This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Toronto

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Outstanding trip

South Africa and 1 other country between 11 Sep 2021 and 3 Oct 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"Book as soon as possible to visit Botswana this year.

We were very torn about going or delaying our trip because of Covid but in the end there were so many Covid-related perks that we are so thrilled that we went ahead.

Most important, for people who enjoy privacy, each group had their own landrover and guide. It was special to just have my husband and myself on all of the game drives. Similarly for meals one has one's own table, although one can enjoy other guests around the fire for drinks in the evening and can also request a table with others.

We can't thank Tracy enough for being so patient as we went back and forth, but also encouraging us to go. She was outstanding in every way.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

There is no way that Tracy could improve her service as it is outstanding. Thank you Tracy."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Magical feel of the Okavango Delta"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2021
"Little Vumbura is a beautiful camp where one is constantly aware of the water. It is situated on a very small island so there are attractive reeds and waterlilies all over the place. Each time one arrives or returns from a game drive one takes a short boat ride. The shift from landrover to boat is seamless as one's guide also drives the boat. The boat ride is comfortable and relaxing and one is often watching magnificent sunrises and sunsets over the reeds as one departs or arrives back at camp. The emphasis is very much on the water activities and experiencing the Okavango Delta rather than the landrover rides. We did not see the exciting predator action that we experienced at the next camp but rather enjoyed the water birds, the water lilies and the incredible beauty.

One afternoon we did a Mokoro trip which was blissfully peaceful with a surprise which I won't spoil. Another afternoon we went on the motor boat to really experience how the delta turns and twists. We only saw waterbirds (which we enjoy viewing) but the next day other guests saw a hippo. The view from the tents is beautiful and many animals can be seen around the camp.

In terms of the camp itself, the staff are friendly and wonderfully caring, and the food is good. At the camp there was a young man who had grown up in a San family in the Kalahari desert. We found him fascinating to talk to and when we mentioned that to our guide, the camp arranged for him to provide a demonstration of how to make fire by rubbing two sticks of wood together. It added a most interesting and special "cultural" element for all of the guests and we felt very privileged to experience our time with him.

The swimming pool was the only slight weakness. I believe at Vumbura itself each tent has its own plunge pool, but at Little Vumbura it is a shared pool which doesn't have much shade, doesn't have a great view, and did not seems very enticing. We rather sat on our large verandah with a comfortable chaise lounge and views of animals and the reeds and water. There is not an outside shower although the shower has a really huge picture window with a great view so one doesn't really miss it actually being outdoors. Note that there are a lot of midges and some mosquitoes but the camp provides repellant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Excellent Game Viewing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2021
"This is a wonderful camp with very good game viewing. We saw many predators and as we love animal behaviour we could follow their "stories" drive after drive.

The staff at the camp were so warm and friendly that after our two nights there we felt they were our friends. Our guide was very experienced and knowledgeable.

It is a fairly dry area with excellent plains for easy game viewing and there were few periods when we weren't watching animals. On the eastern side there is a very long and very wet area incredibly rich with plains animals as far as the eye can see.

It was very hot in the afternoons and the shared small pool had comfortable chairs and a huge shady area which was greatly appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

River Place Manor

"We will be back"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2021
"Part comfortable beautiful boutique hotel, part little farm with grapes and ostriches.

What a gem of a lodge! We have stayed here about 6 times on our way from Johannesburg to the Kgalagadi and back again and love it more each time. It has every city comfort but also a feel of the country: It overlooks the Orange River and the Veld in the front, and one can go on a 10-15 minute walk up the very long driveway and back, feeling perfectly safe, and looking over the beautiful vineyard on one side, a fruit farm with masses of hadidas on the other side, and ostriches in pens at the end of the driveway (even saw an ostrich egg on the ground).

Dinner is delicious (but must be booked before) and breakfast is good (other than the lack of seedy, wholewheat bread). Rooms have a kitchenette with sink and microwave, and proper milk for tea or coffee. The showers are a bit of a problem - certainly in rooms 2, 3, and 4, as the drain is very slow and the water can overflow so one needs to take a quick shower.

Finally, the staff are a total pleasure, each one sweeter than the next. Already looking forward to our next visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

"Excellent area for game viewing"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2021
"Urikuruus is in an area rich in game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Gharagab Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2021
"Pros: It feels even more remote than Grootkolk. Great nightlife sightings at the waterholes: Jackals and owls drinking and playing and bonding all night, plus other game if one is lucky.

Cons: A long drive with little game to see and the last part of the drive out is very challenging, with hills, deep sand, and potholes all at the same time. Once there, all one can do is stay put, looking out at the waterhole, as the drive out and back is one way only and way too long to do comfortably in one day. There are a couple of hours in the day when most of one's deck is in the sun."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2021
"Someone we met suggested Bitterpan, so it was our request not that of Expert Africa!

A really challenging and long drive to get to Bitterpan. Lowering one's tire pressure even lower than on the general sand roads, certainly helps. Very little game. Bitterpan is for people who love space and silence and can endure major discomfort for it, such as: someone in the tent next door snoring, beating sun with few places for shade, one's own bathroom but across the joint passage, communal cooking or using one's own barbecue in front of one's tent but unpleasant as no table, water etc."
Terrible
Location
Terrible
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Excellent location near Mata Mata"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2021
"Location is excellent as a bushcamp but just a few minutes drive from Mata Mata where one can get internet, gas and some supplies.

Waterhole is not very visible."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Image alt

River Place Manor

"Reviewed above"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2021
"Reviewed above"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team