This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by N & J Lancs from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Zambia - Luangwa's, Shoebill and Lower Zam

Zambia and 1 other country between 17 Jun 2022 and 30 Jun 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our thanks to Lucy for putting together an amazing trip."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2022
"Easy access to airport"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2022
"Beautiful location overlooking the river.

Guiding on game drives with Lloyd, finding a pride of lions on our first outing. Lloyd is a considerate and conscientious guide and has considerable experience of the area.

The meals - probably the best of over 30 different lodges we have visited in Africa over the years. Lots of fresh, homegrown produce.

Good to stay with someone like the Coppingers whose heart is in Africa and the help they give to the local area."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp

"Takwela Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2022
"Another camp with views over the river, seeing hippos, elephants, crocodiles and even a hyena across the river.

Food excellent as in Tafika and all staff helpful and attentive.

Our guide Alex, was very knowledgeable - an expert guide - enthusiastic and even tried to find an Aardvark for us just but just managed two holes it had dug! Exceptional!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

"Shoebill Island Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2022
"A stunning place especially for birdlife, we saw over 50 different species and we are not expert birders! Including of course the amazing shoebill - we were lucky enough to see 2. The flight in over the wetlands is just incredible seeing the thousands of Lechwe.

Unfortunately we did hear some gunshots at night and our guide Lewis reported it to the scouts in the area.

Lewis our guide here was extremely knowledgeable about the birdlife having grown up in the area."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2022
"Beautiful view - river, mountains and into the national park.

Elephants walking in to camp and past our tent! Great close up shots. Elephant in musk charging the jeep as we somehow we got between him and some females hidden in the bush.

Saw lioness with cubs and two juvenile males. Also saw 6 wild dogs, they ran past the jeep and then later we caught up with them as they were sleeping.

Our guide here was Hastings and again he was very knowledgeable and experienced. Very expert reversing down a narrow 800 metre track to get away from the big bull elephant!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

"Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"Spectacular rooms with every amenity.

Lots of wildlife in the area and never a dull moment on drives or walks.

Food - well prepared and varied but don't get on the scales when you return home!

Presley our guide and Taps the trainee guide were the dream team! On our first afternoon we see 5 lions and a young leopard in a tree with a waterbuck kill, then see it's mother with another young one. Hundreds of elephants about from very small babies to big bulls. Also see a big male leopard.

Went on a morning game walk and a Greater Honeyguide constantly trying to lead us to the hives and an elephant which we had to do a detour to get past.

Evening game drive we come across a big male lion just lying across the track and refusing to move and two females with cubs playing.

On our last drive to the airstrip Presley finds a big pack of 26 wild dogs and a few minutes later they set off on a hunt after 3 warthogs and we have a fast and exciting drive trying to follow them. The warthogs lived to fight another day. We then find the dogs again scattered in the bush and a few lie down by our jeep, 16 of them and 15 minutes later the other 10 arrive to a lot of greeting from the others."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent

My Jul 2019 trip

Zimbabwe and 2 other countries between 10 Jul 2019 and 25 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"A good well organised trip to Malawi & Zimbabwe.
Two beautiful lodges with a good range of wildlife
Excellent food at Mkulumadzi
Thomas at Chilo Gorge & Mali at Mkulumadz were excellent knowledgeable guides with a sense of fun. Thomas was an expert on birds."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge

Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge

"Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2019
"Lodge very nice with great views over river
Over 150 Elephants seen plus to of antelopes etc
Drive up to top of Chilo cliffs was spectacular
Over 145 different birds seen"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Chilo Gorge Tented Camp

Chilo Gorge Tented Camp

"Chilo Gorge Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2019
"Another great spot
Leopard calling just in front of tent a 5.30am
Lions calling & night & they made a kill 100 yards away
Hyena also calling near by at night"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge

Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge

"Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2019
"incl in 1st section on this [Edit: see comments below]"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"handy for airport"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Mkulumadzi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2019
"Great views again from main terrace and room no 1
Good guiding from Mali
Food the best of all the 20+ lodges we have been to in Africa & some of the others very good
Service at meal times also very good"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Pumulani review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2019
"Good for a post Safari rest"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team