This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Takwela Camp
Takwela Camp
Takwela Camp
Takwela Camp

Reviews of Takwela Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Takwela Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Takwela Camp.
Lion

40% success

Leopard

30% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

89% success

Wildebeest

78% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Buffalo

63% success

Eland

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P
London

"Takwela Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"This was my first visit to Remote Africa's newest camp and I loved it.

The design of the chalets is very well thought out- the "side on" arrangement maximises the view from the bedroom and the shower. My shower had the perfect view of the Luangwa/Mwaleshi confluence.

The seating area at the front of each room is very comfortable, well shaded and with a built in table for a cold drink, and the perfect place to relax with your binos between activities. Alex is an excellent guide and host, and I particularly enjoyed the walking, with highlights being watching lions from across the river and sneaking up on a pair of Pels fishing owls that were calling to each other.

The area is very beautiful, the acacia woodland around the river is quite different to the main parts of South Luangwa." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Takwela Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2022
"A lovely camp with fine views over the river, good game viewing and very knowledgeable guides" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
E Sussex

"Takwela Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"An excellent small camp in a great location on the river.

It was very relaxed and all the staff were very good. Our guide, Moffat and tracker, Issac, were excellent and very informative.

We had a choice of walking or going on game drives which suited us.

We felt very safe with them whenever out walking and learnt new information about the little things." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Takwela Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2022
"Takwela was a bit more substantial than we had perhaps been expecting - a camp more along the lines of Tafika than Mwaleshi or Chikoko - but still very attractively and unflashily done, with a beautiful sitenji and camp fire area making the most of the magnificent location at the confluence of the Luangwa and Mwaleshi rivers.

It was lovely to meet the manager, the delightful Alex, although much of his time while we were there was monopolised by a large family group. This actually worked to our advantage as it meant that we in turn had our excellent guide Moffat to ourselves, but underlines I think that as Takwela takes off, more than one permanent guide may be necessary there.

We were able to do both walking and game driving at Takwela and although the game was a little on the shy side - a legacy, I think, of hunting in the area - we loved the camp's sense of remoteness and exclusivity which made for a really special experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B.
Cambridge

"Takwela Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2022
"Our stay at Takwela was excellent.

Its riverside setting is beautiful at all times of day. We enjoyed a mix of walking safaris and game drives on the vehicle, which offered us a perfect combination of wildlife experiences. As at Mwaleshi, we were in the hands of an excellent knowledgeable guide. Alex imparted fascinating information about everything around us, including the animal tracking.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The cabins are very comfortable, with lovely beds and completely effective mosquito nets as at Mwaleshi (not that there were any mosquitos during our visit). The food was fantastic - I am so impressed with what the guys rustle up in the camp kitchens." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr P & Ms C
USA

"Takwela Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2022
"This our second time to North Luangwa and our first time staying at Takwela. We were extremely lucky and had the camp to ourselves for all 3 nights. Alex was an amazing host and even better guide -- one of the best we've ever had. He was extremely flexible and we were able to drives, long walks and short walks during our stay and his stories kept us entertained the entire time. The location was beautiful and we were able to watch game come to river at all hours of the day right from our chalet as well as the common areas.

Speaking of the chalet, ours had a beautiful view of the Mwaleshi and Luangwa River confluence, comfortable beds, plenty of storage, indoor and outdoor seating areas and the best outdoor shower we've ever had. Takwela delivered beyond even our high expectations!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

N & J Lancs
UK

"Takwela Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2022
"Another camp with views over the river, seeing hippos, elephants, crocodiles and even a hyena across the river.

Food excellent as in Tafika and all staff helpful and attentive.

Our guide Alex, was very knowledgeable - an expert guide - enthusiastic and even tried to find an Aardvark for us just but just managed two holes it had dug! Exceptional!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr N.
Milan

"Excellent walks, very exciting stay"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2021
"My first comment is on the team. This is where I really got to know my guide Steven. I must say that we got on extremely well, we had a similar sense of humour but most of all he was so knowledgeable about all the wildlife (mammals, birds, insects, plants) that I was never tired of listening to his explanations.

The scout Dave was also great : he was shy and talked very little but had clearly a huge experience and made me feel totally at ease even when chasing a lion track or getting close to an elephant. Finally we had two apprentices to become guide with us who were both very nice and promise to become very competent. More than once they were the first to spot an animal or a track.

The walks were great. We usually walked about 15km a day and one day we did a full day walk, whereby a jeep brought us up the Malweshi river and we walked back to camp (about 20km). I am very pleased with the wildlife we saw. This has been a fantastic experience.

The camp was great as well, very comfortable and the staff very welcoming and helpful. The only downside were some other guests : a group of elderly Americans who I felt were a bit obnoxious and bossy." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs B & A
UK

"Takwela Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Alex is an extremely competent manager, charming host and very knowledgable guide. He would be stretched without support when the camp expands.

Our favourite camp.

As with the other walking camps one is at the mercy of the other few guests. We had 1 night at Crocodile Camp with guests we didn't really like. Three nights here with them would have spoilt everything. It is the luck of the draw and we were lucky. We had morning walks and evening drives which suited us fine. Several guests at the other camps (who could have visited here) would not have wanted to walk. This would pose a problem with only one guide." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Paul
North Yorkshire

"Magical experience"

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"This is really remote and camp in beautiful setting. Wildlife and environment stunning and iin particular animals are not habituated to people or vehicles so very 'natural' experience" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 12
100%
12 reviews of Takwela Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi is a particularly remote and rustic bushcamp in North Luangwa National Park that concentrates purely on walking safaris. It's very small, but run by a top-quality operation – so come here for walking safaris run by super guides and an excellent wildlife experience.


99% (54 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa