in the honeymoon villa we knew this would be a wonderful experience. Our villa was amazing, our hostess Adele was extremely helpful and looked after us royally.
Food was generally very good though the chef seemed to like adding olives to a lot of dishes! The only disappointment was one starter which we left as it was an olive brushetta rather than tomatoes we were expecting. This was a shame as on that particular evening a table had been set aside with candles etc for us for a romantic meal.
I think it would be an improvement to have a choice of 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 desserts rather than just a choice of main course.
We could relax and enjoy the facilities including kayaking and learning how to paddle board and especially enjoyed the snorkelling trip to to see the cichlid fish. Altogether a wonderful four days." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
The C family
Dorset

"Pumulani review"

4 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"Our whole experience at Pulumani was a amazing.

The lodge management were incredible and made our stay very special.

The staff were excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
N & J Lancs
UK

"Pumulani review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
AFRICA
UK

"Tranquil Pumulani"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2019
"Pumulani is a great place to end a Safari, very peaceful and fabulous views over the lake.
As lovely as the private villas are, we feel they are very overdue a bit of a facelift, the accommodation is looking tired, sliding doors were virtually impossible to open, bathroom door very difficult to close." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Carol M
Illinois

"Pumulani -- The Next Best Thing to Paradise "

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2018
"While not your typical “safari camp,” Pumulani is the perfect place to end a safari experience. In fact, I came here after a month out in the bush and found the serenity I needed to reflect on all I had just seen and done, to restore my energies and to prepare for my long trip home. As I did so I was treated to breathtaking views of Lake Malawi from wall to wall windows throughout my villa, even those in the bathroom.

The villa was comprised of a long entryway leading to a kitchen area (complete with well-stocked fridge) and then to a huge and amply furnished living room. A comfortable writing desk was one of my favorite features in the bedroom, but the absolute best one was the air-conditioning provided there. (Late November can be very hot in Malawi, and the AC was a much appreciated surprise.) The bathroom had all the expected trimmings plus the lake views. And doors from both the living room and the bedroom opened onto enormous balconies.

Most of the time I stayed at Pumulani I was the only guest in residence. I could wander the property at leisure, swim in the two beautiful pools, descend the 140+ stairs leading to the beach and even have lunch there. All of the meals prepared at the lodge were exceptional, but they tasted even better at the beach.

With Ganizan and Black, both of whom are expert guides, I had the opportunity to explore the colorful shoreline by boat on four separate occasions, each time discovering something new and interesting about the lives of the fishermen who live and work in the area. Feeding and photographing the Fish Eagles close up further enhanced my Lake Malawi experience, as did a birding walk around the Pumulani grounds.

I was told that in the Chichewa language Pumulani means "rest well," and I can’t imagine a more appropriate name for this enchanting establishment." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 10n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B.
Blumenthal

"Pumulani review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2018
"For Honey Mooners it is ok.
The snorkling gear and the bikes were in very poor condition (already rated in the lodge). Top bikes and focus on mountain biking could improve the location.
Swimming in the lake was somewhat disappointing. I expected crystal clear water, but it was murky at the beach.
Manager made everything possible.
I think it is over the top." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Pumulani review"

7 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"Considering Pumalani is supposed to be the premier location in Malawi - and taking into account the problems in accessing supplies we were still disappointed in the standard of catering." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Isle of Man

"Relaxing Pumulani"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"The focus here is on lakeside activities. A short bird walk one morning was rewarding and we enjoyed looking at Saturn and Jupiter through the telescope.

Dinghy sailing and kayaking were fun and we especially enjoyed the evening cruises on the dhow for sundowners. There was no wind so we used the engine rather than sails but it was switched off as the sun set so we could enjoy the peace of the lake over a G&T, drifting quietly as we watched hippos and the local fishermen.

The rooms are set on a hillside and lunch is often served on the beach - which could be an issue for the less mobile - but a recently acquired buggy will help here." See all these reviews: 9n in Malawi; 4n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Fantastic rooms and food"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2017
"Had a very relaxing stay which is what we were looking for at the end of our trip. Activities are very flexible and it was nice to sleep in. The food was the best of our trip and great variety-you had two choices for every meal. Only disappointed that we did not have fish during the 3 days.

Highlight was visiting Loyce's orphanage and meeting her 22 children. She also works at Pumulani.

The rooms were huge and the views spectacular. Highly recommend for an end of a trip stay." See all these reviews: 6n in Malawi; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 27
92%
27 reviews of Pumulani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Malawi

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Malawi.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Shore of Lake Malawi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island Camp is a small eco camp on a small granite island in Lake Malawi. This is a great, remote spot for kayaking and snorkeling.


100% (9 reviews)
Chintheche Inn

Chintheche Inn

A warm, welcoming beach lodge on the western shore of Lake Malawi, Chintheche Inn offers simple but comfortable accommodation, and a wide range of activities, from watersports to cultural excursions.


86% (7 reviews)
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat is a large, family friendly lodge located on a stunning beach on the southern lakeshore of Lake Malawi.


97% (6 reviews)
Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach Lodge is situated on the northern shores of Lake Malawi and has one of the very few private beaches in Malawi


100% (1 review)
Blue Zebra Island Lodge

Blue Zebra

Blue Zebra is a simple and affordable beach lodge with lots of character, which is popular with expats and ever increasingly with international visitors.


100% (1 review)
Domwe Island

Domwe Island

Kayak Africa's Domwe Island in Lake Malawi


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa