This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A. from United Kingdom

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2022 trip

Zambia between 16 Aug 2022 and 27 Aug 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"The overall experience was exceptionally good. Our other comments are on the care and attention provided by Claire Scott at all times during the booking process and run up to the trip. It was also very evident that Expert Africa is viewed in very high regard by both Remote Africa and Sheldon Safaris who run the camps we stayed at, with there even having been a visit to the camps by Expert Africa not long before we were there. This reinforced our already strongly held view that Expert Africa know so much more about the camps and the walking than many other tour operators who seem to need to refer even the most basic question to their in-country agents.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
One reason we contacted with Expert Africa is because of the detail of the information on the website and the transparency with which you operate. Keep up the good work."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2022
"We were hugely impressed by Tafika. The generous welcoming of us by all members of the family and their involvement in the running the camp made this a most enjoyable experience. There is a very collegiate atmosphere and the camp manager Vel was brilliant too. We took the combination of morning walks and evening drives with excellent sightings and hardly any other vehicles creating a truly memorable experience. The lodges were delightful and the food was excellent."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2022
"A lovely camp with very comfortable lodges set on two levels. The bread and cakes in particular able to be prepared in the bush were superb. The walks gave us an excellent opportunity to get to understand more of the entire ecosystem within the bush."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2022
"Crocodile Camp has now closed, replaced for 2022 by a new camp at Big Lagoon which is about 1km away. It has an attractive setting with good views across the large watering hole and a mixture of animals visiting all easily viewed from the lodge. We took the opportunity to visit the kitchen to see the chef at work. The food was exceptional and the whole experience inspirational. We were unlucky to get troubled on our last morning by a nest of army ants which appeared in the bathroom area overnight. We understand that some further development has been done at Big Lagoon since our visit to put down at least one concrete floor which would significantly reduce the risk of this for future travellers. Getting good views of lions on our walking safari was enthralling.

We had arranged in advance to walk from Big Lagoon direct to Mwamba as mentioned in the information on the Expert Africa website. We are grateful to Nick at Tafika for managing the logistics of this. Our excellent guide, tracker and tea carrier were all enthusiastic about this; none had done this walk previously so this was an adventure for each of them too. It was about 12.5km. We were lucky to get an excellent sighting for several minutes of a honey badger on this walk."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2022
"An excellent camp in all respects with a lot of attention to detail. The host manager was particularly empathic in understanding any requirements we had and making sure they were delivered. The food was excellent.

The sightings were among the best we have ever had, including picking up a pack of 9 wild dogs on a morning drive and following them as they tracked their prey and then ate. There was a lot of opportunity for us to influence where we spent our time so we returned to where we knew the dogs had been resting during the day to watch them gradually gather themselves and head off for a further hunt. Many good lion and leopard sightings including a leopard with an impala up a tree and two lions taking down a warthog.

The camp has a hide which is interesting to visit as you get so close to the animals. Whilst we were there, a buffalo, zebra and impala came to drink with visits by a variety of birds."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2022
"We enjoyed our stay here. It is 40-50 mins from the airport so a bit longe to get there than the nearest other quality hotels but not by much. The reward is a very comfortable and relaxed hotel with excellent decor and attention to detail. Our lunch on arrival was right at the end of the serving period so was rather slow and disjointed but the dinner and breakfast were superb. The room was quiet and very spacious."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team