This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

303 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 64 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

42% success

Hippo

100% success

Giraffe

98% success

Zebra

98% success

Elephant

97% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Buffalo

90% success

Wildebeest

53% success

Eland

9% success

Roan antelope

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 303
Duration
Arrival date
Harvey and Jo
Lewes

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2022
"Our second visit, good feel to having a family run camp again.

Food outstanding, a step up from other camps, happy to let you look round the kitchen and laundry area. Catering staff particularly friendly and attentive.

Guiding very good indeed, with a walk across (by canoe) to one of the bush camps very informative on ecosystems. Excellent game viewing, at a pace to suit us. Village visit close by reflects the close ongoing involvement of the family with community and school, plus local football teams - we took several footballs to donate as well as school equipment.

We left by road to Mfuwe airport on what is currently a poor road, nearly two hours, but you can fly from Tafika to Mfuwe or Lusaka if you can pay....... Classic bush dining outside for dinner, elephants through the camp as well as at the waterhole and hide.

Will certainly return if possible." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Bristol

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2022
"A wonderful experience.

Stunning accommodation in an ideal position. Seemingly unlimited game viewing.

Hospitality was superb." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss P
London

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"I think this was my sixth visit to Tafika, and I'm sure it won't be my last. I love the camp, the people and the food. I particularly enjoy the atmosphere at the bar after the evening drive where everyone gathers to hear about the day's sightings, and the sociable lunches hosted by John and Carol.

Some further subtle improvements have been made to the rooms - especially the seating areas at the front. I think the roof has been extended forwards to provide shade, and some very comfortable built in seating provided. At the end of my stay, they very kindly offered me an air transfer down to Mfuwe (at no charge) since the pilot was picking up guests to take to North Luangwa.

Thanks to Nick for showing me the African Broadbills that frequent the back of house area! I also stupidly left my camera battery charger behind and they arranged to get it to me in Lower Zambezi in a few days, which I was very grateful for." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S. from
Westport,

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2022
"Tafika is in a pretty spectacular setting and the camp itself is lovely.

We did early morning game drives and evening drives and spend the hot part of the day having lunch and relaxing in the camp. We saw lots of animals and enjoyed the fact that we spent time observing the animals rather than being rushed. Tafika has a policy of no more than 4 in a vehicle and we really appreciated this.

The guiding was great - we particularly enjoyed the night drives which enabled us to see lions & wild dogs preparing for their hunt. Pretty magical.

Staff were friendly, and super helpful - special shout out to Val and Levi." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Tafika review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Dr and Ms R
Bristol

"A wonderful experience in a magical place"

4 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"Tafika is in a wonderful setting right on the banks of the Luangwa. The rooms are beautiful - photographs don't do them justice. The ends are open to the sky and the sounds of the bush at night. Food was fantastic; lunch and breakfast are buffet style and dinner served outside by candlelight. Vegetarian food was outstanding. We visited the garden where much of it was grown. Staff and the family always ate with us and we had a lot of interesting conversations.

We did two long game drives each day; early in the morning and in the afternoon/evening, which became a night drive after sundowners. Our guide Macuba was amazing, finding wild dogs, lions, and even a honey badger. We were given plenty of time to take photos and enjoy being with the animals. Jimmy did a great job with the light on the evening drives.

We also did a fantastic walk with Levy who educated us about all the smaller signs of animal behaviour.

A standout experience of the stay was the carmine bee eater hide which we visited on a drive. The other hide is in the camp and visited by elephants and many other animals.

The standard of service in Tafika was outstanding; everyone greeted us by name and every request was answered. Vel managed everything with interest and humour. The Tafika 'family' made us feel truly welcome.

Tafika is simply one of the best places I have evert stayed and the memory will stay with me forever." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2022
"Our third time at Tafika and it was better than ever.

We were well looked after and the game viewing was magnificent" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Lovely location beside the Luangwa River"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"It takes about an hour and a half along a bumpy road to reach Tafika from the airstrip but a warm welcome awaited us at the camp. The views from the camp over the Luangwa River are tremendous.

One night there was quite a commotion as two male Lions sought to devour a dead Hippo whilst surrounded by Crocs. The camp now has a Carmine Bee-eater hide which was rewarding as these migrant birds had arrived for nesting in the river bank.

A new hide has been created since we last visited and from there we were able to get eye-level views of a herd of Buffalo drinking. The highlight for us was following a female Leopard as she went to quench her thirst. Although she was not really in hunting mode, she was clearly using the vehicle to mask the sound of her footsteps.

Our guide Lloyd has great experience in guiding and has been at the camp for many years. He also found us Wild Dogs." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Miss H & Dr B
London

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"The very personal and intimate feel of Takifa was delightful. The staff, especially Velelope, were so welcoming and it was fantastic to chat with each of them over meals and around the camp. The reed chalets were very comfortable, and the food was amazing with the freshest salads, home baked breads and cakes, and delicious meals.

We had some great sightings on our walking safaris, getting very close to 2 male lions. A highlight was the evening sighting of a wild-dog pack with numerous cubs, making strange calls to each other as they rested and played.

You really feel like one of the family at Tafika, we particularly enjoyed seeing 'behind the scenes' including the kitchens, workshop and garden.

They organised a fantastic birthday surprise sundowner on a bluff overlooking the river bed. This was hysterical as our guide performed a great charade of pretending it was all set up for someone else, and Vel and her colleague risked being trampled by a herd of elephants who came to the party while she was hiding behind a tree waiting to surprise us when we drove up!

Switching that very bumpy return minibus ride from Tafika to Mfuwe for a 12 minute flight with Rory in the camp plane was a great decision.

Our only negative comment was that we were with the same guide throughout our stay, and the guides didn't seem to alert each other to sightings by radio the way other camps do. This might be something other guests prefer but we felt we may not have seen as much as in previous trips?" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Solihull

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2022
"This was a really magical place. It was more rustic than some of the other camps but we still had luxury without it being pretentious. We came to see leopards and they sure did deliver. The village trip was so lovely - the school kids put on a show - dancing and poetry reciting and not a single request for money. If you like cycling, do go out with John and enjoy the river bank sights. We also loved the grumpy elephant which came to feed on fruit outside our hut every 2 hours!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 303
98%
303 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
281
20
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (222 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (204 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (183 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (114 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (88 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (73 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (66 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (41 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa