This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

280 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 41 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

85% success

Leopard

93% success

Wild dog

43% success

Hippo

100% success

Giraffe

98% success

Zebra

98% success

Elephant

95% success

Spotted Hyena

95% success

Buffalo

90% success

Wildebeest

51% success

Eland

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 280
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 21 May 2022
"This was our second stay at Tafika and we enjoyed it as much as during our first stay. Tafika is a beautiful little camp of just 6 reed and thatch chalets. It is one of the last remaining owner-run camps in the South Luangwa valley which in fact makes a huge difference. The owner family makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive and undertakes any effort to make your stay as memorable as possible.

The camp itself is managed at a very high standard, but kept deliberately simple to allow an authentic bush experience. The camp still offers all amenities needed (at least for those that get along without air-conditioning or a pool). The camp is entirely unfenced. During our stay elephants stopped by for a visit, and we heard lions roaring at night. The cuisine is top-notch both in respect of food quality and diversity paying great attention to dietary requests.

Despite slightly fewer sightings this time in June (compared to our last stay in October), we still had excellent game drives with our guide Bryan during our 4 nights stay. A great plus of the camp is its remote location in the northern sector of the park that guarantees an exclusive and far more rewarding safari experience than the typical walkie talkie style safari in the busy central sector of the park.

We also strongly recommend the village visit that is offered by the camp. The nearby airstrip and the camps own airplane is a further advantage making logistics easy." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Thor & Deb
BC Canada

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2021
"Same applies to our second stint at Tafika. Please see my previous entry. [Ed: See below]" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Thor & Deb
BC Canada

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2021
"Permanent camp, which is arguably less charming than the seasonal ones, but more plush. Setting is spectacular.

The family running it are the owners and founders, passionate about wildlife, Zambia, and the environment. Wonderful discussions. Food was excellent. Guiding was superb, except Makupa, who needs to be told to tone it down a bit. He's remarkably capable but way too "in your face".

Lloyd, however, was one of the best guides we've ever had--over the span of many safaris. Lots of encounters with a pack of 14 wild dogs, including a kill right in front of us--which was a bit sobering. a number of excellent leopard sightings, including a mother with her semi-grown cub.

Staff was entirely solicitous to our every need, and those cold towels at the end of the drive were divine!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss P
London

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2021
"This was my seventh trip including at least one Remote Africa camp, and my fifth visit to Tafika, so I think it's safe to say I am a fan.  It was a shame not to see John and Carol or Heather, but an unexpected surprise to see Brian.  Jen and Nick are doing an excellent job managing and hosting. 

I noticed some changes in the camp which improved comfort without adversely affecting the "bush" feel.  The lighting in the rooms is improved, the doors now swing on hinges, and there is some useful hanging shelving.  I also noticed a big improvement in their wine offerings.  The food, as ever, is superb and they do the best lunches I've had on safari.

Game viewing was a little less productive than previous visits, perhaps due to some early rain, and I was sad to miss the wild dogs who were around in Sept and I think returned to the area after my visit (of course!). However, I did have one very exciting night drive of lions vs puku vs hyenas vs crocs vs hippos.  Guiding from Lloyd was great.

The wifi is unusable, which is not something that would normally concern me as I prefer to disconnect on safari.  Unfortunately travel in the time of Covid now necessitates a lot of tedious online form filling for international travel, and I was glad of the few hours I had with internet access in Lusaka (there is no wifi at Lusaka airport) in order to complete the required forms.  If the current circumstances persist, I wouldn't want to be in the position of departing direct to an international flight from Tafika, with passenger locator forms and such to be filled out online.  I think this is an issue a lot of camps will need to address.

But overall, another wonderful stay and I look forward to returning next year." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr N.
Milan

"Sad to be reaching the end"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2021
"Tafika was the end of my safari.

As I had not spotted yet any lion, nor leopard nor hyena, I decided to do my first game drive, at night though. It was a nice experience, but was nonetheless a confirmation for me that walking is so much richer and emotional as an experience compared to driving.

Anyway, I saw my first (and only) leopard and hyena on that drive." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr N.
Milan

"A lovely welcome"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2021
"Everything was perfect.

Two guides welcomed me at the airport and we drove from Mfuwe to the camp. We immediately had a very good contact, were joking together. When arriving at the camp, Jen and Nick welcomed me and brought me to my bungalow. I settled in for 15 minutes and went to the bar for a beer.

Jen called me to show me a 2m50 python right behind my bungalow, saying how lucky I was and they could only rarely be seen (I'm not sure lucky is how I would describe my feeling on the spot). Good beers and a lovely dinner.

Also in the morning all was perfect : hot shower, good breakfast, great view over the river with the hippos and then the transfer on the small Cessna plane to Takwela." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

10 sightings

Ms B and Mr C
Montana

"Just Loved Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2021
"It took our breath away to walk onto the Tafika property, like an elegant green carpeted lawn set by the south Luanga River with it's crowds of hippos and crocodiles. Including one resident croc which was enormous. We liked being on the end room near the river. Just in back of us was a hide which would be well enjoyed later in the year when the water levels are low and the animals gathered there. The room was obviously built with such care and attention to detail. Very, very comfortable and yet obviously in the bush.


We enjoyed the warm hospitality of Carol and John and Nick and Jen. The entire staff was extremely welcoming. Being avid gardener's ourselves we appreciated the food coming from the extensive organic garden on the property. Who knew that you could grow such an abundance with elephants around? And being admittedly "foodies" we savored every dish prepared by the talented chef. Vegetarian and nonvegetarian choice at every meal was especially nice. Never imagined fresh salad being served in the remote bush of Zambia. Dinners were taken at at a beautifully set table under the moon with a charcoal under table heater! Talk about cozy...


Our guide Macupa was eagle eyed with lots of detailed information and stories about whatever we came across. Even on the night safaris I don't think he missed a single set of eyes. We got to see a leopard make an impala kill only to lose it immediately to the voracious hyena. The heronry was so interesting that we visited it on 2 morning drives. There is a great variety of terrain in the area including the salt pans complete with Hot Springs. Beautiful trees too
We would highly recommend Remote Safaris. It would be fabulous to come back and stay at their walking camps and in North Luanga as well. Just as the previous camp Kaingo, it was a privilege to stay at an owner run lodge." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms G
Florida

"Great hospitality in a remote, rustic setting"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2020
"Tafika seemed to grow on me with each successive day. Hosts and staff were kind, attentive and very accommodating. Game drives covered a variety terrain. My knowledgeable guide (Amon) worked diligently in my behalf. (Alas, the wild dogs eluded us.) We did see a variety of wildlife and I was able to benefit from his expertise. In addition to night and day game drives, I went on a walking Safari. We saw leopard on foot, something not typically encountered. Cape Buffalo are definitely more intimidating at eye level! Anyone visiting the area should not pass up this opportunity.

While not a "foodie", I must mention that meals at this camp are exceptional. The hosts have an organic garden. Food is plentiful, diverse and incorporate a variety of cultural influences.

During my stay, I was able to spend a few hours at the nearby village. I toured the school, listened to the church choir and even got to meet some locale dignitaries. Everyone was extremely warm and welcoming. Thanks to all for your efforts to make my stay a memorable one." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2020
"Tafika was a real highlight. From the moment we arrived, it really felt like visiting friends & family. The hospitality of the Coppinger family was amazing. The camp has been completely refurbished recently and looked top-notch. We loved the fact that it integrated so well into the natural habitat using all local materials. The hides for the carmine bee-eaters and the elephants were much fun too – great for photographers. Our guide Makupa was reading the bush like the bible ! We spotted 8 leopards of which some up in trees 😊. In addition to other game seen on other safaris, we spotted for the first time the Thornicroft giraffe, the bushy tail & white tail mongoose, civets and many many genets ! The area is absolutely stunning – we loved it for its remoteness. Basically there was only one vehicle besides ours out in the area. What a luxury !" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr R.
Cowbridge

"Walking safari from Tafika Camp"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Again, having experienced both Chikoko and Crocodile camps, and knowing that Tafika was the main camp we were still overwhelmed by the attention to detail, the standard of the accommodation, meals etc and the personal welcome by the owners.

The location was fantastic and it was lovely seeing elephants cooling themselves off right outside the compound and also being free to wander around inside. We were pleased to be able to have the option of a night drive and another walk in the bush.

The night drive was very exciting and the whole experience enhanced by the highly qualified and experienced guide and ranger" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 280
98%
280 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
259
19
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (209 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (191 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (171 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (131 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (108 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (65 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (64 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (64 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (53 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (15 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa