This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

292 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 54 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

91% success

Wild dog

36% success

Hippo

100% success

Giraffe

98% success

Zebra

98% success

Elephant

96% success

Spotted Hyena

93% success

Buffalo

88% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Eland

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 292
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Munich

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2022
"Quite a difference between our first stop at Puku Ridge and Tafika. But this doesn't mean that we did not enjoy it.

Overall still a good to excellent experience.

The number of charging points in the tent was too low (only one USB connector)." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2022
"Our first visit to Tafika. Another bushcamp style lodge and quite remote in the very North of South Luangwa.

Yet more good food, knowledgeable guides and staff, an excellent situation on the river and a genuinely lovely place to stay.

As with Mwamba we shared camp with elephants and hippos. We are fond of African birds and were allocated excellent guides who knew their birds well.

Game was quite scarce at times but not disappointing - we saw dog and leopard including one who just dropped out of a tree besides us much to everyone's surprise not having been seen by the guides or us at all." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr A.
United Kingdom

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2022
"We were hugely impressed by Tafika. The generous welcoming of us by all members of the family and their involvement in the running the camp made this a most enjoyable experience. There is a very collegiate atmosphere and the camp manager Vel was brilliant too. We took the combination of morning walks and evening drives with excellent sightings and hardly any other vehicles creating a truly memorable experience. The lodges were delightful and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

5 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs H
Surrey

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2022
"Tafika was our favourite camp

It was excellent in every way it could possibly be.

Carol, John, Jenny and Nick made us feel part of the family. The group meals were a lovely way to meet everyone.

Levi our guide was excellent and the favourite of the whole trip. He was wonderful and really made it fun for Matilda (11 years old)" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs C
Kent

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"This was an incredible place to stay.

The views of the river from camp are wonderful. As this was our first safari, it took us a while to get used to the communal dining and interaction with other guests and owners/staff, we ended up loving it.

Loyd was a great guide. We very rarely saw another vehicle when we were out on a game drive and had some very memorable sightings, although no leopards.

We thoroughly enjoyed the walk that we did and the banana boat added to the sense of adventure." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"The best of the best. From guiding, hosting, views, accommodation ... couldn't be improved.

Breakfasts and lunches were amazing!

The hide provided an unexpected highlight of our stay, but from the strong family feel of the camp, the really experienced and knowledgable guiding of Bryan whose company we thoroughly enjoyed, the wildlife moving into and around the camp, spectacular sightings of leopard and lion, the video of the fighting hippos in camp which we happily missed by minutes and even the remarkable veg garden gave us many great memories." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Vermont

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2022
"This was our first bush camp experience, and during the initial drive from the airport to the camp, which was at night due to a flight delay, Lloyd spotted a leopard, 2 male lions, and a group of zebra. It felt like we’re were in a Jumanji game! It only got better after that under the tutelage of our guide Moffit (sorry for the spelling) who was with us for 4 days and helped us to understand so many aspects of this part of Africa - the ecosystems, the animals, the extraordinary variety of birds, and a bit about history and culture of the people who live in this region. He was a repository of information and enthusiastically shared what he knew and tolerated all our questions and requests. The support staff were gracious and always ready to be helpful. It was a treat to share meals with the family members who run Tafika and to hear their stories about what it was like when they built it, and how it has changed over time. We loved our little grass hut and how it connected with the land and the river right outside our door.
The visit to the village which Tafika supports is not to be missed! Several of the staff here are from that village." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Cristin
Oregon

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2022
"This was our second trip to the African continent and Tafika is now our favorite camp. This is a family run camp and the owners try to share their love of the country, its people and animals. The rooms are open air with reed walls, meticulously maintained, with hot and cold running water, very spacious. The owners have set up reed fences in camp to encourage the wildlife along appropriate paths. The camp is regularly visited by elephants and hippos. There is a 'blind' to watch elephants and other wildlife at a small watering hole just on the other side of the camp fence. Breakfast is taken by the campfire set up on the river's edge. The food was wonderful. There were plenty of choices at every meal and the staff were eager to make sure the meat lovers and vegetarians were satisfied. The birdlife is amazing.
The schedule is full- no wasted opportunities to see wildlife. We were awakened early every day to take advantage of the morning animal activities with a comfortable "siesta time" midday. We did a 1/2 day walking safari from the Tafika camp. This included a short canoe trip across the Luanga river. We hope to be able to return to Zambia and do more walking from camps run by Remote Africa. Our guides were all very knowledgeable. The camp staff knew some of us were interested in birds and made sure to stop and point out the birds as well as the megafauna.
Tafika camp sponsors the school in the local village with salaries for 4 teachers and supplies. I admire their commitment to their community. The camp owners Carol and John, along with their daughter Jenny and her husband Nick, make sure to have meals with the guests and share their 30+ years experience living in Zambia.
When you travel to remote areas-, you have to stay flexible. The Tafika camp was very accommodating when members of our group were delayed due to illness. At the end of our stay, the Bush plane that was to ferry us to our next stay had fuel line issues. Tafika then offered to fly 4 of our party (the most that would fit) in their own small Bush plane." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs K.
Westbury

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2022
"Superb camp, hosts, staff and guides. Lots of wildlife including an elephant in camp, hippo very close by (actually 2 in camp tussling a few days after we left!). The work the owners do for the local community and the history of the camp is very interesting. Food and drink excellent. Front-of-house Vel very welcoming and friendly, Rory the pilot great to be with, John, Carol and Bryan very sociable and friendly. Bryan was our guide and has immense knowledge and is a lovely host. Location is breath-taking. Excellent well-equipped chalets with proper anytime showers! Enquire about flying on their Cessna rather than the 2 hour road trip from Mfuwe." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr P & Ms C
USA

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2022
"This was our first time back to Tafika in 7 years and it was as wonderful as our previous visits. Many of the staff and the guides were the same and it was like catching up with old friends for our entire stay. The accommodations, food (especially the lunch buffet with many of vegetable dishes provided by their own garden) and service were all terrific and the guiding was top notch. We had great sightings every day even though the bush was greener than usual due to the late rains this year. This is our 6th safari and we plan on returning to Tafika as often as possible!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 292
98%
292 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
271
19
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (215 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (196 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (177 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (141 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (109 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (68 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (65 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (64 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (63 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (53 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (22 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


93% (9 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa